Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80% effective
So the primer works great, but I have super sensitive (and super oily) skin so it does make me break out at times. It doesn't completely control oil but using this with blotting papers throughout the day keeps my makeup semi-fresh looking for 8 hours. I have yet to find the perfect product...but this one certainly helps the battle against oil and makeup melt.
Published 23 months ago by Becky L Pringle

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I don't see what all the fuss is about.
I honestly wanted to love this stuff. I've been seeing the product in my local Ulta for years, wanting so badly to try it on my terribly oily, poorly textured skin. Everyone seems to recommend it, said I'd love it and it would change my make-up loving life forever. I put off purchasing it all these years because it's so expensive...and I knew that even if I loved it, I...
Published 10 months ago by aundreeuh


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80% effective, May 8, 2012
By 
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
So the primer works great, but I have super sensitive (and super oily) skin so it does make me break out at times. It doesn't completely control oil but using this with blotting papers throughout the day keeps my makeup semi-fresh looking for 8 hours. I have yet to find the perfect product...but this one certainly helps the battle against oil and makeup melt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Primer, May 16, 2012
By 
LG (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
A few things before I divulge on how much I love this primer.
I do have combination skin, primarily oily. Moderate acne, especially on my cheeks. Make-up: I use a mixture of Clinique Tinted Moisture Surge, Alamay, and Bare Minerals.

This stuff works. I was really skeptical, especially because of the price point. The other primers I have used are Victoria's Secret Primer and Bare Minerals' Primer. I decided to try Smashbox's since a friend recommended it to see the difference.

It. Sure. Does. First of all, it evens out the texture of my face. I definitely can see and feel it. It helps my make up go on smoother and stay on. The primer is really lightweight and does not affect my acne at all (ok, the first week it did take my face a while to get use to, so I did break out a little bit. Meaning like two small white heads, but nothing too dramatic). After an 8 hour day at work wearing a full face of make-up, it still is on. How do I know? Because when I take a make-up remover wipe to my face, all of it is on it, haha.

This primer is definitely worth it. A definite top 3 in my book. It helps even out your facial texture, keep your make-up on, and makes it also look evenly textured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrific stuff, January 25, 2013
By 
tutu (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
First tried this at Sephora. I use it daily with or without putting on makeup afterwords. It makes your face feel like velvet. I put it on after my moisturizer and it makes my makeup just glide over my skin. Great feeling and looks so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I don't see what all the fuss is about., June 11, 2013
By 
aundreeuh (ILM, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
I honestly wanted to love this stuff. I've been seeing the product in my local Ulta for years, wanting so badly to try it on my terribly oily, poorly textured skin. Everyone seems to recommend it, said I'd love it and it would change my make-up loving life forever. I put off purchasing it all these years because it's so expensive...and I knew that even if I loved it, I can't see myself committing to pay that much on a regular basis every time it ran out. But, I finally broke down and purchased it on Amazon since I have Amazon Prime. And uh...yeah, I don't get it. I mean, sure, it makes my face FEEL good...but as far as the aesthetics of it...it's just not there for me. It doesn't keep my make-up on any longer than any other primer...in fact, I don't think this keeps it on nearly as long as E.L.F's $5 primer for me. It doesn't mask my pores any more than anything else either. So, for the price, there's no way I can give this any more than just 3 stars. Sorry, make-up fanatics...it's not "for everyone" after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
Ifyou are starting to get those fine lines around your eyes or you have large pores (I have both0 this stuff is AMAZING...covers it right up and only takes a tiny amt for the whole face so it's definitely worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
LOVE LOVE LOVE this product!! I won't leave the house without this on... EVER! Leaves a nice silky feeling and makes foundation glide on easier. I use less foundation and brighteners because of this product so it also helps on the cost of products!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best primer there is, May 2, 2013
By 
Tatyana (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
Words cannot describe how much I love this product. It is so exceptionally light, the texture is very smooth, not sticky. It doesn't have any smell like some other primers. If you are using foundation, this is an absolute must, to ensure your make-up doesn't disappear by 10 AM. It also masks any redness you may have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shrinks Pores, April 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
Love this stuff! Its makes me face very smooth and shrinks my pores. Best primer on the market in my opinion. Is a must have in my makeup collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best primer hands down!, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
I had tried tons of primers with little satisfaction. (Mally & Laura gellar to name a few) I absolutely love this stuff. Not only have I gotten my 45 year old mother addicted to it as it keeps makeup out of fine lines she's beginning to see, but I've turned complete strangers at sephora on to this stuff when they see me buying it like I'm in fear of discontinuation. It rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Makes my face feel oily, May 10, 2013
This review is from: Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer - Oil Free 1oz (30ml) (Misc.)
Maybe I just don't like primers but this particular one makes my face feel oily. Don't care for it, maybe it's better for people with dryer skin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa717e5d0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.