Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Smatree® Head Strap Mount+ Chest Belt Strap Harness Mount+Aluminum Thumbscrew+J-Hook for Gopro Hero Hero4 Hero3+ Hero3 Hero2 Hero1 and SJCAM cameras (Black)
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 19, 2013
I purchased both this unit and one of the corresponding GoPro brand.
Both items came in the same Amazon packaging. The only differences I could find between this "generic" brand and the GoPro brand, were (A) the GoPro logo and (B) about $20 less cost.

So don't bother with the Gopro brand, this one is the same thing for less.

Oh, and it worked great while Zip lining in Missouri this Spring.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2013
Worked great. Had zero problems and the filming was better using the head mount. The mounts were used underwater, zip lining, and riding in dune buggy.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
i got this accessory pack for my gopro 3 instead of the official accessory from gopro, one is because of the price, and the second is it comes with a torso mount as well.
The elastic bands feels pretty good with some soft rubber inside for extra friction; the plastic feel a little bit on the cheap side(understandably so); but the thing i want to point out, and this might be a deal breaker for some people, is the fact the head mount DOES NOT fit the gopro properly at all, i had to do a lot of sanding and cutting in between the mount where the screw goes in in order to fit my go pro on.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2014
Yes and Yes!!!! For being what they are they work great and are very comfortable! I have worn this stuff for 4 hours at a time without issue. Bounce is minimal and does not reflect on the video , for the price point you cant go wrong! Also the camera mount screw they give you is metal , not that cheap plastic crap. Save yourself some money and buy this instead of the GoPro line up
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
Bought this set for my son who goes out and does stunts with his GoPro. He has stated it was well made and he would not hesitate to buy another after this one has wore out if it does (Dad's money so who cares lol). He uses the head mount on walking trails and scaling rock cliffs and the chest mount when he gets to not moving much like working on the car to show people what hes doing. If you use chest mount and watch the footage if running it can get very bouncy in frame. Overall both head and chest mounts are good products.

I would definitely recommend these for the value.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2015
Seems to be well made. Used with SJCAM 4000 which uses the same accessories as GoPro. Chest strap fit my large 230lb 6'3" frame and my 13 year old's slender 105lb 5'2" frame. Head strap fits my 7.5" head. This makes for some nice hands free action shots. I would not hesitate to get another Smatree product when the time comes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
The Smatree Head Strap Belt Mount + Chest Belt Strap Harness Mount Combo is an amazing value for a GoPro as it includes the Head Strap Belt Mount, Chest Belt Strap Harness Mount, Aluminum Thumbscrew and J-Hook for less than the price of one GoPro Head Strap.

The Head Strap Belt Mount is extremely comfortable. It works with the standard housing (with standard or skeleton door) or the frame mount. It is adjustable in two places, enough to fit any size head. It can be worn over a helmet or directly on your head. The inside of the elastic band has a tacky material to better grip your helmet or head. The mount is a fixed mount so you have to mount your GoPro directly to the mount utilizing the included Aluminum Thumbscrew. You can't use Quick Release Buckles, but you can however use the 3-Way Pivot Arm or something similar if you need additional adjustability. The build quality is excellent, with the same look and feel as the GoPro Head Strap.

As far as usage, the Head Strap offers up a unique perspective. Similar to the headlamp of say a miner. It is useful for any activity where footage can be captured from your head. A head mount is a must buy for any GoPro toolkit and since it comes with the combo for less than the price of a GoPro Head Strap, it's a win win.

The Chest Belt Strap Harness Mount is not the most comfortable or attractive mount to wear, but it gives one of the best POV out of any mount. It works with the standard housing with any door or the frame mount. It is adjustable in 5 places and can pretty much fit any adult. I was even able to get it to fit my 4 yr old son. The mount is a quick release and is used with the included Quick Release Buckle (J-Hook). It can be used with any other Quick Release Buckle. The build quality is excellent with the same look and feel as the GoPro Chesty.

As far as usage, the Chest Belt Strap Harness Mount offers a more immersive POV than the Head Strap and is perfect for hands on activities like mountain biking or skiing. When playing football with my son, the Chest Belt Strap allowed me to capture excellent footage of him throwing and catching a football from his chest-level perspective. The POV lets you capture more of your arms, knees and equipment such as handlebars or ski poles. A chest mount is probably the first mount that you should purchase after getting your GoPro and since it comes with the combo for less than the price of a GoPro Head Strap, like I said earlier...win win.

And finally the included J-Hook Quick Release Buckle and Aluminum Thumbscrew are welcome additions to the combo. The J-Hook is the same as the GoPro version and allows you to mount a camera further away from the mounting surface. The Aluminum Thumbscrew is the long version and is made out of Billet Aluminum. Its lightweight, looks amazing and the knurled handle makes it easy to tighten and loosen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
Over all just what I needed and works as advertised. Great quality!

There are a couple of minor issues with the the head strap design that should be pointed out.

1. The mount is welded to the base rather than just using a slip in mount like they used for the chest strap (Hidden by camera in product images). At the very least they should have welded a Jmount here instead of the short mount that was used. Because of this you are forced to use some sort of extension to position the camera as needed.

2. Another minor issue is that the top strap should be removable. There are times when I would like to just use this as a headband only without the center top strap.

Still well worth the money but my hope is the manufacture will change this in the future and then they will then have a perfect product!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2015
We haven’t used these much but my wife did use the chest mount through a Wipeout Run obstacle course and it was solid. We’ve used them a little here and there and they always stay solid and comfortable.

You also get the awesome thumb screw. It is much easier to tighten and feels more secure than the standard GoPro screws. The gooseneck mount is the same as the GoPro. All of the GoPro mounts I have snap into these straps if you wanted to.

I’m happy with this purchase and would buy it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Everything seems to be very good quality except the j hook specs are a little bit off. It is way to tight in the reciever. I will have to file it down slightly but then it should be fine. I will say the alluminum bolt is excellent quality.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 30 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.