Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brown & Mortimer-- winning combination
Margaret Wise Brown, best known for her classic "Goodnight Moon" book, was a prolific author. Her books have been reprinted often of late, usually with a new illustrator more suited to modern tastes and the better printing techniques. In this case cat artist extraordinaire, Anne Mortimer, has been selected and the results are simply stunning.
The story itself is...
Published on August 22, 2003 by beanbug

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great illustrations, but okay story.
While this book has beautiful colorful illustrations for any cat lover, such as my daughter and I, the story is okay. We were a little disappointed by the ending. It felt like there should be a little more to it.

However, the artwok is wonderful and fun for any child to look at.
Published on September 21, 2007 by Casey K. Conrad


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brown & Mortimer-- winning combination, August 22, 2003
By 
beanbug (Bristol, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Margaret Wise Brown, best known for her classic "Goodnight Moon" book, was a prolific author. Her books have been reprinted often of late, usually with a new illustrator more suited to modern tastes and the better printing techniques. In this case cat artist extraordinaire, Anne Mortimer, has been selected and the results are simply stunning.
The story itself is fairly simple: Sneakers, a plump and handsome black and white cat, accompanies his human family to the seaside for the first time. He explores the seashore flora and fauna; the repeating line is "My, I am glad I saw that." Brown's writing never condescended to children, who may enjoy the childlike adventures of Sneakers (although adult cat owners may not like the fact that Sneakers is allowed to roam about by himself; the current trend seems toward all indoor cats.)
As for the illustrations, they are just stunning. I do like Ms. Mortimer's work as a rule but this time she has outdone herself. The posture and expressions she has captured are among the best I have seen: incredibly naturalistic. On the basis of illustration alone I would recommend this book, but it would work very well for a pre-school beach/seashore/summer book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing illustrations, February 12, 2004
While it is nice to have another book by the classic author, Margaret Wise Brown, Sneakers, the Seaside Cat is best bought for its illustrations. Anne Mortimer's skill in depicting cats, beach and ocean life and beach scenes is without comparison in any recent children's picture books. In fact, her illustrations alone, without text, would have made this a five-star picture book for youngsters and a GREAT board book. Her illustrations have been paired with Brown's story which is not to exciting but is easy to read and has a good range of words for beginning readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift for any child....., December 7, 2006
This review is from: Sneakers, the Seaside Cat (Paperback)
I was shopping extensively for an outstanding children's book one Christmas and was lucky enough to stumble upon this gem. As other reviewers have pointed out the illustrations are stunning and the book as a whole teaches an appreciation for nature and the wonders that can be found near the sea.

The story is good, but the illustrations bring the characters and scenery to life. The cat, Sneakers, is particularly charming and a big hit with children. Over a year after I gave this as a present, it is still this particular child's favorite book and as an adult I appreciated it.

There is some special intangible that comes alive through the combination of the author's narrative and illustrators ability. This is a book that you can't go wrong with and that you can appreciate as an adult.

Your child will also learn a lot about the sea and beach and be able to identify with the curiosity of the main character. This is a nice launching point for the imagination and good two-way conversations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superbly illustrated gift for seaside cat lovers, September 25, 2007
This review is from: Sneakers, the Seaside Cat (Paperback)
I was somewhat disappointed with this story which is quite slow and dull. Any cat on its first trip to the seaside would surely find a lot of smells, sights and sounds to excite and overwhelm it, but Sneakers seems to quickly move on from everything he sees and is either bored or a little scared of it. Despite this, he dreams about the seaside on the journey home. What makes the book special is Ann Mortimer's exquisite illustrations. She really makes Sneakers come alive and the depictions of the sea, the shell creatures met, the seagull and the beach have a perfect sense of colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great illustrations, but okay story., September 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While this book has beautiful colorful illustrations for any cat lover, such as my daughter and I, the story is okay. We were a little disappointed by the ending. It felt like there should be a little more to it.

However, the artwok is wonderful and fun for any child to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Seaside Story for Little Ones, January 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers, the Seaside Cat (Paperback)
A sweet and simple story with beautiful pictures. Perfect for a small child who has a cat (or would like one...) or who visits the beach (or would like to...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved the illustrations!, July 11, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers, the Seaside Cat (Paperback)
Written by the author of Goodnight Moon, the story is about a fat little tuxedo cat who goes to the seashore one day with his family -- a place he has never been. While he is there he encounters many new things to him: ocean, sand shrimp, seagulls, crabs, seashells and more. The next day as his family returns home, he has pleasant thoughts about his trip to the seashore.

This one left me a tad disappointed. The illustrations were FABULOUS, but the story felt lacking. I also laughed to myself as I've never known a cat who has enjoyed a ride in the car.

Story - 3/5 stars - Illustrations 5/5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sneakers, the Seaside Cat, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers, the Seaside Cat (Paperback)
This arrived immediately and was in excellent condition. I bought it for my grandson because we all love cats and love the sea. It is a very colorful book with a charming story that teaches children about the sea and how curious a cat (or child) can be. He loves it and wants us to read it to him over and over again. He even wants us to read it to his cat too. The price was very reasonable and was money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful tale at the beach!, August 5, 2011
This review is from: Sneakers, the Seaside Cat (Paperback)
Sneakers, the Seaside Cat has become a cherished book for my granddaughter. Who would have realized all of the wonderful stimuli that a cat could find at the beach. This story is brought to life so well through the actual tale and the wonderful illustrations. This is a book that will be read over and over for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandsom loves cats., February 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers, the Seaside Cat (Paperback)
My grandson loves cats and this book helped him think of stories and helping. One day he hopes to have a real cat to join his stuffed animal cat, Shadow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sneakers, the Seaside Cat
Sneakers, the Seaside Cat by Margaret Wise Brown (Paperback - April 26, 2005)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.