Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smokin'
I really like this cookbook. If you are new to indoor smoking and using the stovetop smoker, it is a very useful guide that covers tips on using the smoker, pairing woodchips with a variety of foods, and plenty of tasty recipes. It also includes the author's personal experiences with using the smoker. This is a definite plus that shows up in the recipes and indicates...
Published on September 17, 2005 by Spyce

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Purchased Cameron smoker and used with personal recipes. Purchased this book in the hopes of expanding my repetoire. This cookbook is more about technique with limited recipes for using with the smoker. Too many recipes for side dishes - not enough new recipes or ideas for the smoker, itself.
Published on February 3, 2012 by Debra Nencheck


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smokin', September 17, 2005
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
I really like this cookbook. If you are new to indoor smoking and using the stovetop smoker, it is a very useful guide that covers tips on using the smoker, pairing woodchips with a variety of foods, and plenty of tasty recipes. It also includes the author's personal experiences with using the smoker. This is a definite plus that shows up in the recipes and indicates that the author is familiar with them and didn't just collect a bunch of untried recipes to fill up the book. One comment that caught my attention was the turkey wings, the author mentions that he doesn't smoke them to eat as a main dish because they can be tough. I used to bake turkey wings portions in the oven at a low temperature and they always turned out great. Now I smoke them first and then finish them in the oven. Now they are even better! I soak them in a brine overnight:

1 onion, quartered
4-5 cloves garlic
1 or 2 stalks of celery, quartered
1/4 cup kosher salt
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons black pepper
2 tablespoons dried herbs (optional), I usually use parsley
8 cups water

2 packs turkey wing portions, joint pieces, not the whole wings.

Place all of the ingredients, except the 8 cups of water and wings, in a blender. Add 1 cup of water. Process until smooth. Pour into a large bowl. Add remaining 7 cups of water. Stir to combine. Add wings. Let sit overnight. Pour off brine, rinse wings, pat dry with paper towel, and sprinkle skin with paprika. Rub it in. Prepare smoker as directed (I use about 2 tablespoons of oak or hickory). Place wings in smoker skin side up. Let wings smoke on top of stove for about 30 minutes. Place in a 325 degree oven and let them cook until tender about 45 minutes.

This is really a great book if you just got your smoker and don't know what to do with it or if you have had it awhile and are looking for new things to try like the Smoked Mozzarella served with roasted red peppers, fresh basil leaves, and a drizzle of olive oil. Yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Recipes!, December 24, 2007
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
This is a must-have recipe book for users of indoor smokers. I use an Emerilware 5 in 1 smoker, but the recipes that came with it were limited, and in some cases required some expensive, hard-to-find ingredients and a great deal of preparation and cooking. Not very useful for people who want to use their smoker more than once or twice a month and are limited in cooking expertise and cash flow. It seemed more of a way to push Emeril cooking products on the consumer, like spices and sauces. I'm not knocking the recipes-they are great-but there had to be some way to utilize this smoker more often.

In comes "Smokin'". This is a cookbook for anyone who wants to use their indoor smoker to the fullest. Nothing is left to guess. Everything is explained thoroughly, from how to cut up a leek to choosing and brining meats, and wood selection. Recipes for smoking vegetables and cheese are there as well.

The best part of this book is use of leftovers. Many recipes that turn smoked leftovers into tasty meals are included. I would recommend this book to anyone who has an indoor smoker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy & Tasty Year Around Cooking, September 20, 2006
By 
rodboomboom (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
This is style that is not that hard and due to stovetop adaptation, one can have the healthy benefits as well as unique smokin' flavor. This aid and recipe collection will aid that immensely.

Styler was on FoodNetwork showing this off, caught my eye and appetite. He has great recipe breath here: even scrambled eggs and soups and salads, to what one typically associates with smoking: ribs, sausage, chicken, fish, etc. Favorites thus far include: Smoked Salmon Pate; Phyllo Pastry Tartletts with Smoked Shrimp and Spinach Filling; Turkey-Mushroom Barley Soup; Tea-Smoked Duck with Asian Slaw; Tea-Smoked Shrimp and Asparagus Stir-Fry.

Only way to make this even more exceptional and useful would be "sources" listing and color photos. The latter would certainly heighten the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Book With a Cameron Smoker, January 19, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
Along with the Cameron Smoker I bought my husband for Christmas, I also purchased this book. Great ideas for smoking foods and some yummy recipes. It's easy to understand and the recipes we've tried have been delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheerful Guide to Smoking Food, January 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
Styler has an upbeat, cheerful & encouraging approach to smoking food that makes you want to put everything you have in the frige in your smoker. The basic recipes at the back are the best part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great guidelines for smoking projects even if you have the Nordic Ware (or other) smoker, March 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
As others have said, this book is written specifically for Cameron stovetop smokers, which I don't have. I have the Nordic Ware Oven Essentials Indoor and Outdoor Smoker, which works just differently enough that the recipes in this book are more like guidelines.

Examples:

1) The Nordic Ware smoker has a large domed lid, so you can smoke a whole chicken without going through the process Styler describes to smoke a large item.

2) There's a thermometer that's part of the Nordic Ware smoker so you know exactly what temp it is in the smoker at all times, but because the Cameron smoker doesn't have that, Styler doesn't provide exact cooking temps.

3) The food tray in the Nordic Ware doesn't have grill slats but has holes (and is nonstick), so you can smoke small items without going through the process Styler describes to smoke extra small items.

However, I don't regret getting this book at all, because I can work off the general guidelines as well as get great ideas about what else I can smoke in the smoker that probably wouldn't have occurred to me on my own. I love the idea of Chinese tea-smoked duck, which I never imagined I could make myself. I can't wait to make the "World's Best Garlic Bread" using smoked garlic cloves. Or to use "combo cooking" to use smoked foods as part of a larger dish. Surprisingly, however (at least to me), there isn't a recipe for homemade smoked bacon.

I would, of course, love to be able to use the book more exactly with my particular smoker, but this is the only stovetop smoker cookbook that I've been able to find at the time of this writing, and I'm sure glad it exists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, March 31, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
I have a stovetop smoker and wanted a book that could help me with more recipes than just the few I received with the smoker. This book is a great resource and I have enjoyed using it. My very favorite things to cook in the smoker right now are potatoes. EXCELLENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Teaching Book for Stovetop Smokers, March 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
This was my first food smoking book. As a novice at the procedure, I found it very helpful in teaching me how and for how long to smoke various foods. There are recipes and ideas for everything from beef, pork, chicken, turkey, lamb, ribs, to fruits and vegetables. He explains the various smokers and woods for different foods. There is even information on how to smoke something that is too tall for your smoker, such as a whole chicken. Just FYI: I have a round, fairly deep stainless steel stovetop smoker. It holds an entire chicken, cut up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, February 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
Purchased Cameron smoker and used with personal recipes. Purchased this book in the hopes of expanding my repetoire. This cookbook is more about technique with limited recipes for using with the smoker. Too many recipes for side dishes - not enough new recipes or ideas for the smoker, itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smokin: Recipes for smoking ribs, salmon, chicken, mozzerella, and more with your stovetop smoker, February 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker (Paperback)
Good book. Recipes are straightforward and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Smokin': Recipes for Smoking Ribs, Salmon, Chicken, Mozzarella, and More with Your Stovetop Smoker
$17.99 $12.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.