Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean, refreshing visual piece... it is obvious the authors did their sneaker research, August 26, 2005
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
I own several sneaker books including SOLE PROVIDER and Bobbito Garcia's WHERE'D YOU GET THOSE (both of which I recommend) and I found this book to be a refreshing alternative. Written by the guys behind CROOKED TONGUES (which is a fantastic site by the way), this book is meant for the sneaker collector who appreciates the aesthetic qualities of a shoe, rather than for someone who only buys into the hype and player endorsement. For practically every sneaker that is showcased, at least one clear photo, brief history, and random fact dedicated to each shoe. I also appreciated the effort by the authors to distinguish original editions from reissues. In addition, the sneaker "dictionary" and collecting/cleaning tips sections are great as well.

One word of caution is that I would not recommend the book for those who are only into Air Jordans, or Dunks, or swear by only one sneaker brand. The book contains information for a variety of different models and brands, some which are more obscure. For example, I found myself skipping over some Vans, Reebok, and Diadora models. The authors also have more of preference for vintage running shoes as well. But if you have an open mind and an eclectic taste in sneakers, I recommend owning this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thorough and well presented history., July 3, 2007
By 
Sam (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
This book is great to look at even if you're not into sneakers. Beautifully presented design and layout, and great history details. A good oversight of all the significant brands and their best creations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fairly Comprehensive Look at Sneakers, August 11, 2007
By 
Philip Higa (Mililani, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
A great look at most of the shoes in each of the major companies respective ranges. While the descriptions and info on the shoes are pretty scant, the pictures more than make up for that. The best part of running through this book is getting hit with the nostalgia that comes with seeing so many products from the not-so-distant past. A nice modern coffee table (or ottoman, I suppose) book. Air Max 1s are the best shoes ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, January 7, 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
Bought this for my boyfriend (who is a sneakerhead) and he loves it. High quality print, bright pages, covers many of the classic brands and at an excellent price - best price I've seen for this book and I've looked for it elsewhere. Definetly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Christmas Gift!, January 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
My boyfriend is a breakdancer and owns about 150 pairs of sneakers. I got this book as a Christmas gift for him and he just absolutely loved it. Great illustrations and images. The book is well put together and pretty detailed. However one thing that they didn't really mention was that the cover is a slightly padded material. Just makes the book a more interesting item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars asset to hiphip culture, February 16, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
this book is awesome is very informative, and if you know anything about the hip hop era then this book should be added to a persons collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Foot fetish must have!!!!, November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
Perfect - exactly what I was looking for, for a 17 year old Grand Son, who is "addicted" to this style of Footwear. Cannot believe how much he knows about the history of these shoes. Great photography, covering so many favorite brands. Can't wait for him to open at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sneaker head bible, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
pics pics pics pics pics and more pics. great for sneaker heads of any level, more shneakers than you can throw a cat at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great quality book, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
This is a great quality book for any sneaker fan. The special format, the thick pages and the great pictures make this a book a real collectible. I doesn't include any sneaker ever made but it does contain some infos about all the shoes that are featured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, but NOT complete., October 24, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide (Hardcover)
This is a great compilation of the shoes that make up the ever expanding sneaker culture. But it is by no means the COMPLETE guide. Lots of great shoes that didn't make it into the book and some that should have been left out. All in all, it should definitley be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide
Sneakers: The Complete Collectors' Guide by Unorthodox Styles (Hardcover - May 17, 2005)
$29.95 $22.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.