Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
63
Price:$21.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 7, 2012
**This is not a standalone game. You MUST have a copy of Small World or Small World Underground to Play.**

Be Not Afraid is an expansion for Small World, introducing five new races and five new special powers. It also comes with a plastic container that holds all of it's pieces, as well as those for the mini-expansions Great Dames and Cursed! This set is a blend of offensive and defensive abilities.

The races:
1) Barbarians - cannot redeploy at the end of your turn, but has a base unit number of 9.

2) Homunculi - when this race is skipped a unit token (if any left) is added in addition to the normal victory coin. The base unit number is 5 but there are 15 total tokens, so this power could have significant effect.

3) Leprechauns - during redeployment place one pot of gold in any (or all) of your Leprechaun occupied regions. At the beginning of your next turn it goes into your victory pile and is worth one coin, but opponents can conquer the region in the meantime to claim the pot themselves.

4) Pixies - Base unit number is 11, but during redeploy you leave only one unit per region and hold the rest in hand until your next turn.

5) Pygmies - each time you lose a Pygmy role the reinforcement die and receive that many new Pygmies from the tray (until none left). Deploy these at the end of the current player's turn.

The special powers (all have base unit number of 4):
1) Barricade - Collect three bonus coins if your Barricade troops occupy four regions or less at the end of your turn..

2) Catapult - once per turn place the catapult in one of your occupied regions to conquer a non-adjacent region one region away for one less token than usual. Region with catapult immune to conquest and racial or special powers.

3) Corrupt - collect a bonus coin from an opponent whenever they conquer one of your active regions.

4) Imperial - collect a bonus coin for each region in excess of three your Imperials occupy at the end of your turn.

5) Mercenary - each time you conquer a region your may spend a victory coin to reduce the number of required units by two (minimum one required).

Everything here fits well with the base game and nothing is too overpowered nor completely useless. I find the races here more interesting than the powers, but overall this is a very solid expansion and a good pickup for fans of Small World.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2013
I have a vicious love affair with Small World and this expansion is a fantastic edition. I recommend getting this one FIRST because it gives you a place to put all your other pieces from the other expansions as you buy them. Like a dummy, this was the last one I bought and am so happy it exists to hold all the extra pieces I've been keeping in ziplock bags. Must have for Small World fans!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2011
This expansion is a great addition to the Small World game, especially if you already have the other expansions since it comes with a storage case that fits all three of the additional race/power expansions. It was worth buying the expansion for the storage case alone, but the new races and powers (5 of each! I think...don't have it with me right now) are also fun. For the most part none of them completely change the game, but they do provide some interesting new mechanics to play with and keep you from getting bored with the same old power/race combos. So far I've only used this expansion with 2-player games, and in that setting they do help to make the viable strategies significantly more varied. They also improve the overall game balance, as there are several new races that give you enough units to actually compete with the Amazons in their ability to take over a vast swath of the board. Overall, I highly recommend this expansion, especially if you already have Grand Dames and Cursed.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2016
I didn't get a chance to judge game play because I'm returning it after unpacking it and just seeing it. It appears the seller I got it from (The Game Addict) has a bad batch, or maybe it was just a single bad one, but I doubt it. Most of the cards were printed off center, so that when you punch out the tokens, part of the picture is missing from the token. Attached are a couple of photos. Side note, I purchased a couple of other SW expansions at the same time from different sellers and the cards in them are all fine. To be safe, I'm going to buy this from a local game store where I can return easier if I get the same thing again (or chance that the same seller does indeed have a whole bad batch and getting another bad one if I reorder online from them).
review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2012
The extra races and special powers are a nice addition. I especially like the leprechauns because they actually entice your opponents into attacking you for your pot of gold! This expansion really adds additional depth to an already fantastic game. The only complaint I have is under the Product Features description it says "Allows for 3 to 6 players." I chose to purchase this expansion to allow a sixth person to join in on the fun, but have discovered that only the expansion that does so is "Necromancer Island," which I hear is quite unbalanced. I am still happy with my purchase and will likely be looking at the other expansions in the future.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2015
nice expansion! We also purchased the two small upgrade expansion packs to use with the original game. The only drawback is I wish they had of included blank tokens to go with the blank "race" and "racial properties" cards that you get with the original game and with the expansion here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 12, 2016
If you are going to buy expansions for Small World this is the first one you want to buy.
First, this is the best of the race expansion boxes. The five races are very playable adding real options to the game.
Second, the special powers are as good as or better than the races. Corrupt, imperial and mercenary are must haves that can alter how you play the game.
Lastly, this expansion has the box for the new items. While not a requirement to play, it makes storing things easier.
The new box will not fit in the game box. I kept the punch out sheets and store all of this in the slipcover that the expansion comes in.
This expansion, cursed and leaders is my game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2014
Love the game. Love the expansion pack. Definitely plan to create my own expansion since I want to make a very friendly 8-year old fairy vs. the one with the pack. But of course you can modify the "rules" around the types...Great game. Very nice expansion pack.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
Great addition to an already great game. Adds 5 races and 5 powers that are new and pretty fun. Not all are the best, but you can always leave out any that you don't want to play with. Some of the new races add interesting twists that are helpful in combating the INCREDIBLY OVERPOWERED Amazons that are in the base game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2014
Fast paced and fun game with decent replay value. Pieces are fair quality. A good alternative to settlers of catan. The packaging for this is good, but it doesn't have room for expansion pieces. The boxes for the expansion pieces don't store well, so a third party or custom box would work well.

Edit: meant to review the base game. This expansion (as well as all the others I got) are great and add to the replay value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.