Robin non-member

Buy New

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$7.48 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by bull_moose.

More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Smorgasbord: Cello Works [Import]

Lidstrom , Forsberg Audio CD
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Price: $23.33 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, July 15? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 9, 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B00005NUPF
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #733,034 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Much Ado About Nothing, suite from the incidental music for violin & piano, Op. 11: Mummenschantz (Hornpipe)
2. Romance-Impromptu (written for the film 'Deception'), for cello & piano
3. The Sussex Mummers' Christmas Carol, folk song for cello (or violin) & piano (BFMS 17)
4. Pieces (5) for violin & piano, Op. 81
5. Pieces (6) for violin & piano, Op. 79
6. Impressions (12) for violin & piano: No. 8, Larghetto Lamentoso
7. Valse, for cello & piano, Op. 35
8. Habanera, for cello & piano, Op. 86
9. Canciones negras (5) for voice & piano (or orchestra): Canto Negro
10. Habanera for piano
11. Prelude for cello & piano
12. Liebesleid (Love's Sorrow), for violin & piano
13. Romance for horn & piano
14. Pishnetto (Recital Etude No. 5), for cello & piano
15. Andante for cello & piano
16. Albumblatt for cello & piano
17. Andantino, for cello & piano, Op. 21/2a
18. The Sea of Flowers is Rising Higher, elegy for solo cello
19. Sonata for violin & keyboard in E minor ('Le Tombeau de Rameau'): No. 4, Courante
20. Papillon, for cello & piano, Op. 77
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Editorial Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A varied collection December 15, 2008
Lighter fare indeed, but take them all in one go and it won't sit well with you. Lidström and Forsberg play them all with the zest and elegance that behoove them - though with a certain lack of subtlety. Yet I am not entirely convinced; how much better, for instance, doesn't Fauré's Papillon sit as an interlude in a program of Fauré cello sonatas?

There are some unknown gems in here (the Hägg or Stenhammar), juxtaposited with more familiar works (said Fauré, for instance - which is in fact one of the pieces that works least well i.e. where the lack of subtlety makes it a little four-square), but the transcriptions are consistently less appealing. Sound is a little dry, but perfectly fine. So, while this is a varied programme and a generally well-played one, I'll give it a cautious recommendation
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category