Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Goo-goo Dolls Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars19
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$23.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon February 2, 2012
I have reviewed and read a lot of books on sniper history and snipercraft from the Pre-Great War to present operation in the 21st century. With this book "The Sniper Anthology" is by far the best book I have read in long time on sniping in World War II. Just when I thought I have read everything about the subject of sniping, I get a book that surprises me.

This book is composed of various essays with each chapter by different authors, who are sniping subject matter experts. You will recognize some of the names in the contents I provided below. This book discusses sniping tactics, techniques, training, personalities and operations during WWII.

CONTENTS:

- The Contributors
- List of Plates
- Introduction by John Plaster
Chapter 1: Simo Hayha: The White Death by Roger Moorhouse
Chapter 2: Lyudmila Pavlichenko: Most Dangerous Woman on Earth by Charles Sasser
Chapter 3: Bert Kemp: A Reluctant Warrior with a Deadly Gift by Tom McKenney
Chapter 4: Operation Foxley: British Sniping and the Hunt for Hitler by Tim Newark
Chapter 5: Japanese Sniper: A Long Walk to a Short Life by John Tonkin
Chapter 6: Vassili Zaitsev: The Sailor of Stalingrad by Martin Pegler
Chapter 7: Clifford Shore: British Sniper, Trainer, Theorist and Historian by Leroy Thompson
Chapter 8: Sepp Allerberger: Wehrmacht Scharfschutzen by Adrian Gilbert
Chapter 9: Patrick Devlin: Fighting Irishman by Dan Mills
Chapter 10: Harry M. Furness: Fieldcraft Expert by Mark Spicer

Overall the content of this book was excellent and diverse with an extensive central photo section with many I have never seen before; again this was another welcome surprise. All of the chapters go into extensive details and are much more then cursory in nature. If I had to pick my two favorite chapters it would the ones on the Japanese snipers and fieldcraft. However every chapter was outstanding.

Finally as a military sniper myself and understanding the nature of this work, I would highly recommend this book to the student of modern warfare, precision shooters and military historians.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
Great book so far, each chapter is by a different author and each chapter covers a different person and story. All of them are real life drama’s from the worlds greatest conflict. Some stories are known, some are not. Great reading for World War II enthusiasts or anyone interested in the true life stories of true riflemen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
This is a fairly short book, so I was not expecting in-depth information. I was hoping to get some insight on national differences in sniper tactics and equipment. However, this book is mainly a collection of short biographies of various sniper. Some are interesting, but most are just fairly general overviews with little actual insight. Overall not a terrible book, but certainly not worth the hardcover price.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
I was looking for an insight into the 'sniper life'. This is just a bunch of stories you can read to your children. But it would probably bore them when they are black ops gamers..
If you want to read about marksmanship, this is not your book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
This book was a bit more like a text book that I expected. Having said that it was a darn good text book. I think it is more suited to true followers of the sniper craft and historians than those who just want a war story. I would recommend it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
THE SNIPER ANTHOLOGY: SNIPERS OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR
TOM C. MCKENNEY
PELICAN PUBLISHING COMPANNY, 2013
HARDCOVER, $29.95, PHOTOGRAPHS, ILLUSTRATIONS, 248 PAGES, NOTES

Prior to World War I, a sniper was known as a sharpshooter-a proven expert shot with a rifle. The word "sniper" came from the game bird known as the snipe, a very small bird that is difficult to see as it blends well into the landscape. Saying that a marksman could hit a snipe at 200 yards with a rifle was the last word in praise, so men whose accurate shooting was exceptional became known as snipers.

Sniping was a deadly game played by both sides every day in all theaters of operations and it took a constant and deadly toll-to be hit by a sniper's bullet was invariably fatal. Normally the slightest exposure during daylight was taking a huge risk and thus one hit by a sniper's bullet usually received a head wound through being careless.

THE SNIPER ANTHOLOGY: SNIPERS OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR contains detailed and well-written biographical accounts of the ten top marksmen of World War II. This book covers the following snipers:

*Simo Hayha
*Lyudmilla Pavlichenko
*Bert Kemp
*Operation FOXLEY and the British attempt to kill Hitler
*Japanese sniper
*Vassili Zaitsev
*Clifford Shore
*Sepp Allerberger
*Patrick Devlin
*Harry M. Furness

Each of these remarkable stories are written by military men who are well aware of what skills it takes to become a sniper. Each sniper reveals details to the respective writer for the first time. While not seeking out any publicity; they just wanted to fade into the background after the war. After reading this book, you will walk away with a better understanding and respect for these pioneers of military sniping.

Colonel Robert A. Lynn, Florida Guard
Orlando, Florida
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2014
the fact that the book has chapters, across and from, all the various fighting forces involved in the 2nd WW made it very interesting. It is easy to make comparisons between training, utilization and basic doctrine by the different armies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
This book gives a snapshot of a number of different snipers, from various countries, that fought during the second world war. Not a lot detail is given on each sniper, but there is enough determine if your interest is peaked enough to study that person in more detail. Where this book is good is in the fact that the author references his information which allows you identify the source and then obtain that book for more detained study.

A good book to start with when studying the art and experiences of World War 2 snipers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
Interesting reading, alot of unknown history that most people have never heard about.
Mr. Pegler has not discriminated in that he has written about both sides of the war, very good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
Fantastic is a soft word to use to describe this book. It is extremely well informed and shows many lessons that have had to be relearned repeatedly throughout the history of sniping.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse