Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 2-pack battery and charger kit with some great advantages over other sets
Customer Video Review     Length:: 9:08 Mins
These days, there are a lot of options for 3rd party GoPro accessories. And while many of them are great, they often don't have anything aside from pricing that makes them stand out from one another. But there are always exceptions, and this Smatree charger kit currently stands a cut above the rest. How? In a word: versatility.

There...
Published 9 months ago by Davey B.

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What You See is Not Necessarily What You Get
Consider yourself warned: the charger and adapters that you receive may vary greatly from those in the product listing. The wall charger and USB charger I received were both white, with the former stamped "iPad". I also didn't receive the European adapter.

The color does not affect performance. The wall charger powers the dual charger via the included mini USB...
Published 9 months ago by m.a.r.i.l.y.n


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 2-pack battery and charger kit with some great advantages over other sets, January 15, 2014
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
Length:: 9:08 Mins

These days, there are a lot of options for 3rd party GoPro accessories. And while many of them are great, they often don't have anything aside from pricing that makes them stand out from one another. But there are always exceptions, and this Smatree charger kit currently stands a cut above the rest. How? In a word: versatility.

There are two major features that separate this charging kit from others on the market. But first, a quick rundown of what this kit includes:

First and foremost, it comes with two 1200mah capacity battery packs that fit perfectly into the GoPro HD Hero3. Two voltage converters are included - one for your home outlets (with both 120v and 240v plugs), and one for the 12v DC plug in your vehicle. It also comes with the dual battery charging base and USB cable, which can charge either 1 or 2 GoPro batteries at the same time. Both of the voltage converters have two USB slots in them, meaning you can also plug in and charge your smartphone, iPad, or Android tablet while your GoPro batteries charge through the other USB slot (as long as your tablet requires a 5v power source to charge. Some companies like ASUS charge their tablets via non-standard USB voltages and won't work with this or any other standard 5v USB adapter).

What really sets this kit apart, though, are the following two features:

1) The dual-charging base can charge 2 batteries simultaneously. Every other 3rd party battery charger I've seen up until now could only charge one battery at a time. Twice the charging power in the same amount of time speaks for itself. Plus, you can plug your GoPro into the second USB slot on the wall charger and have three GoPro batteries charging at once. I was not able to get both the dual charging base with 2 batteries and my GoPro HD Hero3 Black to charge at the same time on the vehicle 12v DC converter, however, though charging my Galaxy SII smartphone along with the 2 GoPro batteries worked perfectly with both voltage converters.

2) The separation of the power converters from the charging base itself. This might seem like such an insignificant design decision at first glance, but it's what truly puts this kit head and shoulders above the other options currently available in the marketplace. This separation allows the charging base's footprint to remain incredibly compact while still fitting 2 batteries into it at once. It also greatly expands your charging options. Instead of being tied to a power outlet or vehicle 12v DC port for charging your spare batteries, you can now plug them directly into your desktop or laptop - a fact that travelers who like to pack light will especially appreciate.

You can even use a portable backup battery to recharge your GoPro batteries with the dual charger base. For anyone planning on being off the power grid for an extended period but who still wants to keep their cameras rolling, this make the design advantages even greater. Instead of keeping up with a dozen GoPro batteries, you can take two GoPro batteries and one larger external battery pack that you can recharge the GoPro batteries from multiple times. Less muss, less fuss.

In another smart move, Smatree opted to make the charging base's USB connection a miniUSB instead of the now more widespread microUSB port you see in so many new phones and other devices. Why is that a plus? Because GoPro cameras also use miniUSB connections, so you only need to carry one cable with you to serve both devices. Less cables to carry is always a good thing.

The only thing I do not love about this kit is the bright blue lights on the wall outlet converter. They are bright enough that they could easily double as a night light. While this doesn't bother me all that much, my wife cannot sleep well when there are any lights on in a room. Not a big deal at home since we can just charge the batteries in another room, but if we were traveling, we'd have to put the wall charger in the hotel bathroom or put some electrical tape over the lights.

The car charger also lights up blue when plugged in, but it's still dimmer than most of the lights in our car's console and wasn't a distraction at all. In fact, it was very pleasant change from the AT&T microUSB car charger we've been using that has a ridiculously-bright-for-vehicle-purposes white light on it. The green and orange lights on the dual charging base are also very unobtrusive, barely casting any sort of noticeable glow in the dark.

Last but not least, I also did a run-time test on these batteries along with a Wasabi 1200mah battery. The original GoPro HD Hero3 Black battery is rated at 90 minutes for one continuous recording in 1080p30 mode. Doing a continuous recording at the 1080p30 until the camera auto-shutoff, here are my results from the Smatree batteries as well as my Wasabi 1200mah pack (which has seen more use to date, though not an extraordinary amount):

1) Smatree 1200mah battery, fully charged in dual charging base connected to 120v wall converter: 98 minutes, 13 seconds
2) Smatree 1200mah battery, fully charged inside GoPro HD Hero3 Black: 94 minutes, 52 seconds
3) Wasabi 1200mah battery, fully charged inside GoPro HD Hero3 Black: 87 minutes, 40 seconds

If you only buy one spare battery and charging kit for your GoPro HD Hero3 or Hero3+, this should be the one you get. There is simply nothing else currently available that gives you the versatility the Smatree dual charging kit offers. All the charging accessories you might need, but with the configuration choices to only carry WHAT you need for when you need it.

Review disclosure: I was provided a sample of this product for the purposes of examination and review. No review or particular rating was promised in return, and the opinions expressed here are my own following my first-hand experiences with this product. Yeah, I really did just love it that much. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great value, 2-1200mAh batteries plus car and home charger, January 7, 2014
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
Length:: 3:57 Mins

I'd not heard of Smatree until I was asked to review their GoPro compatible batteries and charger. This seemed very similar to an older Wasabi battery and charger that I reviewed over a year ago so I wanted to compare the two.

The kit includes:
➺ 2-1200mAh batteries
➺ Wall Charger (100-240V, 50/60Hz) with additional European plug adapter
➺ Car charger
➺ USB to MiniUSB cable 40"
➺ Charging base that holds 2 batteries

I like the flexibility here.

You can charge 1 or 2 batteries at a time, either AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301 or AHDBT-302.
You can mix battery models as each battery charges independently.
You can charge batteries with the wall charger or with the included car charger.
You can use either charger to charge other devices like smartphones, tablets, etc.

The Smatree batteries are rated basically the same (20mAh more) as the new larger capacity GoPro batteries (GoPro is 1180mAh vs a claimed 1200mAh for the Smatree)

I have not done any scientific testing to see how the claimed battery life plays out in real life, but I have used the batteries and as far as I am able to tell they give me about the same life as the GoPro battery. So I'm pretty happy so far.

The only thing I've noticed is that the batteries can be a little finicky going into the charging base. Just a slight wiggle the wrong way and charging might stop. So you do need to be careful putting the batteries into the base, particularly the 1050mAh GoPro batteries that are not as thick as the newer 1180mAh batteries. Make sure they are charging before you walk away or you could end up with a battery that does not have a full charge.

I think this is a good deal and as long as the batteries don't suddenly lose their capacity to hold a charge like some knock-off batteries tend to do, I'll consider this a great buy as long as there are no surprises down the road. If there are, I'll update my review accordingly.

I was provided a sample for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 pcs 1200mAh battery,1.5 hours to fully charged. I like smatree dual charger. great product!, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
Cost 20+ dollars to get this smatree battery and charger pack. include 1 dual channel battery charger, 1 home charger( two usb output), 1 car USB charger ( two usb output), and 2 pcs 1200mah Smatree gopro batteries. All of these, less than 30 dollors. I really can't expect more. really amazing!

below is my test :
1. Smatree dual charger test : Charge 2 smatree batteries in same time.
CH1 cost 1h28m to full;
CH2 cost 1h 35m to full
( the led light turn to green from red. Before test, i have already used up the energy by power on my hero 3).

2. Wall charger and car charger test: i am not a electronics engineer. I also haven't professional tools to test these two chargers. I used this wall charger and car charger to charge my ipad 2 and iphone same time. no problem. it worked well. So I feel they have a good performance as the label shown" 5V, 2.1A".

3. smatree gopro battery test : under condition of 1080P/30fps, smatree battery last 1h50m, Gopro original lasts 1h38m. oWh, great smatree.

So I strongly recommend Smatree batteries and dual battery charger to every gopro player. absolutely smart buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What You See is Not Necessarily What You Get, January 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
Consider yourself warned: the charger and adapters that you receive may vary greatly from those in the product listing. The wall charger and USB charger I received were both white, with the former stamped "iPad". I also didn't receive the European adapter.

The color does not affect performance. The wall charger powers the dual charger via the included mini USB to USB cable. The dual charger has a red light for each battery that turns green when each one is charged. The lights turned off when I removed the Smatree batteries the first time around, but after I removed a GoPro OEM battery from the charger the green light remained lit. I wouldn't really mind that the wall charger is white, except it lights up blue when plugged in. It's a pointless waste of electricity, and it can be very annoying if you charge your electronics overnight in your bedroom.

I haven't had the opportunity to test the car charger, but I expect it will work. The batteries need to be cycled through a few times before I can get a true sense of how long they'll last when filming and how long it will take to charge them when they are completely depleted, so no comment on that yet. What I can tell you about the batteries now is that the ones I received needed to be charged first time out of the box and they fit my GoPro Hero3 Black.

Conclusion: Solid product for the money, but the mismatched products make for a lousy presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Concept, Poor Execution, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
I wanted to LOVE this product. In theory this is exactly what I needed, a way to charge the GoPro internal batteries via USB power. And as a bonus, the unit is tiny and charges two batteries at once! ...... if it worked.

But it doesn't work. Within five minutes I found three major design flaws that conspire to make this product useless.

1) The batteries do not fit in the charger tightly. When you insert the battery there is some wiggle room, which means the battery often is not in contact with the charging pins. This can be fixed by applying a bit of electrical tape to the battery.

2) There is nothing to hold the batteries in place while charging. I had thought to add a rubber band to keep the batteries in the charger, but because of #1, the slightest movement will result in the batteries losing contact with the charger. I quickly came to the conclusion that in real world circumstances (i.e the kind of places you are likely to find an action cam) the charger will NOT charge the batteries because of poor contact.

3) Worst of all is the poorly designed status lights. In any battery charger there should be a total of 3 possible conditions. a) no battery inserted b) battery charging and c) battery charged. But this unit cannot distinguish between 'no battery inserted' and 'battery charged'. The status lights are either green or red. The end result is that if the light is green, you have no way of knowing if the battery is actually charged, or if the unit moved slightly resulting in no contact = dead battery.

I wish this product worked because it WOULD have been perfect. But in the end this product will result in dead batteries when you thought they should be charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Battery wont charge, wall charger is weaker than advertised., February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
After using the batteries twice, one of the batteries will not charge any more,
Its claims of being able to charge other stuff with the wall charger is not accurate. It would not charge my ipad, iphone, nexus 7 etc etc.. so.. whatever its rated for, it surely does not live up to its specs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead charger, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
Dual charge is awesome when it worked! Charged for maybe 2 minutes, cool blue led, then everything just died. Returning this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad quality, March 7, 2014
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
I saw a lot of the same complaints about this not charging properly and the charger showing green. I had one do that but I kept it. Then a second. I examined both batteries very closely and noticed on both of them that there are three slots where two pins of the charger slide into the battery. Both battery 'slots' (for lack of better words) - both had one slot bent in the same place. Tiny to see but viewable. My other 2 GoPro batteries are fine. So, I do not recommend buying these as it appears to be the same problem that many others have had - the charging issue due to poor quality of the connections. The battery itself was about half as good as the GoPro for working time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE battery performance!, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
I should begin by saying that I do not normally write product reviews, but I felt it was important to share my experience this time. After reading all the rave reviews for this product, I was convinced I too would be delighted with my purchase. Unfortunately, this was not the case. My disappointment had to do with the poor performance of BOTH of the Smatree batteries. I bought this kit with the expectation that the batteries would offer run times about equal to the GoPro original batteries. After some casual use, it seemed that these batteries were not lasting very long at all, so I decided to do a scientific test to see if this was in fact true.

The Smatree batteries are ADVERTISED as having a capacity of 1200 mAh, compared to the original GoPro Hero 3+ battery which is rated at 1180 mAh. Theoretically, the Smatree battery should yield a slightly longer run time than the OEM battery. However, I performed 3 separate tests, and every time the Smatree battery performed far worse than the GoPro original battery. On average, the Smatree battery provided only 42 mins of run time, versus the GoPro original which (on average) provided 70 mins of run time in my Hero3+.

NOTE: In my testing, each battery was run three times at 1080p, 60FPS with WI-FI turned on.

In conclusion, the Smatree battery lasted only 60% as long as the GoPro original battery!

Needless to say, I will be returning this product, as I have no use for batteries with such lousy run times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good power options and flexiblity, January 2, 2014
By 
Jayhova (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SmatreeŽ Battery(2-Pack) and Rapid Dual Charger Kit for GoProŽ HD HERO3,HERO3+ camera - Includes:SmatreeŽ high-speed USB Dual Travel Battery Charger + 2 SmatreeŽ power High Capacity Rechargeable Li-ion Batteries + USB Cable + Fast Dual USB Wall Charger Adapter + Rapid Dual USB Car Charger for GoProŽ AHDBT-201, AHDBT-301, AHDBT-302 (Camera)
I'm giving 4 out of 5 since I don't know how well the batteries will last or hold up. However, if they are the same as the other Smatree batteries they should be fine. This kit comes with some nice options and connectors for charing the Smatree and Original GoPro battery (yes the Hero3+ battery fits). I also like the ability to charge two at once. I can't comment yet on exact charging times since I have only had it for a very short time and have not had the opportunity to charge a completely dead battery and keep track.

The included power brick in this kit is simply a brick with USB connectors and a charger with USB connector. The added bonus is also a car charge which is simply a cigarette lighter adapter with USB connectors. What this means is you can really use these with anything USB. All in all a very flexible option and as long as the batteries are the same quality as the other highly rated Smatree products this should be a great buy for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.