Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy and compact
Nice quality and sturdy. The tri-fold build makes it very compact, and including a good case with it is a nice touch.
Published on April 29, 2012 by Mastoo

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad - A Tad Flimsy
Not a bad tool, but it is a bit on the flimsy side. Clearly, it's not made for moving rocks and whatnot, but for basic dirt/sand/mud recovery, it gets the job done...kinda. I really like how compact it is, and the pouch is well-made too.
Published 17 months ago by M. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad - A Tad Flimsy, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
Not a bad tool, but it is a bit on the flimsy side. Clearly, it's not made for moving rocks and whatnot, but for basic dirt/sand/mud recovery, it gets the job done...kinda. I really like how compact it is, and the pouch is well-made too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke it, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
I broke it the first time I used it. I guess it should not be used to dig mud out from under the front of your Jeep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good tool, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
does the job. not nearly as reliable as a Gerber military issue, but you get decent quality for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy and compact, April 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
Nice quality and sturdy. The tri-fold build makes it very compact, and including a good case with it is a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
I bought these shovels to take to the beach and then was going to use them as emergency shovels for my vehicles. I only used one and after only one day of sitting in the ocean breeze the powder coated hardware began to rust, even though it was rinsed thoroughly with fresh water. To further my disappointment when I finally used the shovel to dig in one of the softest mediums know to man, sand, the metal blade gouged grooves into the plastic tightening collar rendering my shovel into nothing more than a glorified hand trowel. I have yet to contact the company to see if they will replace the defective product. I would have returned it to amazon but the return window had closed by the time I got back from the beach. There needs to be a metal bushing between the metal blade and the plastic tightening collar which I may be forced to fabricate myself. Stay away from this or you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars broke before use, May 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
I'm not a big guy weighing only 140 pounds but the day this shovel came i extended it, gave it some pressure and the nylon reinforced handle snapped. Another waste of money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easily Breaks, August 17, 2012
By 
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
Used this for under a week and within hours it broke. It's a cheap made in China piece of crap just like the seller DG Outdoors, who who is so immoral he insulted the customer he sold this item too, who reported to him that it broke, and yet was not given a refund. DG Outdoors = swindler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars works great, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
purchased it just in case I need it driving on the beach guess what ? I really needed it and it worked great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cant get to China, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
But it will get you out of a jam.
Great little shovel for off road. Fits in the wheel well of the spare tire carrier with everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works good!, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smittybilt 2728 Matte Black Tri-Fold Shovel R.U.T. Recovery Utility Tool (Automotive)
Needed a light weight camping shovel and this worked great. Lets face it, it wasn't meant for digging a swimming pool but for a compact folding shovel it works as it should
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.