Customer Reviews

418
4.5 out of 5 stars
Smallville Season 6
Format: Amazon Instant VideoChange
Price:$34.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on September 22, 2007
Format: Blu-ray
Being an avid fan of Smallville, and after owning the series thus far on DVD, and also viewing it on an upconvert player, I decided to purchase the Blu-Ray version, just to see what the differences were between the two formats. After having viewed an episode on blu-ray, I must honestly say that the picture and sound quality was nothing short of amazing. The palette of colors were incredibly vibrant, and the sound in dolby digital 5.1, gave my speakers a definite run for their money. I highly recommend the blu-ray format in favor of the standard edition, provided that those of you who own, or are considering the purchase of a blu-ray player.

The only disappointment that I feel, is that Warner Bros. did not release the other seasons on blu-ray as well. Now I may not be an expert, but I do know about sound and picture quality, and believe me, you will not be disappointed with the hi-def edition of this series.

Bravo Warner Bros... Now please, keep them coming...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
232 of 277 people found the following review helpful
on May 29, 2007
Format: DVD
*Possible spoilers within.*

"Smallville" fans continue to perplex me. It seems that the majority of "Smallville" fans consider what I and those with whom I watch the series have deemed the weakest seasons of the show to be the show's best years. Similarly, while I found the show's sixth season to be its best since Season One, most fans have ranked it among the series' worst. I'm not putting down those who think differently from me, but I have thoroughly evaluated each season and I cannot imagine what these viewers are seeing that I am not. There are those who are now dreading the next season and the season which may follow (creators Al Gough and Miles Millar have said that the show will run no longer than eight seasons). After Season Six, however, I am eagerly awaiting more of a show that has, after years of stumbling through piles and piles of mediocrity, finally reached its potential.

In Season Five, Clark Kent found himself without his most beloved "guiding light" when his father died. The feelings of loneliness grew as his relationship with Lex Luthor crumbled, rebuilt as a bitter rivalry, and Clark was forced to push the love of his life, Lana Lang, away. To make matters worse, Lana took refuge in Lex's open arms. By the end of the season, Clark had learned to deal with his grief and had a better sense of who he was, but he still had a long way to go before becoming the Man of Steel. In Season Six, Clark's destiny grows a lot nearer. Season Six revolves around Clark's discovery of who he is through two major storylines: 1) the tormented relationship between he and Lana Lang (which should have ended seasons ago and has now reached the point of absurdity), as well as Lana's potentially strong affections for Lex, and 2) Lex Luthor's rapid loss of morality and Clark's realization that he alone can stop him. There is a third major storyline as well, dealing with a number of alien ghosts which escape from the Phantom Zone in the season premiere; Clark must round them up before they wreak too much havoc.

There are a number of subplots too. The largest and most popular involves Oliver Queen, played by Justin Hartley, who was cast in the title role of "Smallville"'s failed spinoff "Aquaman." Queen is a young, attractive businessman who arrives in Metropolis with a dark secret: he is the Green Arrow (one of DC's most popular heroes), a hooded rogue who protects those who need protection. He is also a sort of Robin Hood - which is bad news for Clark, whose mother is now a full-fledged, popular politician. Queen also has a checkered past with Lex Luthor, which makes for one of the season's more interesting subplots. Others include Chloe's relationship with spunky young photographer Jimmy Olsen (played by Aaron Ashmore, whom I personally find extremely irking) and Lois Lane's beginnings in journalism.

I had a number of complaints about Season Five, and even a few seasons before that. The writing was foolish and predictable and the dialog was just trash. The acting was lackluster. The directing was virtually non-existent. The music was frankly turgid. The sixth season, however, corrects all of that. The writing is, for the most part, excellent. The season's story arcs were intricate and interesting, and more importantly, each individual episode was a blast, well-written and suspenseful. Thankfully, the writers finally focused a lot less on meteor freaks (in fact, they hardly crop up at all!) and a lot more on other foes, in this case the "Zoners" (those who have escaped from the Phantom Zone). The dialog picked up a lot as well, and felt a whole more natural and realistic than it did in previous seasons.

The acting improved as well. Tom Welling's Clark seemed rather oafish in the previous season, but in this season, he is Clark Kent once more: strong, brave, and noble. John Glover is as delectable as ever, and Michael Rosenbaum gets a much-deserved dose of unflinching evil. Erica Durance begins to show promise as Clark's future love - for example, "Crimson," a fan favorite episode in which Clark is exposed to red kryptonite after a kiss from Lois, who herself has been drugged with a love potion. Allison Mack is especially fun, and the writers have mercifully saved us from most of her godawful one-liners. Even Kristen Kreuk, whose character I couldn't stand in previous seasons, improves slightly.

The show picks up some wonderful style from its directors, something it was completely devoid of in Seasons Four and Five. A great example of this is "Wither," which features some stunning visuals. I don't know what happened to Mark Snow, but his music went from cringeworthy and stale to downright fantastic. His score is hip, creative, cool, and grandiose, exactly what it should be. I really enjoyed hearing the music in each episode - even when Snow's theme for the Green Arrow is a painfully obvious rehash of Danny Elfman's theme for Tim Burton's "Batman" movies.

As far as the episodes go, this season holds a variety of standouts. The season premiere, "Zod," is great. It's not as epic as the fifth season premiere, but it's very cool anyway. Though I still find the producers' failure to cast an actor as Zod downright despicable, Rosenbaum plays his possession of Lex very well. Hearing Rosenbaum deliver "Superman II"'s classic "Kneel before Zod!" is really a delight, and the splitting resemblance between the disembodied Zod and Terence Stamp in "Superman II" is sure to please fans of the films. "Sneeze" introduces a new power for Clark: super breath. "Justice" is a very fun episode and has been called the best episode of the series by many. I don't agree in that aspect, but it is very neat to see all the show's past superheroes gathered together. The inevitable "It's All In Your Head" episode comes in the form of "Labyrinth," surprisingly a very enjoyable episode (in a twisted sort of way). "Freak" puts forth the revelation that Chloe herself has some sort of meteor power and has become a meteor freak after being exposed to so much kryptonite. That's an interesting and tense episode. "Promise" is a painful, dramatic episode, but its successor, the super-violent "Fight Club"-inspired "Combat," is a real blast. It's probably one of the show's weaker episodes, but it's also one of its most fun. Personally, I loved it: seeing Clark dress up in leather and kick the s--- out a jacked-up wrestler, seeing Lois in tight red leather - grand fun to be sure.

"Nemesis" is one of the series' strongest episodes, in which Clark and Lex are trapped in an underground tunnel and forced to deal with their issues which each other. Kudos to the writers for thinking this one up. The dramatic confrontation between Welling and Rosenbaum, Clark and Lex, good and evil, is just superb. "Noir," unfortunately, is not. What seemed like a brilliant idea - play the show as though it were a film noir in the 1940s - is interesting, but little more than that, and the final product falls flat on its face. As always, the season goes out with a bang, a lot of them, with "Phantom," which leaves one character on his way to jail, three characters possibly dead, one superpower revealed, and introduces a character I have long awaited but thought I would never seen on "Smallville." It also featured a much-advertised "death" of a major character. I would like little more than to see that character actually be killed, but the fact that she's not is ridiculously clear.

At its finish, the sixth season of "Smallville" is a wonderful surprise. It's quite possibly the best season since the show's outstanding first, and it's the first season to truly reach its potential since the series' early years. I have no idea what happened between the end of Season Five and the premiere of Season Six, but everything that was so wrong with the show was drastically improved. Season Six is quality, comic-bookish, fun television, and although the second half of the season is rather lopsided ("Progeny," which features a guest appearance by Lynda Carter, is arguably the most dull episode of the entire show), it's a spectacular season. Clark has yet to fly, and the show hadn't really flown since the beginning of Season Three, but with Season Six "Smallville" soars as it, like its young hero, seemed destined to from the start.
3535 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
Format: DVD
This show gets better by the season. Even though the sixth season isnt done airing on the CW yet, it already been my favorite season yet. It all begins witht the season premire episode of ( Zod ) where we pick up after seasons five episode where lex is possessed by General Zod to take over the planet while clark is left helpless for a short while in the Phantom

Zone imprisoned with other criminals who are holding a grudge on Jor-El and takin it out on him. We also see a young Oliver Queen aka ( GREEN ARROW) make several appearances. We also see more of the future justice league members from previous seasons aswell as the Martian Manhunter in human form. Best episode i liked of-course was ( Justice ) featuring five of our heroes. also we see the up-dated S emblem from Superman Returns on the seasons first episode which is also one of the best. another episode to watch is ( Combat ) where clark takes on titan who resembles Doomsday from the comics in the ring. and one more thing is the introduction of Jimmy Olson who will be dating chloe and this season, well someone finally places pieces of clark together. this show is so great, cant wait for season seven. dont miss out on this great season yet.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on September 23, 2007
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
*Note: Anyone who has not seen the sixth season, I highly recommend NOT reading the back of the box. If you want to be surprised, the synopsis on the back might ruin something for you.

Most television series tend to be on their down-slope by the time the sixth season rolls around. Writers usually have trouble coming up with new and inventive stories to keep the audience intrigued. In fact, I can only think of a handful of shows that are either as good as when they started, or they are actually even better. It doesn't happen often. Trust me, after watching television series for over 30 years, I know. Smallville's writers have succeeded in placing the series in the with the few and far between; the shows that have been able to continue going strong.

The sixth season marks the time and point when Clark finally accepts his destiny. He finally realizes that he must use his powers to help the people of not only Smallville and the friends he loves, but the world. Granted he receives a little nudge in that direction from a new ally, but he finally realizes that his destiny far outreaches the boundaries of Smallville. The challenges that Clark must now face are new, but no less painful and deadly as the challenges he has faced in previous seasons.

Exactly how does one deal with the fact that the love of your life is now with your arch-nemesis? At least the first half of the season focuses on how Clark deals with Lana being with Lex. The Clark-Lex rivalry hits full throttle in this season. We finally see that Lex isn't only manipulative, but he has now added unbridled cruelty to his list of unpleasant characteristics. Lionel can still play the game, but he wasn't nearly as cruel or vindictive as Lex has become. Just watch what happens when anyone threatens to take away something that Lex believes is his. We really start to see a much clearer picture of the Lex Luthor who will ultimately be Superman's greatest enemy.

Clark's new mission this season is to round up the "ex-cons" from the Phantom Zone. He feels that he is responsible as well as feeling that he is the only one capable of stopping them from ravaging Earth. Clark has a great sense of responsibility. The writers must be careful not to add too much "guilt" ingredient to that, otherwise you're wandering into Spider-Man territory. Superman's motivation has always been responsibility and a keen sense of justice.

There are many questions that will be asked and answered during the course of this season: What is Jor-El's true intentions for Clark? What kind of a person was Jor-El? What is Lionel Luthor's interest in Clark, and will he prove to be Clark's asset, or downfall? And how does Clark deal with what potentially proves to be the loss of another loved one?

For those of you who are familiar with DC Comics, a couple more heroes will be revealed, and several others will make another appearance. Keep an eye out for the Green Arrow and one more famous hero who I will not mention here. Flash (Impulse), Aquaman, and Cyborg return. The episode that has them all working together is both fun and exciting. It also opens the door for possibilities outside of the Smallville storyline.

Tom Welling continues to shine as Clark Kent. He has rounded out the character so well that he's the best actor to play the role of Clark Kent in television history. He knows how to deliver a line or even a simple look. I still feel that many people overlook him. He also pulls off the naiveness of Clark perfectly. This is very hard to do, but Tom makes it work. It is a talent that many of the show's directors have stated that Tom has mastered, and that few actors can pull off.

Michael Rosenbaum, who is the best Lex Luthor, is able to successfully transform Lex to such a degree, that he is able to keep the audience guessing. For those who have grown with the series and remember Lex when he was a decent guy and a good friend of Clark's, we almost can't believe the things that he is now doing. The writers ingeniously use this to keep the audience guessing. Is Lex behind this? Is it someone else? Can he possibly be that deplorable?

We've also seen Kristin blossom as an actress. For now she must show us that by being with Lex, she has adopted certain Lex-like tendencies, whether she's aware of them or not. Can Lana be just as manipulative as Lex? How far will she go to the "dark side?" In many ways, the character of Lana Lang is a tragic one. Don't believe me? Think back to how she was in the first season, and then track where she is now. Her character is as tragic as that of Lex Luthor. She's a woman who really only desires one thing: to be loved, and to be loved by the one person that she loves. Lana has lost almost everyone in her life that mattered to her. It is not a great leap to consider that a person might become a bit desperate, and thus, run to the arms of the person who appears to shower you with love and affection. And for Lana, that person is Lex. But some interesting events will take place to really make Lana think about the decisions that she has made.

One bright addition to the cast is that of Aaron Ashmore as Jimmy Olson. We finally get introduced to the young, excitable character that Jimmy has always been depicted as in the films and comics. He's also Chloe's love interest, but something is amiss for young Jimmy. He's unable to figure out the relationship dynamic between Chloe and Clark. Jimmy is not as endearing toward Clark at first.

Justin Hartley is fantastic as Oliver Queen, aka Green Arrow. He is young, athletic, and has an almost Batman-like detective prowess. He's also a love interest for Lois. But can it last? And where does Green Arrow's history cross paths with Lex?

As with all Smallville seasons, there is yet another cliff-hanger. It will see the introduction of yet another classic Superman villain. It will also leave the well-being of several Smallville characters in doubt. The main climax, however, finally comes down; a revelation between two characters that fans have been dying for ever since the very first episode aired.

The writers of this show must be given their credit. I think Jeph Loeb, especially is responsible for the tremendous success of the show. As an executive producer and consultant from DC Comics, he knows what will work on the show, and what won't. He also understands that many things that work in the comic book world don't necessarily translate over to television. He is able to find the bridge between the two worlds. Few people are able to do this. I truly believe that he a big reason why Smallville has remained so successful and a top-quality show.

It isn't hard to imagine why one of America's greatest heroes is fictional and yet has such a tremendous following spanning several generations. Heck, there is even a town called Metropolis in Illinois dedicated to America's favorite hero. For a while, Superman has badly needed a face-lift to make him appealing to new generations while keeping the core of the character intact. Clark is now someone that people can relate to. He endures many of the same problems that many people and young people face today. Smallville has continued to make Superman timeless, for the power of good, justice, and decency are badly needed now more than ever before. In short, the world needs a Superman, and I don't mean the fictional world. I mean OUR world.

As you finish watching season 6, think of Clark throughout the course of those six seasons. Remember all of the pains, trials, and tribulations that he has gone through, and yet the core of the character remains intact. He still tries to see the best in people and his unwavering faith in his friends (often when it is not returned) makes him stand apart from virtually any other person that we know, fictional or not. Clark always has hope...hope for the world, hope for his friends, and even hope for his enemies.

"Your greatest strength might also be your greatest weakness. Hope."--Martha Kent to her son.

I must mention that this DVD has one flaw: no actor commentaries on any of the episodes. It's a shame. The commentaries are really good, and I was looking forward to listening to more of them during this season.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
on May 25, 2007
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
I loved season six of "Smallville" and will pick up the DVD set the day it is released in September. I think Tom Welling does an excellent job as Clark Kent.The series wouldn't be going into a seventh season if Welling didn't deliver as Clark but he does. The acting has always been a strong point of this series and who doesn't love Alison Mack, Michael Rosenbaum, John Glover, and the rest? "Justice League" was an outstanding episode as was "Combat," "Promise," "Phantom", and others. I didn't care for "Static" very much but that was about the only mediocre episode as far as I am concerned. I can't wait to eventually see Tom Welling don the Superman costume on the final show. Season Seven should be great too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on July 19, 2007
Format: DVD
After watching the entire 5th season of "Smallville" and waiting through the long summer break before season 6 begins, I was definitely looking forward to another season of Clark Kent's epic journey on his way to becoming Earth's greatest hero, Superman. There were numerous reasons for my anxiousness regarding this new season, the inclusion of Green Arrow (a popular DC Comics character) and Jimmy Olsen held interesting promise, also the resolution to the Zod plotline that was put into motion in the final episodes of season 5, plus just seeing where the creative minds behind this show were going to take us over the course of this new season. But, with all of my excitement there was a small amount of fear, because during the summer the network that had been the home of "Smallville" for 5 years, the WB, merged with UPN to form the new network the CW. This merger put many shows in possible jeopardy, leaving many to wonder what shows from the two networks would survive to make it to the new season. Thankfully, when all was said and done, "Smallville" was among the numerous series' from the WB to make it through, and by the end of season 6 had proven itself to be one of the CW networks highest rated shows of the season (no big surprise there).

"Smallville: Season 6" begins exactly where the 5th season left off, with the Kryptonian villain Zod attempting to take over the world while residing in the body of Lex Luthor (Michael Rosenbaum). As if Zod's machinations weren't trouble enough, Metropolis is in the middle of deadly riots, Chloe (Allison Mack) is in considerable danger while trying to make her way to safety, Lana (Kristen Kruek) is standing by Lex's side, Martha (Annette O'Toole) and Lois (Erica Durance) awaken to find their plane about to crash, and the one man who has a chance of stopping the chaos, Clark (Tom Welling), is trapped in the Phantom Zone (Kryptonian prison for those who weren't aware). All of this is just in the first episode, throughout the season Clark must deal with his guilt over not being able to stop some of the devastation caused by Zod, while at the same time he discovers that his release from the Phantom Zone has brought some rather unexpected and nasty visitors with it. Lex is feeling somewhat remorseful over his part in the devastation that occurred in Metropolis, but his main concern is the continual manipulation of Lana as she gets closer and closer to him. Lois, however, gets to have some relief from the chaos of the first episode as she begins to fall for a new billionaire in town, Oliver Queen (Justin Hartley), who just so happens to be the hero known as the Green Arrow, and his reason for being in town is to stop Lex's project 33.1, the construction of an army of super soldiers. Clark and Oliver become friends over time and aid each other in times of need and in their quests to stop Lex's evil schemes from coming to fruition. Along the way Clark and Oliver enlist the aid of some fellow heroes, that Clark has previously had run-ins with, to assist them in destroying one of Lex's most active 33.1 facilities. With all of these events in one season, and many more that I didn't touch on, you'd think that would be enough to keep Clark and company busy, but you'd be wrong, for at the end of the season a new deadly foe is unleashed who is similar to Clark, only a little more bizzare.

"Smallville" continues to get better and better with each passing season, and this 6th season is no exception. The story arcs for the season were very engrossing, especially the Oliver Queen/Green Arrow arc and the capturing of all the escaped Phantoms from the Phantom Zone. The writers for this series continue to faithfully capture the essence of all the established DC Comics characters that have been on the show all along or have been introduced along the way.

The cast for the show has never been better, all members really deliver great performances this season, not that season's past had been shoddy, but they all really get numerous moments to shine in this season. The new additions of Justin Hartley as Oliver Queen/Green Arrow and Aaron Ashmore as Jimmy Olsen were perfect for their respective parts, bringing new energy and shaking up the show in really interesting and fun ways.

The special effects teams really had their work cut out for them this season, but not surprisingly they rose to the challenge and delivered some really cool visual effects that were fun to watch, especially in the episode 'Justice' where Oliver's team of heroes takes down a 33.1 facility. So many heroes in one episode, with each getting a moment to showcase their power was no doubt fun to write, but was probably a pain to come up with from a special effects standpoint, but the team did a great job, and the episode proved to be one of the best of the season. Two thumbs way up for this department's job on the show.

All of the elements I mentioned in the previous 3 paragraphs combined together are what allows "Smallville" to continue to be an entertaining series that just keeps getting better and better. This is definitely a show that lives up to its hype, and is a must-see!

"Smallville: Season 6" is unrated and contains violence and mild language.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
42 of 55 people found the following review helpful
on May 25, 2007
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
Like every other season, this one had its ups and downs. It started out feeling rejuvenated and exciting due to the addition of some new characters and interesting plot twists, then halfway through the season, lost some of its steam. For the most part, however, it was quite a fun ride. Season 6 included two of the most exciting events in Smallville's history: the formation of the Justice League, and Lex Luthor finally embracing his dark side and becoming the villian we all know from the comic books. This season was filled with all sorts of juicy storylines with the love triangle between Clark Kent, Lana Lang and Lex Luthor (Who would have ever thought?), and the introduction of Green Arrow as a love interest for Lois Lane and Jimmy Olsen as a love interest for Chloe. Another exciting guest character this season was the Martian Manhunter, who previously worked for Clark's biological father Jor-El and was sent to aide Clark in his journey. The season ended with quite a bang that left many interesting possible storylines to explore in season 7. The fallout will likely result in one or more characters no longer having recurring roles on the show and a very different Smallville to look forward to next season.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on October 3, 2007
Format: DVD
I am a confessed Smallville fan and believe that the show has gotten better with each passing year, with the acception of certain forced romances, but I digress.

The DVD really isn't that good. Included are the following features, a documentary of the Green Arrow and how he's developed in the comics, a documentary of sorts about fans of Smallville and the Oliver Queen Chronicles for sprint phones and the Justice and Doom deal that occurred during the season.

Aside from that, some of the episodes boast deleted scenes but that's it! Zero! Zip! Nada! Nothing more! There were good episodes that I would have liked to have had commentary on. Arrow, Labyrinth, Justice, Noir, Phantom, Zod but there are none! Also, there aren't any other blooper reels or any behind the scenes sort of features like they've had with previous seasons.

While a good season, the DVD just doesn't measure up to how I would have liked. While I would definately recommend the season and the series to see a re-envisioning of the Superman mythos I can't recommend the DVD at the current prices. Wait for it to come down a little more in price because there just aren't enough special features to warrant a $40 purchase right now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on September 9, 2007
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
Smallville is the only television show that I watch on a regular basis that is still on air. Seeing as that is the case, it would be nice if the episodes and characters were consistent. This is sadly not the case in season 6. While there were some very, VERY good episodes in this season ("Zod," "Justice," and "Promise" ["Promise" actually got me to the point of tears it was so good] being the ones that stick out) the rest of the season was lackluster at best. I loved the episodes featuring the Green Arrow - they brought a much-needed alternate perspective of right and wrong, and were just plain cool (nice outfit, man). Other than those few nice episodes, the rest seemed to be repetitive and similar to the "freak-of-the-week" episodes of the terrible first season. I have to say the most dissapointing aspect of this season was the unbelievable, often sporradic character of Lana Lang. She seemed to change from episode to episode, with no real justice to the Lana I used to love from previous seasons. There was also the introduction of Jimmy Olsen who is played by Aaron Ashmore. The acting on his part wasn't too bad, but it seemed that his relationship with Chloe seemed forced at times, and the fact that he only showed up when the writers were in need of a love triangle situation made him seem like a poorly used plot device rather than a fully developed character. The dialogue often caused groans to erupt in the room (from myself AND friends who watch it with me). The poorly developed plot and horrible guest stars (sorry to say, but let's face it, pro-wrestlers aren't great actors and we have TWO this season...) and the hardly bearable change in characters in this mainly character-driven show made this season one of the worst in my opinion. The good episodes were good enough to keep me watching, but the rest either had me laughing at the ridiculous situations and dialogue or groaning at the repitition of it all. All in all, the good ones were really good, the bad ones were really bad, and it just seems to me that there were more bad ones than there were good ones. I still love Smallville, I just really hope that the next season has a little bit of consistency to it...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2010
Verified Purchase
Tom Welling said in a Comic Con interview that he basically saw a different series when season 6 began....which he saw as positive. I can see what he means. This is when life became a bit darker and harder and made the series more interesting. This is when he really loses his friendship with Lex, where he is almost completely separated from Lana, and where he begins to forge an actual friendship with Lois. Chloe really becomes his sidekick in this season. Some of my favorite episodes are from this season. I love the epi Promise where Lana & LEx get married. How heart breaking was that...but it made for a great episode. And I also love Hydro where Lois and Clark first kiss and you see an awareness in Clark for Lois that he hadn't ever realized was there. They don't explore this storyline other than making Lois and Clark actual friends beginning this season...still contentious and witty banter going back and forth but they do become friends little by little. Is an enjoyable season...more so than I think the next one.

Edited 26 Mar 2011: I just saw this and the previous epi again. I have to say that these last 2 episodes (end of season 5 and epi 1 season 6) are the episodes which cemented my real dislike of the Lana character. The objection that I always had about her was that despite all the good that Clark did, she couldn't see that he truly was a GOOD person. All she saw was that he never completely opened up to her about things she believed were secretive. Clark being closed off meant that he was not a person to be trusted in Lana's eyes and I never "got" this part of her belief system. Everyone surrounding Clark, with exception of Lex, were good people and yet she could only see Clark's secretive self. She couldn't seem to see that other people believed and trusted in Clark and that they considered him to be a good person. How was this possible? When she gravitated towards Lex I was outright angry. Even though I knew she would one day be out of the picture and that Lois Lane would be Clark's girlfriend, I still got angry at the way Lana treated Clark...with outright disrespect. There were moments in season 4 where it was clear to her that Lex could not be trusted but....she still gravitated towards him. There were moments before she married Lex that she clearly saw Lex lying but she still agreed to marry him? Again, how is this possible? I don't give credit to the way Clark broke up with her as reason for her gravitation towards Lex. Maybe it wasn't poor story writing but instead the writer's desire to show that Lana was not the ONE for Clark because of this weakness in her character. Even what she does in the few episodes we see her in Season 7 are an indicator, to me, of how wrong she was for Clark and how weak she truly was as a character. This is why I don't understand why people prefer her to Lois. Don't get me wrong, she and Clark has some great moments together but her core self is not someone that I would like. If anything, there was a real dishonesty in her own self that she didn't seem to recognize. Anyway, just wanted to say how I dislike her character...at least in this series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.