Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
As a long-time Jerry Spinelli fan, I was truly excited when given the chance to review his latest, SMILES TO GO. If you loved MANIC MAGEE or WRINGER, be sure to take a look at this one.

Will Tuppence is a typical freshman. He is worried about skateboarding, his annoying little sister, and hanging with his friends, Mi-Su and BT. But, as normal as that sounds,...
Published on April 29, 2008 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good in the end, but some issues felt canned
I was disappointed in probably the first half or two thirds of this book, though mainly it was because I expect more character realism from Spinelli due to his amazing success in other books at portraying teenagers as they really are. But some of this character's thoughts and actions seemed a bit canned at first. I thought I might have just not related to the protagonist...
Published 2 months ago by Swank Ivy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Completes my son's Summer Reading, August 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Paperback)
Apparently this book is used a lot in grade schools. Great book about friendships and childhood relationships with siblings. It was not a book my son would have chosen for himself, but it was interesting enough for him to finish easily and write in his report that he would recommend it for others his age(11 yrs+)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Hardcover)
Present for my daughter who wanted to add this to her classroom library for grade 8. A good read for that age level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laughs and Smiles all Around, March 31, 2013
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Paperback)
OK, so we have all read Stargirl, right? We all know and love Jerry Spinelli for his delightful characters, his unwavering optimism and his examination of adolescence. Despite each story's conflict, there is always a feel to Spinelli's books that you want these characters in your life, and you always know things have to turn out OK. Smiles to Go is no exception!

Will is a skateboard riding, chess playing ninth grader whose best friends, Mi-Su and BT, are the center to his world. When BT kisses Mi-Su at a stargazing event, Will realizes he wants to kiss Mi-Su! With plans and schemes, he has worked out a way to get Mi-Su to kiss him and plays the plans over and over in his head until he convinces himself it will work. But BT is so nonchalant about Mi-Su, the way BT is about everything (which drives Will crazy!).

The best part of this book, however, is not Will, Mi-Su, BT, or the typical teen love triangle. The best part of this book is by far Tabby, Will's five-year old sister. Tabby is a handful, to say the least, who seems to live for making Will's life miserable. She is so precocious and mischievous, you just know you would love to know this girl (although perhaps in small doses). At one point in the book, Will and his dad are working on Will's chess game for the big match coming up. Tabby has been unceremoniously locked outside and is not happy about it. She tries screaming, pleading, pretending something horrible is happening in the hall, and any other stunt to get Will and her dad to come out of the room. When she gets mysteriously quiet, Will glanced over at the door to see a straw poking under the door- Tabby had resorted to trying to "suck all the air out of the room".

This book will literally make you laugh out loud and applaud Sir Spinelli once again. There is of course a life lesson to be learned for Will, but not before Tabby worms her way into your heart. This is a great "middle reader" book for low-skilled high school students or average-skilled middle school students. The story is sophisticated enough to not be a stretch for a high school student, either. Great book, quick read for you, and one you won't be sorry you took the time to read! But I warn you, this book will make you look for the Tabby in your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Paperback)
Got this for my son whom doesn't like to read much. With the book he read it and ask for more from the author. He is now reading another one of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smiles to Go Review, October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Kindle Edition)
I love Jerry Spinelli‘s writing, and I think that this book is one of his best. I would recommend this book to all of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, July 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Kindle Edition)
Item was in perfect condition. It was exactly as described. Shipping was upper fast. I would defiantly recommend this seller to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and uplifting story, May 7, 2011
By 
aliceknd (Gilbert, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Paperback)
A book that is filled with action and exciting events but lacks character development simply bores me to tears. The best books have interesting characters and a great plot. But a good plot doesn't have to complex.

This is one of those books with a simple story line about people and their relationships with other people... teenagers, their friends, and their family members. As an adult reading a book about teenagers and for teenagers I found myself smiling at the memories of being one myself, but I enjoyed it on another level... human emotion is very powerful, whatever your age or the age of those you read about.

There is nothing offensive, but since the narrator is a teenager who begins to have romantic feelings toward his best friend, a girl he has known since kindergarten, there is some kissing and drama of that type that should probably be avoided by younger children. Also, there are some pretty intense emotional moments, and a tragic accident that could be frightening. The subject matter is definitely for older children and teens. Adults will enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Jerry Spinelli book, December 26, 2010
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Kindle Edition)
This book is ten times better than The Library Card, Maniac Magee, and Wringer put together. I dont see the point of The Library Card, Maniac Magee isnt very good, and Wringer is ...OMG !Animal cruelty!!! Loser is boring. Doesnt set Smiles to Go at a very high standard. Still AMAZING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Teacher's Perspective, September 9, 2008
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Hardcover)
In this Contemporary Realistic Fiction piece, Spinelli spins a tale that winds through a young boy's first experience with love, including a complete preoccupation with the object of his affection to the point of neglecting his chess game, to his relationship with a much younger sister and ongoing competition with his best friend.

The main character, Will Tuppence, struggles with fear and jealousy as he experiences two main types of conflict, person against person, and person against self. All in all, the book is about relationships, family, and the topsy-turvy feelings of first love.

Smiles to Go would be a fantastic book club feature in the classroom for small groups of students to read and discuss. Open ended questions to explore might include:
*How are you similar and/or different to Will?
*If you were Will, how would you acti differently?
*Write a continuation for this story. What would happen next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smiles To Go by Jerry Spinelli, February 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smiles to Go (Hardcover)
I have loved many Spinelli novels through the years. This one is a winner, especially for young men. It helps them know that it's okay to have a tender heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Smiles to Go
Smiles to Go by Jerry Spinelli (Paperback - August 25, 2009)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.