Customer Reviews


736 Reviews
5 star:
 (435)
4 star:
 (205)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not typically my cup of tea, but...
I have to say, I love CJ Lyons medical dramas. Being a pretty diehard romance fan, I haven't branched out into her other thriller books before. Snake Skin has definitely changed my mind. I tore my way through this book in one day (while my schoolwork and house went sadly neglected) and loved every minute of it. The characters are believable and relatable and the...
Published on April 7, 2011 by K. Sommerkamp

versus
90 of 102 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to potential
I had high hopes for this book. The premise is quite interesting: a mother-bear-type lady FBI agent who hunts down pedophiles. It started out with a quick and readable pace, and kept me reading -- at first.

But then, the errors and problems started to add up. A few minor inaccuracies in a novel can be easily overlooked, but these were glaring: for instance, a...
Published on July 29, 2011 by Sesame


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not typically my cup of tea, but..., April 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snake Skin (Lucy Guardino FBI Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have to say, I love CJ Lyons medical dramas. Being a pretty diehard romance fan, I haven't branched out into her other thriller books before. Snake Skin has definitely changed my mind. I tore my way through this book in one day (while my schoolwork and house went sadly neglected) and loved every minute of it. The characters are believable and relatable and the plotline just keeps moving like a freight train. The ending left a little to be desired, but I'm assuming this is the first of a series, which justifies everything not being tied up with a pretty bow. Can't wait to read more from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


145 of 158 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner!!!, February 21, 2011
This review is from: Snake Skin (Lucy Guardino FBI Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book that I have read by CJ Lyons. And it will not be my last. This book held my attention from beginning to end. Literally. I read the book in one sitting. This book is not you typical book where you figure out who did it shortly after starting the book,it has a lot of twists & turns that keep you in the story. The lead Lucy Guardino struggles to balance her job as an FBI agent with the role of mother and wife. This is an action packed thriller that will leave you wanting more. Can't wait to get my hands on another CJ Lyons book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A HEART THUMPING THRILLER!SNAKE SKIN BY C.J. LYONS, February 11, 2011
This review is from: Snake Skin (Paperback)
SNAKE SKIN by C.J.Lyons is a heart thumping thriller set in present day Pittsburgh.It is written with depth,details,twists and turns.It has snakes,child predators,FBI agents,crimes against children,sacrifices,adventure to save the children,suspense,and a heart pumping action.It is action packed and fast paced from the first page to the last.Special Agent Guardino,is an FBI sexual assault felony enforcement squad agent,a wife,a soccer Mom,juggles family and work,she is a friend and loathes child predators.
She will have to choose her daughter and the life of the young child she is trying to save...
what a life scattering decision one no mother or special officer should have to make.This is a seat on the edge of your seat action thriller that will leave you looking under your bed,in your closets and questioning things around your children.If you enjoy fast paced,with kick butt characters this is a Do not miss read.I would highly recommend this story.This book was received for the purpose of review from the author and details can be found at Create Space and My Book Addiction and More.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 102 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to potential, July 29, 2011
This review is from: Snake Skin (Paperback)
I had high hopes for this book. The premise is quite interesting: a mother-bear-type lady FBI agent who hunts down pedophiles. It started out with a quick and readable pace, and kept me reading -- at first.

But then, the errors and problems started to add up. A few minor inaccuracies in a novel can be easily overlooked, but these were glaring: for instance, a reptile expert refers to "poisonous" snakes. (They're "venomous," actually.) I noticed numerous other mistakes like this that some basic research would have prevented--not trying to nit-pick, but it was so bad that it took me out of the story, and that matters.

Another big problem was the main character, Lucy. It seemed like every other paragraph hit the reader over the head with how Lucy was thinking about her daughter being vulnerable to the big bad world full of sick freaks who want to hurt her. Most of the character development and relationships committed the cardinal writing sin of telling, not showing.

Not only that, but Lucy acted ridiculous and unprofessional every time the Internet was mentioned. For example, we're told that she doesn't use email because she associates it with the child pornography she deals with. (quote: "In her line of work the miracles of modern communication represented danger more than convenience.") Come ON. An FBI agent barely uses email?? That's completely unrealistic, and would not fly in the day-to-day business of a federal law enforcement agency. The greater part of her job is online stuff, and yet she can't seem to distinguish between the sordid corners of the cyberworld and perfectly mainstream social networking or online dating sites. Again it seemed like literally every paragraph was reminding us how pedophiles are lurking around every tree, corner, bus stop, and café. A little bit of subtlety would have gone a long way in raising the dramatic tension. Instead I was just rolling my eyes.

In the end, "Snake Skin" was like a woman dressed to the nines at a backyard barbeque: it's trying too hard. There's some good material here, but it needed a lot of further editing and this read like an early draft. I wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado About Nothing, May 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snake Skin (Lucy Guardino FBI Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Sorry folk. I cannot believe the reviews that this book has generated. I read this book, that is, as much as I could stand, and found it lacking in every single characteristic that one needs in a readable book.
1. Silly, silly plot.
2. Poorly researched. In the opening scene 2 characters are fighting in a body of water. There are snakes all around and the book claims the snakes are all fighting with one another. Anyone who has handled snakes with any level of competence knows they rarely acknowledge one another, let alone "fight" with one another.
3. Ragged descriptions of place and time, so the reader never quite knows where he/she is.
4. Too much "telling what happened" instead of letting the characters and the action depict the story. This is laziness on the writer's part.
5. Undeveloped, uncomplicated characters. Single dimension characters, mainly.
7. Participles galore. Split infinitives. Poor and colloquial language usage, even when the characters are not speaking or thinking. Does no one care about these things?
6. A waste of time.

Do not say you have not been warned, if you are seduced by the 99 cent price. Instead, my recommendation is to go read "The Abbey" it's inexpensive and very good. Same genre.

Limit your suffering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Burned again, April 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snake Skin (Lucy Guardino FBI Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I just realized Amazon requires a reviewer write at least 20 words about a book. I have three words for this book...Implausible to ridiculous. Lucy is a psycho. Going back to work after having a six inch piece of steel removed from her back, really??? I pride myself on finishing everything that I start reading but this book was a chore. Not worth the .99 cents I paid for it. I am floored that it got such good reviews. That's what sucked me in--won't be reading any more of this series. Bad Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good thriller, September 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snake Skin (Lucy Guardino FBI Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I think if there were not so many confusing errors, I might have rated this book better. The worst one was calling noreen , darlene. I looked back to find this character and found she was misnamed later in the book. It took me a while to figure out and by then the book was becoming less of a fun read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snake Skin, February 11, 2011
This review is from: Snake Skin (Paperback)
Snake Skin kept my interest the whole time. Lots of twists and turns I didn't see coming. This book made me want to read it all in one sitting. I just couldn't put it down. Just when I thought I had it figured out, BOOM! , another twist. Keep up the excitement CJ Lyons and thanks for writing such an intriguing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fizzled out., May 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snake Skin (Lucy Guardino FBI Thrillers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I didn't like this book. There was too much about Lucy Gardino's family life, for one thing. I don't care about her great relationship with her husband or about her disrepectful daughter. Those added nothing to the story. Eventually I just skipped over those parts. What got me to stop reading the book was how, with no reasoning behind it, she knew who the villain was. Then she called him up, and he admitted everything over the phone! Who would do that? And all in the same day, he then planted a surveillance camera on his apartment building and placed a bomb in the apartment for when the police showed up. Come on, now! This is just ridiculous. I think I only paid 99 cents for this book, and it was 99 cents wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Author For My List!, April 15, 2011
By 
Elizabeth G Stanley (Clintwood, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snake Skin (Paperback)
This is my first CJ Lyons book, and I enjoyed it from beginning to end! It grabbed my interest from the moment Ashley disappeared. Lucy is a great character. I can't wait to read Ms. Lyons' medical thrillers. I'm sure I will love them just as much. I enjoy discovering new authors and she will definitely go on my list of favorites. Read it; you won't be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.