Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As close as it could be
Being someone that has participated in sniper operations in both Afghanistan and Iraq I can say that this is the first, and only, authentic sniper book that has been published during the current conflict. Being a avid reader, I will pick up anything that has to do with the military. Unfortunately I have found very few realistic, authentic accounts of current combat...
Published on October 8, 2010 by Diggie

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sniper: American Single-Shot Warriors in Iraq and Afghanistan
This book is a watered down version of Trigger Men by Hans Halberstadt. The chapter titled "in Their Own Words" actually has some of the same stories. It is fairly interesting but it has no technical detail or educational value. Their are a lot of similar books out there. Choose wisely my friends.
Rich
Published on December 2, 2011 by Richard J. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As close as it could be, October 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being someone that has participated in sniper operations in both Afghanistan and Iraq I can say that this is the first, and only, authentic sniper book that has been published during the current conflict. Being a avid reader, I will pick up anything that has to do with the military. Unfortunately I have found very few realistic, authentic accounts of current combat operations. Sniper goes to great lengths to cover all aspects of sniping in the Global War on Terrorism. I like the fact that short stories were used, the reader gets to see the differences between conducting sniper operations within a city and out in the rural areas, as well as how different units and branches of the military operate. The folks interviewed were superb professionals, I know this because I get to work with them. Great book Gina and Matt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked the book, January 21, 2011
By 
Ivan Sisnev (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Unlike other books on sniper's role in combat, it seems to me that this one cast light on the subject from a more emotional point of view. No, no "sob stuff" in it but stories of different encounters and decisions soldiers had to make are accompanied not only by dry facts but also by describing the way they thought and felt about it, in hindsight as well. Two most moving and personal stories in the narrative embrace the book as a whole - one starting the book and the other one ending it. These two will stand out in one's mind and remind the reader of the "Sniper:..." and of the war on terrorism that can harldy be won.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the Cross-Hairs: American Snipers!, July 10, 2011
Gina Cavallaro and Matt Larsen explore combat experiences of American snipers who practiced their art in Iraq and Afghanistan in this fascinating 2010 Lyons Press release. A number of book on snipers and sniping in general and the sniper experience in Iraq/Afghanistan have appeared in the past few years. SNIPER, AMERICAN SINGLE-SHOT WARRIORS IN IRAQ AND AFGHANISTAN is one of the most recent - and better - volumes to be published.

SNIPER relates the experiences of various Army, Marine and Special Forces snipers between 2001 and 2008. Some ended in kills, some ended in shots not taken, some ended with American soldiers killed or wounded. Cavallaro and Larsen's book does a good job of underscoring the fact that snipers don't always engage in dramatic ENEMY AT THE GATES sniper shootouts but that the role of the sniper has evolved over the years. As documented in SNIPER, those soldiers often serve more as intelligence-gathering and force-multiplying assets.

The stories related in SNIPER, many of which are told in the words of the men themselves, are informative, poignant and affecting. The book provides an insider's view of the training and exploits of some of America's finest fighting men. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner!, November 26, 2011
An incredibly gripping book about the true life stories of Snipers on the battlefields of both Afghanistan and Iraq. From the preface to the end of the book Ms. Cavallaro is able to take the stories of these Warriors and pull you back into their world on the battlefields of both Afghanistan and Iraq. After serving three deployments overseas, the stories were told in such detail that I was brought back to the battlefield and could feel the elation of mission accomplishment to the gut wrenching feeling when things were going terribly wrong. I could once again smell the "smell of Iraq". Which is a smell that no one that has ever deployed will ever forget. For people that have never served in the Army or the Marine Corps it is a real eye opener and a step away from what is generally portrayed in movies. To the person that has deployed in support of the Global War on Terror, it is an window that allows people to see the stresses of all your brothers that punch outside of the wire on a daily basis. This book does the Sniper Community real justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sniper: American Single-Shot Warriors in Iraq and Afghanistan, December 2, 2011
This book is a watered down version of Trigger Men by Hans Halberstadt. The chapter titled "in Their Own Words" actually has some of the same stories. It is fairly interesting but it has no technical detail or educational value. Their are a lot of similar books out there. Choose wisely my friends.
Rich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, January 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sniper: American Single-Shot Warriors in Iraq and Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely awesome, gives you interviews from different snipers. It keeps you on your toe's. You really get a good perspective from what our sharp shooters are doing in this war.

I recommend this book to anyone.

well worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opened the cover and couldn't set it down until I was done!, December 29, 2011
Incredible reading! It was as if I was displaced to the battlefield from my living room. The story was not dumbed down or sugar coated at all. I appreciated the accurate accounting and made modest use of the included glossary for those of us who are not military or may not be familiar with the operator acronyms. An eye opening peephole into the missions that our men and women on the front lines of the War on Terror are tasked with -- and carry out daily -- mostly without recognition from those of us back home. You will definitely come away from this book with a renewed appreciation for what it takes to be the tip of the spear -- and a humbling appreciation for the men who volunteer their livelihood and very lives to secure our freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sniper: American Single-Shot Warriors, November 21, 2011
By 
John Renken (Clarksville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This is a great book and a great collection of events that have taken place. I know Matt, Gina and some of the Snipers in this book personally and it really does them justice!! Way to go Matt and Gina!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good read, June 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sniper: American Single-Shot Warriors in Iraq and Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
Is this the best book you'll ever read - no. Does this book have heart? Yes. I would recommend this to my friends who have served and are interested in this type of thing. If you haven't served, then you probably can't relate. Yes, there are areas that this feels a little choppy, but that didn't bother me.
The title bothers me more than anything as the author says more than once in the book that snipers are not 'Single-Shot Warriors', and their role is much more about laying in uncomfortable, dangerous places just to provide real time intel or small unit support for the mission.
Early in the book, the author is standing beside someone who is killed by an enemy sniper. The rest of the book is dedicated to this fallen warrior. That speaks volumes to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intersesting Format, August 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was an informative book with some great short stories. The format made it enjoyable as it was broken up into many differnt stories from differnt units and theaters. I recomended it to several people and I wouldnt hesitate to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.