Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHEAP BUT NOT NASTY
If you think you're going to get a Real McCoy military watch for a bit over $20, you must be very optimistic. But having said that, this is still a "real" watch in that it looks good, is made of steel and is very accurate. (That's the beauty of a quartz movement - it doesn't have to cost the earth to be accurate.)

As you'd expect with a watch with a push-on...
Published on September 8, 2010 by Lawrence Cutler

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch if it works
I bought this watch in 2010 and it worked for a good solid 8 months. After 8 months, the second hand would go to 12:00 and then fall down to 6. Then the battery died and after replacing the battery, the watch will not function. It worked great and was a fanatastic field watch...when it worked. Sadly, I will not pay to have it repaired as the repairs will cost more than...
Published on March 18, 2012 by Mark A. Kerr


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHEAP BUT NOT NASTY, September 8, 2010
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
If you think you're going to get a Real McCoy military watch for a bit over $20, you must be very optimistic. But having said that, this is still a "real" watch in that it looks good, is made of steel and is very accurate. (That's the beauty of a quartz movement - it doesn't have to cost the earth to be accurate.)

As you'd expect with a watch with a push-on back, its waterproof rating is modest, but adequate for everyday use. Just don't tempt fate by showering with it or wearing it while changing the course of mighty rivers.

The three canvas bands are VERY robust, with sewn double layers of canvas. However, the buckle looks a little fragile. Some may find the bands a little stiff at first but they will soften and "bed in" with wear. Unlike NATO type bands that have a keeper sub-strap, you can adjust the watch on these simple one-piece bands until both the watch and buckle centre perfectly on either side of your wrist. And if you don't like canvas, there are plenty of cheap after-market nylon bands out there.

The olive green watch face looks good although the hands are a give-away: decidely "budget" in appearance but acceptable. The time and date are easily readable at a glance. The case is coated in a matte silver finish, something that may not appeal if you're expecting bare satin steel. In my opinion, the black version looks better, particularly with the sand-coloured band. (I also have that model.)

If night-time readabilty is important to you, forget it. There is some token lume on the two main hands only but it's very weak and next to useless at night. As I said, token. On the positive side, the red second hand indexes nicely with the second and hour markings.

Despite its shortcomings, this is a good choice if you're looking for a cheap but not nasty watch with a rugged outdoors look to it. The size is neither too big nor too small - very comfortable. It would also make a perfect gift for a youngster with a liking for gear with a military look - cheap, but definitely not a toy.

If this watch cost $80+, I would give it three stars, but at its very modest asking price, it deserves four. It would cost you more than $22 just to buy the three canvas bands from a specialist supplier, assuming you can find one!

Okay, it's not a Hamilton Khaki or Fortis Flieger. But it's accurate, readable, seems durable, is rugged looking and won't make you cry if you break it. What else do you want for 22 bucks?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch if it works, March 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
I bought this watch in 2010 and it worked for a good solid 8 months. After 8 months, the second hand would go to 12:00 and then fall down to 6. Then the battery died and after replacing the battery, the watch will not function. It worked great and was a fanatastic field watch...when it worked. Sadly, I will not pay to have it repaired as the repairs will cost more than the watch. Buy with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars watch review, September 17, 2010
By 
angiqm (pennsauken, NJ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
i really liked this watch. there was a major problem with it. after about 3/4 weeks the winding stem broke off. i could send it back because i no longer had the reciept or the original packing. taking it for repair cost more than the watch.do not buy this watch as the same problem could happen to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality product, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
The battery was dead on this watch when I received it. After replacing it, the watch functioned for perhaps a month on the new battery before drastically losing time. This is a poor quality product than I can't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A decent watch but excellent value for the money, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
I'm a watch enthusiast. I got this cheap one because I liked it, plain and simple. I've read some bad reviews on this item, so, here are my two cents.

The watch is not looking cheap, the finish is good, the strap is okay and it looks great. Of course, this is definitely not a luxury watch, this is just a very good $25 watch.

The movement is made by Myota (Citizen Japan) and the battery is a Japanese SONY branded one, not a cheap chinese battery. The movement is the same as the ones used on a bazillion of watches from other brands. The case cover is a "push on" type with a gasket.

Seriously, if you like how this watch looks, you can get one. If you're looking for a higher quality watch, you may consider Seiko 5 models, but as the quality is higher, the price is not the same.

Good value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars joe, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
This watch was broken, the merchant either received it or caused it.It was not inspected.The stem was not connected.It pulled out when it was being set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless junk watch, July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
The watch was not waterproof at all. It was full of water after a light rain. Wore it less than 2 times before it junked all the way out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Khaki Military Watch, May 15, 2009
By 
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
Solid watch for the price - runs well, easy to read and set. Only complaint is the strap could be better designed to allow a more secure fit. Currently the loops slide all over and can leave the end of the strap unsecure and thus in the way to catch on things, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars please read, do not skip over this review, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
I have ordered a lot of items online, but this is by far the worst product I have ever purchased in my life. I really do wish that someone from amazon would read this and possibly do something to fix it. I know some of you are saying, why not return it? I wont return it because I purchased it and its my fault I own it. Now back to the product, the watch does not fit comfortably at all, the bands stick out the sides when you put it on your wrist and it is just overall completely uncomfortable. The straps are made of very thin fraying canvas, please listen to me and do not purchase this watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch for the money, August 5, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smith & Wesson Men's SWW-1464-OD Military Multi Canvas Straps Watch (Watch)
I bought this watch because I needed a cheap watch for my outdoor activities this summer. I'm into the military look, so this fit the bill, and the price was definitely right. My first outing with this watch was camping, and it performed great. As has been said before, the glow in the dark hands are basically useless, but other than that it's very easy to read in proper lighting. It got a few scratches and I took it kayaking with me so it got a little wet, but still performed beautifully.

My next outing was jetskiing, and again, no problems whatsoever.

The third outing I took my watch on was floating down a river. This time the watch was fully submerged for a good portion of the day as I was furiously hand-paddling around rapids. The watch is still ticking away like a charm, no problems at all.

It's cool that it comes with three straps - I like being able to pick which band I want to wear. The straps are a bit stiff and uncomfortable at first, but after wearing them each for about a day, they break in nicely. The straps themselves aren't the best quality, in fact a couple of mine are already showing significant wear on the holes you use to secure the band. However I plan to make a paracord strap for this, so it's really no big deal.

Bottom line, if you like a simple military-looking, decently built watch, get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.