Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Addition to Smash Up.
Awesome Level 9000 is the first of hopefully many expansions for AEG's new hit game Smash Up, if you haven't already checked out my review of Smash Up you're really missing out. I'll give you a few minutes to go read it and check out the video, go ahead, I'll just be here tapping my foot impatiently. Alright, back now? Good. Now let's check out what's inside the box...
Published 19 months ago by The Dread Gazebo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not my thing
My son absolutely loves this and wants to give it a 5, but I absolutely can't stand it and want to give it a 1, so we met in the middle. I just find it goes for about 3 times longer than it should. I suppose that is for the Smash Up game over all, rather than just this expansion, but to me it is just more of the same. If you like the base game...it's more of that.
Published 27 days ago by Dragonfall


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Addition to Smash Up., June 17, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
Awesome Level 9000 is the first of hopefully many expansions for AEG's new hit game Smash Up, if you haven't already checked out my review of Smash Up you're really missing out. I'll give you a few minutes to go read it and check out the video, go ahead, I'll just be here tapping my foot impatiently. Alright, back now? Good. Now let's check out what's inside the box. (YouTube link: /watch?feature=player_embedded&v=WQWKq8Wqk_8)

Not only does AL9K add more to the game in terms of factions and options, but it also adds in a few touches of polish the original lacked. The new base cards are much easier to read because of their enlarged text and they've also provided a nice victory point tracking method this time. You can recycle the box and toss the added cards into your original Smash Up box if you'd like to, which is nice for those of us with overflowing shelves of games.

Aside from those goodies, the game adds 4 new factions for mashing up. I'm going to give you a run down of how each one feels in play and then we'll do a quick wrap up!

Steampunk - This faction is really a grab bag of mechanics, which feels appropriate for the hodge-podge cobbled together nature that steampunk seems to invoke. Whirring gears, zepplins, and lots of other gizmos focus big on recycling your own actions, minion manipulation, as well as both escaping and negating your opponents actions. Steampunk feels like a welcome addition when paired with almost any other faction, especially more headstrong ones like pirates or ninjas.

Bear Cavalry - Strong. Like Bull! This faction has a very soviet feel, including a card entitled "Bear Rides You". The cavalry focus on both destroying and moving opponents minions, granting invulnerability to your minions and buffing up their power levels as well. Lots of fun to play with robots and zombies I've found.

Ghosts - Perhaps the most unique new faction are the ghosts, the essence of their play style is very incorporeal indeed in that you should find yourself emptying your entire hand very often. The ghosts focus on playing from discard pile, emptying your hand via many discard mechanics built into the minions and actions, bonus actions & minions, as well as some direct VP gain. The ghosts are really a treat, and have a bit of a learning curve at first until you know how to play them. Try pairing them with zombies for tons of grave shenanigans, or with aliens for a bunch of straight up victory point gain.

Plants - The feelings of constricting vines and power creep are definitely a big part of the plant peoples. They focus on pure destruction, and slightly delayed results as plants "grow" to bigger effect one turn after they are played on a good chunk of the cards. There's also a fair share of drawing extra cards, searching your deck, and weakening opponent minions. I think plants work well in horde scenarios such as with robots, or the tricksters.

The 8 new base cards in the set here really take the theme from the factions they are tied to and reinforce them very strongly. I think that this was a really nice touch that was done well in the base version of Smash Up, that they've just further improved upon with this expansion. You'll really want to be fighting to score your own bases here, and it's a lot of fun. Not to mention, they've included the best base card possible ever, in any game: The Dread Gazebo. Call me biased, but this sets the game somewhere at least around `awesome level 100,000` in my book.

Smash Up, Awesome Level 9000 is a welcome expansion for anyone who owns the game or is looking to get into it. It's not going to set you back much at $15 and it's going to add a lot of variety to your game, along with the possibility to play with more players. Though playing with more than 4 might be outside of the game's rule book it's totally possible and is a lot of fun. I should also mention that even though the artwork contains some stuff like ghosts, it's all very safe for family game nights. I've found myself playing a lot with my wife and my son. Smash Up is a hit, and this expansion is no exception, do yourself a favor and grab yourself a copy! Thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Level 9000 is pretty Awesome, April 28, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
This is the first expansion to the 'Smash Up' base game, which was a big hit with my Grandson. Awesome Level 9000 was no less of a hit, so he made sure to bring it with him on his recent visit. I'm very glad he did.
This set features four new factions that you can bring into your battles - Ghosts, Steampunks, Killer Plants, and Bear Cavalry. It also includes 8 new bases as well as reprints of the original 16 bases (with larger font). And the Victory point tokens included mean that you no longer need a pencil and paper to keep track of the score.
The big question: How does it play? GREAT! Each faction has it's own characteristics and stategies to work out, and because each player combines two factions in his deck, they can work together and provide some very interesting combinations. Whether you're powering up bases or moving cards between them, this fun little game will keep you guessing. The new factions and bases don't really improve the game, they just give a wider selection of factions (which is what the game is really about).
If you like the base game, you'll definitely want to add this to it. It's simple, it's addictive, and it's fun. That makes Level 9000 awesome in my book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded Expectations, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
The original Smash Up was a lot of fun but included some factions that seemed significantly better than the others. We bought this expansion at least as much in hopes that it would even out the balance as that we were simply excited that an expansion had been made at all.

The four new factions did wonders for reinvigorating our interest in the game, all of them interact really interestingly with each other and the old factions and each individually does a lot to shake up the tactics established in the original game. If you enjoyed the original, I would absolutely say you should buy this expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great expansion, wish it were a little cheaper, though!, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
Here were the contents of my box:
1 - Ghost army deck
2 - Bear Cavalry deck
3 - Plants deck
4 - Steam Punks deck
-Score-keeping tokens (5s and 1s)
-New bases plus original bases printed with larger font (NOT the bigger cards like I was thinking...)

The new armies/factions are great for the game and provide quite a bit of intrigue.

-The ghost army is played in a strange manner: you are always trying to get rid of cards... it's a different mechanic but really fun.
-The Bear Cavalry specialize in moving your minions as well as other minions around the board. The kicker for them is that they can be used to destroy other forces when moving the troops around to bases in which you are essentially "posted up" to kill them.
-The plants are a great deck that will really *grow* on you. The have a ton of awesome cards that gain power as they are in play longer, thus simulating a plant taking root and becoming stronger. All-around great faction.
-Steam Punks revolve around playing actions in order to modify your army. This deck has some amazing cards that can be total game-breakers if played correctly. The other nice part about this faction is that you have many cards that allow you to reclaim discarded cards to be played two or more times... pretty great.

The new bases are all themed appropriately and are entertaining to use. The re-print of the older bases with slightly larger fonts is nice as well.

Overall, well worth your money and I think this is a necessary addition to the original game. I was hoping, though, that this expansion would include the larger base cards with the score-keeping path to keep track of how many minion points were on a base. Alas, they were not included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Green Thumbs Up, August 5, 2014
By 
Saintly (Davis, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
The first expansion to Smash Up still holds up well after 2 more expansions have come out. Plants is one of the top 3 "power factions" (along with Zombies and Robots from the base game).

Plants - Great at playing more minions and fishing for the minion you want
Bears - Great fun to play. Completely shuts down factions that like to move around.
Ghosts - The "complicated" faction. Plays great if you take every opportunity to discard your cards.
Steampunks - Great at moving around, which isn't that helpful. Can also retrieve discarded actions, which is mildly useful

Plants pair up great with most other decks. Bears are good at killing off weak minions (a good counter to Robots, Pirates, and Cthulhu Locals). Nobody ever wants to play Ghosts since their strategy is so different from every other faction, but if you do your best to get rid of your cards as fast as you can, Ghosts are pretty strong. Steampunks might have been good if you could move your minions during/after a base scores, but as they are now they aren't very powerful.

Get this expansion first. When you want to add more spice, go for Science Fiction Double Feature next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid expansion to a solid game., December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
This works as a mini stand alone game to the original Smash Up, and adds some new fun options as an expansion.

That said, I've found the games aren't as close as they were when playing only with the base game. Still, it's worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Addition to the Game, May 18, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
The expansion pack adds some awesome new gameplay to the original Smashup game. You can play with two players with just this expansion, or you can combine it with the original and play with up to 6.

It comes with 4 factions. The carnivorous plants seemed the most uninteresting since they're similar to robots with their minion chains, but they have some excellent differences, especially with the addition of "talents." Talents are abilities that can be used once per turn a minion is in play and the plants have many of these.

The ghosts are a very interesting twist that allows them to do interesting things when they don't have many cards in their hand. Original and interesting concept, though I haven't found how to play with them very effectively yet. I do think they could be devastating in the right circumstances, however.

Steam-punks have some very fun abilities and mainly have actions and abilities that modify the bases they are on. It allows them to draw additional cards, gain extra power, etc. If they get built up on a base, they can be very dangerous! Somewhat similar to tricksters, but they generally help the player rather than hurting others.

Bear riders are a fun addition as well. They move other players' minions all over the board and can be devastating with the right cards as some even allow you to destroy minions that get moved there. Just name these bears Lassie! Only they herd minions to destruction, not safety.

Overall, this is a great addition to a great game. It adds much more replay value and excitement. Also, the addition of Victory Point tokens makes keeping track of the score much simpler. Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great expansion, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
I love Smash Up...I love the expansion. The new cards are awesomely themed and you can really put together a strategy with them. Buy this expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Adds some more variety to the game, but not any new gameplay., January 22, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
This game was purchased as an add-on to the original Smash Up and adds four new "themes": Plants, Ghosts, Steampunk, and Russian Bears. The plants are the most interesting, with their "element" focusing on blocking other players movements/plays. Russian Bears are about performing actions on other bases. Ghosts are about discarding cards to perform actions. I liked the idea behind this one, but found it difficult in practice due to the <2 cards-in-hand requirement of most of the Ghost cards. This was difficult to achieve, especially since you draw two at the end of your turn. Steampunk seems to be about moving cards between bases and giving bonuses to those already on bases. Overall, I would recommend this add-on box to add some additional variety, but it's not quite as game-changing as most add-on kits for games (e.g. adding entire new rules, gameplay, etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Game Expansion!, July 15, 2013
By 
Mr. Six (Memphis, TN) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game (Toy)
If you are going to buy Smash-Up or you already own it, then you must get this expansion. The expansion adds four different character types and gives you scoring tokens to keep track of each player's total MUCH easier. The expansion also includes all the "base" cards you get in the original set and the new "base" cards for the new characters. However, these "base" cards are written in a MUCH larger font and make it easer to play the game on a whole.

I love this game, but wish they just put both boxes together as one set. The main set comes with enough room / deck slots for all the cards from both sets and etc... While the original game is 100% playable and fun right out of the box, it's frustrating to feel like I'm missing 33% of the whole game without this expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Smash Up Awesome Level 9000 Board Game
$19.99 $15.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.