Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS MOVIE! Daddy, look at that big ugly alligator...
"Daddy, look at that big ugly alligator.", "That reminds me, I gotta call your moma tonight." THIS MOVIE IS FUNNY!!!
The first thing I noticed about SMOKEY and the BANDIT 2 was the quality of the digital transfer to DVD. It is done so well, I felt like I was watching a movie made a year ago(aside the old cars and clothes).
I'm 36 and this...
Published on November 16, 2003 by Goalie Man

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars West Bound and WAY Down
Burt Reynolds and director Hal Needham should have ended their stunt-filled collaboration after "Hooper." Instead, they churned out "Smokey and the Bandit II" (1980) - a mostly joyless sequel to the high-spirited original. The welcome return of Jackie Gleason, Sally Field and Jerry Reed is negated by Burt's sour attitude toward the whole enterprise. Needham stages a...
Published on May 8, 2012 by Scott T. Rivers


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS MOVIE! Daddy, look at that big ugly alligator..., November 16, 2003
This review is from: Smokey and the Bandit II (DVD)
"Daddy, look at that big ugly alligator.", "That reminds me, I gotta call your moma tonight." THIS MOVIE IS FUNNY!!!
The first thing I noticed about SMOKEY and the BANDIT 2 was the quality of the digital transfer to DVD. It is done so well, I felt like I was watching a movie made a year ago(aside the old cars and clothes).
I'm 36 and this movie brought back tons of memories. "Son, why isn't your gun loaded?", "It's too heavy when I put bullets in it, Daddy." This movie is full of hilarious one liners. I found myself to be in a great mood after watching this movie. There's a semi-sentimental tone that is, at times alittle cheesy but still, touching and not too overboard.
Everyone is fantastic in this movie. Even the gas station attendant is brilliantly funny. I really can't think of one negative thing to say about SB2.
It's as good, if not better than, the first BANDIT. I give it 2 thumbs up and a MUST SEE for anyone who loves to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring it out on DVD!, June 11, 2001
I keep wanting to see this movie on DVD. To be honest I think this one is the funniest of the three, maybe not the best overall but the funniest. The banter between the Sheriff and his son take this movie over the top. Now if this movie and Used Cars could just be put on DVD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why would anyone not like this movie if they liked the first, May 17, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Smokey and the Bandit II (DVD)
So this movie was different than the first Smokey and The Bandit. Was it really? If it's fast cars wanted, this has just the same as the first. If it's chase scene spectacular, this is just as much. If it's "bubble gum machines" getting wasted in a pile of heep by semis, this movie has just as much if not more so than the first as well. The same Burt Reynolds style, the same Jackie Gleason style, pretty much the same movie with a twist. Instead of hauling bootlegged beer, it's a pregnant elephant headed toward the Republican convention in Texas. Dom Deluise is hilarious in this second installment, making an added character for additional humor. Jerry Reed continues being the sensible one of the cast, always being the mediater in solving a problem as usual. If a person truly liked and is a real fan of Smokey and The Bandit original film, they would like this just the same. True, not the same as the first but equally as good even with the slight differences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars West Bound and WAY Down, May 8, 2012
This review is from: Smokey and the Bandit II (DVD)
Burt Reynolds and director Hal Needham should have ended their stunt-filled collaboration after "Hooper." Instead, they churned out "Smokey and the Bandit II" (1980) - a mostly joyless sequel to the high-spirited original. The welcome return of Jackie Gleason, Sally Field and Jerry Reed is negated by Burt's sour attitude toward the whole enterprise. Needham stages a lavish demolition-derby climax, but only Gleason appears to be having fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lame ! killed the spirit of the bandit., March 11, 2011
By 
Robbierocket (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokey and the Bandit II (DVD)
Sorry Folks but...They strayed from the formula and paid the price! This was lame! i loved sb1,it rocked,it was fast paced and exciting, the characters were bigger than life, the music had a theme and rhythm and the cars were loud and fast. In SB2 They didnt want to make this film ,it shows. The cars were slow,action was dull. Bo and Frog had no chemistry, even as actors! The story boring- The cars even looked weird. The music had no feel. Jokes were old, and the bandit portrayed as a "has been" and not liked very much! Even Cletus seemed like he was a puppet. No heart in this one! Some films shouldnt have a number2 or sequel. They should have rolled the dice and went to Boston for Chowder. They slowed the chase and killed the spirit of the bandit. The only highlight was that Sally Field looks amazingly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A shame, August 30, 2009
This review is from: Smokey and the Bandit II (DVD)
The writers could not put together as interesting a story as the first movie. Seems to me the storyline for this sequel had been established at the end of SMOKEY AND THE BANDIT 1. Had this indeed been used as the main plot for this movie, I am sure it would have been much more successful. A pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first---regardless of what anyone else says, August 15, 1999
By A Customer
Although critics universally panned this sequel to Hal Needham's $250 million, 1977 megahit, Smokey 2 actually has a lot more depth than its prequel. This time, Needham keeps the action and car crashes to a minimum (settling for one lengthy demolition derby sequence near the end) and instead focuses on the interpersonal relationships between Bandit, Cledus, Frog, and Sheriff Justice. Needham also emphasizes screwball comedy (Dom DeLuise is hysterical playing a madcap Italian doctor/elephant veterinarian from Miami) and country music. (The film features brief cameos by country superstars Brenda Lee, Mel Tillis, Don Williams, and the Statler Brothers). The picture's major flaw: Needham doesn't carry any of the successful elements far enough. For example: the Statlers <who sing "You Are My Sunshine"> are limited to about five seconds onscreen, and Tillis (a terrific vocalist) doesn't even sing... he just stutters!! And in the film's funniest subplot, involving Buford T. Justice & his two brothers, Reggie & Gaylord (Gleason in a triple role!!!) the Sheriff's kinfolk appear and disappear without doing or saying much. (Talk about a lost opportunity!) Smokey II is a flawed gem from a director and screenwriters who obviously don't have enough confidence in their own instincts about what constitutes great entertainment. Definitely worth a look, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ego Catches the Bandit, June 11, 2010
This review is from: Smokey and the Bandit II (DVD)
Burt Reynolds always got along well with his stunt teams. Their fearless attitude and hard partying lifestyle (always after hours, NEVER during a shoot!) appealed to the inner nature of a box office superstar who found himself so trapped by his own fame that he couldn't enjoy the fruits of his success in the way he wanted to. He gave stunt buddy Hal Needham a directing stint for the first Bandit film and even made Hooper as an homage to a lifestyle Reynolds' celebrity status kept just out of reach.

We all know the story. Lightning struck and S&TB became an unexpected runaway smash. A sequel was inevitable. So what what wrong and what went right? Part of the problem was Reynolds' own ego. A funny thing happens to some people when they achieve massive success. They begin to believe their own press releases and think that people love THEM and not the things they've produced. It also happened to Stephen King who spent years writing terrible books. He came to believe that his name on the cover would be enough to move copies and he needn't worry about the quality on the pages inside. As his sales began to slide he created an alter ego (Richard Bachman) and re-taught himself the craft that got him stardom in the first place. The best example of this in Burt Reynolds' career comes in the middle of S&TBII when his character meets a man that doesn't buy into the whole "Bandit myth." Grabbing the man by the scruff of his shirt, Reynolds turns to Sally Field and says, "Who the heck does he think he IS?" Her reply, "I think you need to ask yourself that," sums up the entire problem with the film.

In the first Bandit movie, Needham quickly gave up on getting the beloved Jackie Gleason to stick to scripted dialogue. Given the chance to perform "blue" adult humor after years of being trapped by the constraints of televisions censorship limitations, Gleason went wild. He chewed the scenery, made up his own lines, and basically carried the humor of the entire film on his back. The crowds came for the hot car chases but they came back for repeated viewings to enjoy a comic master at the very top of his game. Needham wisely sets Gleason free in the second film and once again Gleason displays the reason why his career spanned so many decades. He is, was, and always shall be, one of the absolute masters at his craft.

Unfortunately, Reynolds, Reed, and Deluise spend a lot of time ad-libbing themselves and only Dom Deluise really has the comic chops to make it work. Reynolds shows no nuance whatsoever comedically and spends the bulk of the film mugging it up in the mistaken belief that his looks and the popularity of the character he is playing will automatically make him charming and funny. No such luck.

I caught Jerry Reed live some years back. He was reduced to playing at a high school gymnasium in a rural North Carolina town. He spent more time name-dropping and talking about his "star status" than singing and by the midpoint of the show, half of the crowd had already headed for the exits. Unlike Mr. King, Jerry never learned his lesson.

The end result is a movie that has twice the mugging and ham acting as the first with roughly half of the car chases and very little of the charm. At a time when people had come to realize that alcoholism destroys the lives of entire families, Reynolds portrays it as a good-natured and funny thing that can be cured with some situps and a few days on the wagon. Simply put, Reynolds had lost touch with the things that made him a star in the first place and the result was a film that might have worked ten years earlier, but was sadly out of place in 1980.

The film is still worth the ride for several reasons, not the least of which is the chance to watch Jackie Gleason unchained and running wild for the pure joy of it. Also, the crew discovered an abandoned roller coaster that was slated for demolition and Needham and Reynolds were able to convince the owner to allow them to destroy the ancient ride on camera. It makes for one of the most amusing and memorable moments of the film trilogy. Dom Deluise, given little to work with but a massive living and breathing prop, has some moments of true brilliance, not the least of which is his lament that he can't properly examine the elephant in the film without a set of OB-GYN stirrups.

S&TBII almost works despite the mailed-in performances of Reynolds and Reed. Although it really isn't up to the energy of the original on any levels, it was still fun to revisit the characters and there are worse ways to kill an evening than popping the movie into the DVD player and kicking back for a laugh or two. It's worth a rental and even worth purchasing if you can find it in the bargain bin for five bucks or so as I did. My wife and I bought it with the idea of having friends over for a "Bandit Double Feature" and the laughs and nostalgia the two films provided reminded us that movies don't have to be pretentious and full of social messages. Sometimes they're just made for the fun of it and are there just to be enjoyed.

I won't even comment on the third film. I paid for a ticket to see it in theaters when it was released so the studio has already gotten more money out of me than that film ever deserved. But the second film of the series still has enough juice (barely) to be worth viewing - especially as a companion piece to the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This "Smokey" fizzles out, July 8, 2013
By 
David Hugaert (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smokey and the Bandit II (DVD)
"Smokey and the Bandit II" finds Burt Reynolds, Jerry Reed & Sally Field returning in their roles as The Bandit, Cledus & Carrie. The Enis Brothers (Paul Williams & Pat McCormick) once again goad our hero into accepting a bet that The Bandit cannot deliver a pregnant elephant from Miami to Dallas in a prescribed amount of time. Unlike the first original film, this sequel has a lot going against it: a silly storyline, an out of place Burt Reynolds & Jerry Reed - both of whom look uncomfortable in their respective roles & a myriad of guest stars. Guest stars??? The only thing this sequel has going for it, is the timely comedic portrayal of Jackie Gleason as Sheriff Buford T. Justice. Make that two things: Dom DeLuise as a doctor is "SATB II's" other saving grace. Both Gleason & DeLuise are masters of comedy & comedic timing. If it weren't for their contributions, this film would garner one star for it's silly plot alone. Another thing "SATB II" has going against it, is the writers' sense of geography. The desert's in western Texas, not on the border with Louisiana (an allusion to the trucker-law enforcement vehicular smash derby three-quarters through the movie)! Word of the wise is, only purchase this title if you're a die-hard "SATB" fanatic - in which case you should purchase the Pursuit Pack featuring all three movies on one single disc instead, which is a much better bargain. Otherwise, avoid "SATB II" at all costs & skip to "SATB, Part 3" instead.

R.I.P., Jackie Gleason, Jerry Reed & Dom DeLuise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars got for family, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokey and the Bandit II (DVD)
Nothing like watching all the classics with your family to show them how life was before all these video games and instant access to all... movie funny as the first time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Smokey and the Bandit II
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.