Customer Reviews


630 Reviews
5 star:
 (417)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


148 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book from the Master
He keeps it simple and real. I love the way the book flows as a cookbook and a story. As soon as you get into it, there's no doubt this is Myron's cookbook. His language is what you'd expect and it's absolutely appreciated.

There are a good number of recipes and all of which are easy to follow. I can't wait to try the cupcake chicken!

The best...
Published on May 11, 2011 by J. Spina

versus
58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not at the level I expected.
I bought this based on several reviews that gave high praise to the recipes and story of Mr. Mixon. I was expecting a lot more from these recipes, even though the book clearly says "simple" right on the front of it.
I get that Mr. Mixon is the "winningest man blah blah blah" and that his ego is understandably large. But, I don't want to read about how incredibly...
Published 6 months ago by Longbow guy


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

148 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book from the Master, May 11, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue (Paperback)
He keeps it simple and real. I love the way the book flows as a cookbook and a story. As soon as you get into it, there's no doubt this is Myron's cookbook. His language is what you'd expect and it's absolutely appreciated.

There are a good number of recipes and all of which are easy to follow. I can't wait to try the cupcake chicken!

The best part is how he explains the different recipes and techniques. You may not agree with some of what he says, but he does.. and it's made him ton's of money.

What you'll find:
Recipes for Rubs , Marinade, Injections, Glazes and Sauces. All or most recipes of his famous dishes (ribs,cupcakes chicken, brisket, etc.)
Cooking temps and techniques (tools,types of wood, etc)
Super easy to follow recipes and real simple ingredients.
Great stories about Myron and his dad.
Good information about the BBQ competition circuit.

Who it's for:
Beginners/Intermediate/Pros

Beginners: You will learn some of basics and find easy to follow, awesome recipes.
Intermediates: My category. It will make you feel good. It will bring you back down to earth and remind you to not over-think the BBQ process.
Pros: Good info on the BBQ competitions. And of course, Myron's award winning recipes.

I'll update this review as I try out the different recipes.

Update May 21, 2011
Last week I tried the pork shoulder recipe. It called for an 18lb whole shoulder (picnic + boston butt I only had the butt (9lbs I followed the recipe to the letter, except I had to alter a bit because of the smaller cut of meat. I essentially did a 3-2-1 method at 275. I used all the ingredients from the recipe and in the end a perfect boston butt. It was moist and flavorful. Just perfect.
My setup: (not in the recipe WSM - 2 full chimney starter coals- apple and cherry chunks. water and apple juice in the water pan. google 3-2-1 method if you'd like more info (rib technique)

Update October 28th, 2011
A lot of smoking since the last time I updated this review. So, here's the update:
Cupcake Chicken - It was a huge hit. Truly delicious but way too much work. I don't believe I'll be making these again, BUT I will definitely being using the glaze and rub in future chicken dishes.

I've done a few more pork butts. I've learned that without the Myron's injection recipe, it's not as good. Still delicious, but not as good.

I don't use pans either, sorry Myron. I only us a pan or wrap the meat in aluminum foil during the "2" part of the 3-2-1 method. 3 hours on the grill, 2 in an aluminum pan with apple juice, then 1 hour back on the grill spritzing every 15min.. Myron usually calls for the meat to be in the pan from start to finish. I'll adjust the 3-2-1 timing depending on the cut and size of meat.

Side note: I've tried a ton of different rub recipes. His basic BBQ rub is by far the best I've ever used, especially on Ribs. The only adjustment I make is cutting the cayenne pepper amount in half (the wife doesn't like too much heat)

I'll be doing a beef brisket this weekend. First one! Will use Myron's recipe and will update soon after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not at the level I expected., June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue (Paperback)
I bought this based on several reviews that gave high praise to the recipes and story of Mr. Mixon. I was expecting a lot more from these recipes, even though the book clearly says "simple" right on the front of it.
I get that Mr. Mixon is the "winningest man blah blah blah" and that his ego is understandably large. But, I don't want to read about how incredibly awesome this guy thinks he is when he provides zero recipes that back that up. I don't want to read a sales book that repeatedly says "use my xxx rub or xyz sauce that's available on my website" and gives a horrible alternative if you don't use his rub/sauce.
I don't know where the folks who gave this book 4 stars and such high praise have found their other bbq recipes. But I don't want those books either if "Smokin" is such a massive improvement.
The 3 recipes I've tried have been poor examples of BBQ. I've been smoking meat for 14 years and am not a novice.
If you want a great cook book, with a excellent story as well, buy Chris Lilly's book Big Bob Gibson BBQ. If you want a ton of recipes, simple to extreme (to test yourself), get Paul Kirks Championship bbq. You will be way better off without adding any of your hard earned money to the bank account of the über Q master. He's going to keep on kickin ass anyway, so he'll be fine.

Update: Returned the book to Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, recipes, but don't be mistaken..., May 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue (Paperback)
Great book. Myron includes his competition recipes as well as what he enjoys cooking and eating at home. Myron clearly explains that although these are some of his competition recipes you're not going to read this book, follow his recipe for whole hog, and then go win the Memphis in May.

What he does provide is a good base to Barbecue cooking, from where you can gain experience and perfect your own winning flavor.

The price of the book alone is probably worth the recipes for his injections he is currently using for brisket,hog/pork and then his "Cup cake" chicken. He also has some unique Myron recipes that break away from the typical BBQ cookbooks these days including his baked beans with peach pie filling.

Myron is "The winningest son-of-s-bit@h" in competition BBQ. There is good reason for that, his recipes seem to build great BBQ flavor. Where Myron really shines is that he can reproduce those flavors and results time after time and this book gives good insight into how he does that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One way, but a good way, July 17, 2011
By 
This review is from: Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue (Paperback)
I have a number of barbecue cookbooks, but having eaten Mixon's 'cue, both from his competition pit (outstanding) and from his now-closed restaurant (mediocre; not even among the 10 best I've tried in Georgia), I grabbed his book at the first opportunity.

The best thing about the book is that it gives you one way -- only one way -- to do everything, and it is a method that will produce good results. You don't have to sort our a dozen different recipes and decide which one appeals to you.

If you've been smoking meat for a while, I'm pretty sure you'll find some of his methods a bit different, but obviously he knows what he's talking about. Whether his way is better than the way you've been doing is something you'll have to decide for yourself. And obviously you can adapt his techniques to your own rubs and sauces.

In any event, if you can just get past Myron's super-sized ego, you're sure to find a path to some good eatin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Reference Book, May 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue (Paperback)
I enjoy smoking and usually tear through any and all books I can get on the subject. This book falls in the middle of the pack, but if you are looking for some new and adventurous recipes and techniques, this is a good one to have on the shelf. I tried Myron's recipe for baby back ribs today and the preperation and process was very unique compared to the way I usually do ribs. Recipes tend to be a little vague and are written to feed an army. I also find some of his methods to include too many steps, but maybe that is what has made him great :) If you are looking for straight forward recipes and techniques that are clearly defined, check out Low and Slow: Master The Art of Barbecue in 5 Easy Lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully the other recipies are better, August 19, 2011
By 
J&G (Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue (Paperback)
Length:: 0:08 Mins

Note: I am basing this review on a single recipe in the book and based on Myron's expertice I can only assume that there was a misprint.

Tonight we made the "Whistler Burgers" with the Beef Rub for dinner. My wife followed the recipe to the letter when seasoning the meat but when we ate the burgers it was everything I imagine licking the inside of my water softener's brine tank would be like. The recipe for the Beef Rub makes 3/4 of a cup of rub but it calls for 1/2 cup of salt. That is two thirds salt! These burgers were so salty no one could eat them. Like I said earlier this must be a misprint. I would love to know what Myron really intended.

I'll update my review after trying a few more recipies.

8/24 Update
Tonight we tried the chicken breast with bacon and apples and the corn bread. Deeply disappointed. I am starting to think that Myron put his name on someone else's work. There is no way things could turn out this bad and come from the "most winnin som _____ in America." My grandpa is from Tennessee and I know corn bread. This was worse than store bought. How bad? Even bacon couldn't save it bad. Cooked according to the recipe the chicken was so dry that it had zero flavor. The apples and bacon were pretty good but it didn't do enough to help the chicken. Has anyone tasted Myron's competition food? It has to be good to win the way he does right? After what is the third recipe I am dropping my review to one star. Sorry Myron.

6/11/2012 Update
The comments I received on this review made me question if I read the recipe for the beef rub correctly. I got the book out again today and sure enough it says 1/2 cup of kosher salt. I'm including a video this time.

About us:
We are very experienced cooks even taking several culinary classes. Mexican, Italian, and BBQ make up pretty much our entire food pyramid. I get compliments on my food all the time and people ask me to show them how to grill chicken. I only tell you this so you know that we are not college kids trying to cook on a hot plate and wondering why everthing tastes the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wanted a cookbook not a Myron Mixon is awesome sales brochure, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue (Paperback)
I'm all for good stories, character, and backdrop but I didn't buy the book to have half it talking about how great Myron Mixon is. A whole sidebar talking about his trophy's or how much he's won? Why do I care? I didn't spend the money on the book so I could sit down, read, and have a Mixon love fest. I bought it to learn about smoking.

Also, a very basic rub recipe but then get the 'real' recipe by buying his stuff online. Very lame. I like to cook and what I was hoping for is some nice insight and recipes. There were some to be found but very very limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good recipes, some terrible ones., June 25, 2012
This review is from: Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue (Paperback)
I bought this book about a year ago when I first started learning the art of BBQ. I read the book from cover to cover and had to agree with some other Amazon reviews about the authors outright arrogance and shameless sales pitches throughout the book. I also agree with reviewers about salt and MSG content in some recipes. Some recipes call for outrageous amounts of salt. The first recipe I tried was the baby back ribs. I found the recipe to be overly complicated, over salted, and strange in many ways. The brine was an outlandish combination of ingredients, and if you didnt already have his products, you spent a significant amount of additional time preparing the brine, the rub, the spritz, and the sauce. After following the baby back recipe to the letter, I found that it was very underwhelming. They were tender, but not very tasty. The only other recipe I have made was the pulled pork. The recipe calls for an injection loaded with pounds (yes pounds) of sugar, cups of salt and MSG. Again, I followed the recipe nearly to the letter and I would say the results were good. The only step in the recipe I omitted, was the sauce application at the end of the cook. Honestly, I omitted the step because I didnt want to spend more time making another sauce. My only other complaint is that a lot of the recipes call for large (perhaps competition size) quantities of sauces, rubs, and injections. I did enjoy the carolina sauce recipe. After reading this book, and reading many other books, I can say that although this book has some good morsels of information, the recipes contained within need some refinement to cater to a more simple consumer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Cook Book called "Smokin'" w/Myron Mixon, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue (Paperback)
This book is less about BBQ'ing and mostly about how great the author is. When it comes to recipes, he shows you a few, then all he does is refer you back and forth to those same Rubs and Marinade's. I've bought 4 BBQ books so far, and the best of the best, is "Big Bob Gibson's BBQ Book". Don't waste you money on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even with no expectations, this cookbook is a disappoinment., March 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I admit not wanting to post a negative rating for this book because I have been enjoying the TV bbq competion (through Netflix) involing Myron Mixon and other BBQ experts. However, I am compelled to deter anyone who wishes to purchase this cookbook because there is simply no value in it. Evern though cost is never an issue for me when I purchse something like this, I think book is way too expensive when compared to other E-cookbooks and what the cookbook is comprised of is the most basic BBQ information I have seen yet. You would do better downloading something that is free or searching recipes and methods online than purchasing this one.

I hope you consider my advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Smokin' with Myron Mixon: Recipes Made Simple, from the Winningest Man in Barbecue
$22.00 $13.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.