Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sniper fun, but not perfect!
I truly enjoyed this game and every aspect about it. The only drawback is that it is quite linear. Everything else though is a blast. The graphics, sound, and gameplay are all solid. I haven't experienced any bugs. Singleplayer is easy on lower levels, but can be quite challenging on higher difficulties. With great bullet physics and somewhat challenging AL. The best part...
Published on July 13, 2012 by Paycheck

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many broken mechanics, terrible AI, and boring levels
The Good: Satisfying kill shots, good graphics, gory X-Ray kills are fantastic

The Bad: Dumb AI, poor stealth mechanics, drab level design, frustrating shootouts, boring everything else

Sniper Elite: V2 doesn't stand for version 2 as some people may think. This is about trying to stop the Germans from using V2 rockets in World War II. After seeing...
Published on September 13, 2012 by Richard Baker


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sniper fun, but not perfect!, July 13, 2012
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I truly enjoyed this game and every aspect about it. The only drawback is that it is quite linear. Everything else though is a blast. The graphics, sound, and gameplay are all solid. I haven't experienced any bugs. Singleplayer is easy on lower levels, but can be quite challenging on higher difficulties. With great bullet physics and somewhat challenging AL. The best part though is the multiplayer. You have dedicated servers as well as the option to create your own. Many different options to set up a game.

Be warned though, if you want fast action such as CoD or BF3 you will be disappointed. It's a sniper game so there is alot of camping and waiting for that perfect shot, but to me that adds to the stress level of not being seen yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, July 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
A little about me:
1) I greatly prefer third-person shooters to FPS.
2) I love to snipe regardless of the game (Splinter Cell, Mass Effect, etc.).
3) I'd rather have more gameplay than insanely good graphics (but having both is a plus).

Now that you know a little about me, you will perhaps understand when I say that I really like this game. I was surprised by how much I liked it. To me it was very reminiscent of Splinter Cell Conviction with slightly down-graded graphics and body mechanics. However, this game offers more gameplay than Conviction (by at least a third).

Here are some pluses:
1) The bullet ballistics are great and it can often be fun to try and snipe people using just the scope marks to gauge your aim.
2) There is a great mix of close combat and distance sniping. I thought the game would be a lot more about laying far away from your target and making calculated shots, but you really have to traverse a lot of ground, choosing different weapons to suit your needs.
3) The game offers a great mix of weapons and just enough ammo so that you don't go crazy with the trigger, but you don't run out either.
4) Side items like grenades and trip mines add a nice element to he game. They aren't incredibly useful, but they are still fun to play with and once or twice in the game are almost critical.

If I had complaints about the game they would be this:
1) It's a shame you can't interact with your environment more. It's great that you can shoot at bottles placed throughout the game, but you should be able to shoot out lights, windows, and other breakable objects that appear in the game.
2) Speaking of the inability to shoot out lights, shadows mean nothing in this game and that is unfortunate. An AI can see you just as well in darkness as they can in 100% daylight. Considering all of the available stealth aspects of the game, they should have done better with this. Conviction got this right...SE V2 did not.
3) Speaking of the AI's abilities, it seems ridiculous that AIs with an SMG can fairly easily hit me at 200 meters when I have to hold my breath to hit them with a sniper rifle. In other words, weapon abilities are not differentiated enough in the game. Don't get me wrong...AI snipers are much more accurate than AIs with SMGs, and I'm fine with the accuracy of the snipers, but SMGs should only have a chance of hitting you much closer.
4) Finally, the AIs in this game have eyes like eagles. Even if you're in the dark and hundreds of meters away, they will still see you eventually. This is really unfortunate programming.

Despite those complaints, this game was well worth the cost and a pleasant surprise. If you like sniping and third-person games you may like this game quite a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many broken mechanics, terrible AI, and boring levels, September 13, 2012
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The Good: Satisfying kill shots, good graphics, gory X-Ray kills are fantastic

The Bad: Dumb AI, poor stealth mechanics, drab level design, frustrating shootouts, boring everything else

Sniper Elite: V2 doesn't stand for version 2 as some people may think. This is about trying to stop the Germans from using V2 rockets in World War II. After seeing those three words you probably left this review already. Another WWII game? V2 has a lot of potential, but is lacking in many areas due to the developers laziness in design. The story is nothing special with the only satisfying thing being sniper shots.

The game is all about stealth, but right away you will notice this is broken. The enemies are laid out in a poor manner in which it is hard to figure out how to take everyone out without raising an alert. If you do so you have to fight it out with limited ammo from your other weapons and you die very quickly. Using the sniper rifles is just fine with an ability to hold your breath to steady your aim. Slowly a red diamond will focus on a part of an enemy and that is where your bullet will land. Once you fire the game uses a bullet camera and some times you will see an X-Ray shot of the bullet penetrating the targets organs (the nut shot is awesome!) You will see the skull shatter, organs burst, and eyes explode. This is the most satisfying use of a sniper rifle in any shooter. The problem is, the fun stops there.

Of course sniper rifles back then really didn't have silencers so once you make the shot everyone knows you're there. Some levels have loud noises you can mask the shot in, but this can be difficult. The enemy AI is extremely dumb in which they won't notice a dead comrade right next to them, or they will spot you from hundreds of yards away with some sort of eagle vision. On top of the all that enemies spawn strangely out of some sort of ether because you will walk a hallway with no enemies, circle around, then somehow there's an enemy there. This makes stealth frustrating as hell and you will rage quit often. It doesn't help that the forced shootouts are frustrating and hard because you die almost instantly.

You can lay traps for enemies and such, but I honestly didn't find any reason to do this much. Even the level design is screwy because the hallways are confusing and everything looks the same. There just isn't enough satisfaction from finishing levels and out smarting enemies because in reality your exploiting the dumb AI to advance through the levels. After just about 3 or 4 you will probably have enough and call it quits. It is just so sad that the great sniper mechanic was wasted on such a boring and dull game. The graphics look pretty good, but other than that you won't stay interested. I had this game on my HDD for about 2 months and even when I had nothing to play I couldn't go back to this drab game.

Overall, V2 has some awesome kill shots and great sniper rifles; everything else is a bust. Dumb AI, poor stealth mechanics, boring level design, uninteresting story, and frustrating shootouts. The multiplayer is pretty satisfying, but you won't be coming back for long. V2 is a huge disappointment over a prequel that was fairly decent. Even the most patient gamers won't last here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game But A Bit Repetitive., July 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Positives-
-Great graphics and Sound
-Kill cam is fun to watch
-Great remake

Negatives-
-Game gets boring after the first few levels, so taking a break for a few days makes it fun again.
-Although the kill cam is cool to see it gets old after the 50th kill but you do have the option to turn it off.
-Game is very linear which isn't always a bad thing but in this case it makes the game a bit boring.
-Enemy AI is a bit off. What I mean is you can be 10 feet from the enemy and they forget where you are but if you are a few hundred feet away they immediately know where you are and can have surprisingly effective suppressive fire against you at far off distances.

Over all I don't regret buying the game because it was a great price. It's fun as long as you take breaks in between the game making a little less repetitive. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trash, June 20, 2014
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Like the title says, the game is trash. Linear as you could ever imagine, retarded AI, dated graphics and an idiotic kill cam, as if I care to know (and even less so, see) exactly what damage my bullet did.

Call of Duty with sniper rifles.

You know, it's such a shame because the original Sniper Elite is easily one of the best games ever made and bears absolutely no resemblance to this tripe. Why oh why do video game companies continually, and nearly without fail, insist on releasing stellar first entries then utterly ruining the franchise with cheap, dumbed-down garbage?

This is what fans of the original Sniper Elite waited so long for? Seriously? What a waste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Constant crashing with 7xxx Series Cards, November 11, 2012
By 
Iofiel (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This was a fun game when I was playing it on my old video card (GeForce 9800 GTX+) but then I upgraded to a Radeon 7950. Since then, it's been constant hard crashes and sound loops that require actually turning the computer on and off to recover from. Looking around on Google, this seem to be a common issue and no one has presented a fix (yes, using latest drivers, tried lowering graphic quality, etc). Games aren't much fun when every five minutes you need to reboot and lose all of your progress. If you're using a 7xxx Series card, I'd definitely avoid this game. If you have some other Radeon card, I'd take a look online and see if others are having crashing issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, August 18, 2012
By 
J. Freeman (Washougal, Washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I always play a sniper in shooter games and I usually spend most of my time sneaking. This game was practically made for me. You are playing as an OSS (pre-CIA CIA) officer in Berlin tasked with killing a bunch of German rocket scientists that are defecting to the Reds, your primary weapon is a sniper rifle and your skill.

If you are looking for run-and-gun action (CoD, Borderlands, Halo), move along. If you want in depth characterization and a compelling story (Deus Ex: HR, Mass Effect, Max Payne), move along. If you think that sneaking and getting a double-headshot at 286 meters is awesome, this is the game for you.

The gameplay is excellent, the graphics are...OK, the sound can be problematic (but I'm not sure if that's from the game or just me) but is usually fine. The biggest complaint I have is the length. I have 4 hours clocked in Steam, I just finished a playthrough. Granted it was on Cadet (Easy) but still. I expect that a playthrough on Sniper Elite (Hard) won't take more than 6 hours or so. I find the idea of paying $50 for a 4 hours campaign with limited replay to be pretty poor, thankfully I only paid $18 (thanks Steam!). The lack of length is why I gave it 4 stars, other than that I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a nice game, July 14, 2012
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
you need patient, stable skills, and a little luck, and then you can make a nice shoot. i thought it's a wonderful sniper game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, October 20, 2013
By 
Mike (Roseville, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Controls are weird, some crashes on Win 7, I'd try to get a refund if I was still able to. I would not recommend this game based on my experience. I can't tell you about the plot because it sucked so much I stopped playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Keep your distance, December 17, 2014
This review is from: Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Sniping is always great fun so any game that offers plenty of it has to be a good thing. The sniping in SNIPER ELITE V2 is (as I understand it) pretty realistic. It includes all the conditions that would effect such a task in the real world, including bullet drop, wind speed and direction, body movement etc. There’s no denying the satisfaction when you score a hit, especially a headshot, and this is often augmented by the enjoyable spectacle of the bullet flying through the air in slow-motion towards its target. Personally, I could have lived without the kill-cam’s depiction of the victim’s injuries, but this is only a game so let’s not get too wrapped up in the ethics. Less successful is the close-quarter combat that you are sometimes forced into. The cover-based stealth system is less sophisticated than in some games (Deus Ex: Human Revolution, for example) and aiming at close range can be problematic. This, coupled with a ridiculously keen-eyed AI, can prove frustrating. The graphics are good to very good, with the ruins of a war-torn Berlin particularly well depicted. The story is rather fractured due to the mission-based gameplay but SEV2 isn’t really about story, its about honing your long-range shooting skills, and this it does well.

3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sniper Elite V2 [Online Game Code]
$29.99 $14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.