Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a surprise
A fifth remake in the series and a direct to video besides. This is a typical men at war in the jungle movie with very little star power. Forget about the junk that preceded it. This movie has great production values. The story is very good. The actors and script are great. And the african animal scenes and views of Africa need to be seen in Blu-ray to be fully...
Published on May 2, 2011 by F. Werner

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible compared to the first
What a terrible movie! Nothing like the first, this isn't a sniper movie this is practically urban combat in Africa. The jr Beckett doesn't do any sniping with the exception of 2 or 3 shots. Aside from the terrible portrayal of U.S. Marines...(the recent movies about Iraq do a hell of a better job of depicting us than this one does!), this movie could have done alot...
Published on June 17, 2011 by Lana J. Swanson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a surprise, May 2, 2011
By 
F. Werner (Houston, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fifth remake in the series and a direct to video besides. This is a typical men at war in the jungle movie with very little star power. Forget about the junk that preceded it. This movie has great production values. The story is very good. The actors and script are great. And the african animal scenes and views of Africa need to be seen in Blu-ray to be fully appreciated. There are so many movies like this, but so few that rise above the mundane to truly entertain. See this movie. You may even want to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO MUCH FUN!, May 29, 2011
This review is from: Sniper: Reloaded (DVD)
Wow that was way better than I thought it would be! To be honest, I was forced to watch this movie with my boyfriend who's in the military. He was blown away by the gritty realism and the authenticity. Marine's,like, freak out if they don't feel they are represented correctly. As for me, I liked the story and the scenery (there were some beautiful shots of the African landscape. )COuld've done without the RAUNCHY SEX SCENE THOUGH GEEEZ!! It wasn't all guns and one-liners. Plus the lead is fuggin GORGEOUS and did a good job acting. Are his lips real though? hmmmm...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I SEE YOU, May 20, 2011
This review is from: Sniper: Reloaded (DVD)
That was the line spoken by Billy Zane prior to blowing off the head of a UN Congo soldier with a 50 caliber (?) bullet. I must say the special effects on the blood and bullets were good. The plot is another story. It made me go to Google. First off there is no United Nations code of Military Justice, nor is there a United Nation Military Code of Criminal Justice. In fact it is just the opposite. There is no military code of conduct in the UN which has caused problems in recent times and the UN is in the early stages of looking into such a code. The movie attempts to make a statement about strong patriotic military men vs. weak politicians who play both sides of the coin.

Chad Michael Collins plays "son of sniper" (I don't recall seeing the other movies) in this weak plot, no character developing saga of UN gone awry in the Congo. Billy Zane had the best lines in the whole movie, unfortunately he wasn't in the movie enough to make it work. One sex scene, no nudity, don't recall any f-bombs. Collins as an actor was about a C- if Zane is an "A". If you have a choice between this and a Steven Seagal or Steve Austin movie, choose this one. 3 stars plus a half star for the guy's head getting blown off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible compared to the first, June 17, 2011
This review is from: Sniper: Reloaded (DVD)
What a terrible movie! Nothing like the first, this isn't a sniper movie this is practically urban combat in Africa. The jr Beckett doesn't do any sniping with the exception of 2 or 3 shots. Aside from the terrible portrayal of U.S. Marines...(the recent movies about Iraq do a hell of a better job of depicting us than this one does!), this movie could have done alot better. What a typical 21st century movie- can't ever go without with sex scene...could have definitely left that out. About the only good part was one of the guy's heads getting blown off. Glad I didn't buy this movie and watched it online instead. Watch the Battle for Haditha - that's a hell of a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was not as good as sniper but there was somewhat of a expectation of it to be as good or better. Gave me the impression budget was a lot lower on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good For Straight To DVD, April 21, 2011
Brandon Beckett, on a deadly mission to stop a mysterious sniper targeting innocent civilians. Co-starring rising star Chad Michael Collins as Brandon Beckett, along with action stalwart Richard Sammel (Casino Royale, Inglourious Basterds), SNIPER: RELOADED offers next generation thrills and a kill-or-be-killed intensity Sniper fans won't want to miss.

While working with the UN Forces in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Marine Sgt. Brandon Beckett (Chad Michael Collins), son of renowned sniper Thomas Beckett, receives orders to rescue a European farmer trapped in the middle of hostile rebel territory. When he and his men arrive at the farm, a mysterious sniper ambushes them, wounding Beckett and killing everyone else. With the help of his father's former protégé, sniper instructor Richard Miller (Billy Zane), Beckett must learn to think like a sniper to track down the assassin before the sniper returns to finish the job.

What I Can Tell You: I have never seen Sniper from 1993 starring Tom Berenger but my husband had. He originally thought this was that movie until we sat down to watch and he wondered were Billy Zane was. Billy doesn't show up until almost 40 minutes in.

Ok, so here is what I know. Berenger played a Marine sniper Thomas Beckett. In this movie Chad Michael Collins plays Brandon Beckett, the son of Thomas Beckett who is following in his fathers foot steps although there was some obvious "daddy anger issues" and he is not yet a sniper. (added note: Check out Chad Michael's blog for an interesting diary of the making of this movie.)

Brandon's troop was ambushed while on a peacekeeping mission by a sniper and he is left as the only survivor. While they prepare for their next mission of finding the sniper assassin. Billy Zane's Character, Richard Miller, who was trained by Thomas Beckett back in the day, returns to aid Brandon on learning how to be a sniper. Brandon is not interested until Richard suddenly appears in Congo much to Brandon's chagrin.

I am not at all familiar with Chad Michael Collins but his face looked very familiar. Maybe that is because he looks like Berenger. I would have liked to see more gunfire and a sex scene that lasted over 3 minutes however for a straight to DVD movie, this wasn't half bad. The best parts of the movie featured Billy Zane who was great in his matter of fact, straight up delivery! If there is another, please bring back Billy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a very good continuation of the sniper series, December 19, 2013
This review is from: Sniper: Reloaded (DVD)
I agree with the general consensus that this is a three star film and the best part of the film was the appearance of Billy Zane and the beautiful shots of Africa and its animals. There was one actor is the film, who I prefer not to name who seemed never to have taken a lesson in acting. The film as noted is supposed to be a continuation of the Gunny Beckett series with Tom Benenger, but I agree that it is not in the same class. As other ex-military people who reviewed this film, I agree that it needed a military advisor. We did not act this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Billy Zane's Surprising Excellence, September 8, 2012
By 
MadMacs (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sniper: Reloaded (DVD)
All things considered for a low-budget action flick - not bad. The loss of Tom Berenger from the series is evident; his presence sorely missed.

Still, newcomer Chad Michael Collins was decent as the son of Gunny Beckett. Again, not producing a performance of note - but not completely dropping the ball either. But 'eh' isn't exactly a quality one looks for when they're screening for leading men. Hopefully he works on his craft. I like the cut of his jib - perhaps he has a shot at something better. Maybe.

Opens as Marine buck sergeant Brandon Beckett is deployed with his unit as part of a UN peacekeeping mission to the African Congo. Assigned the role of protectors, they're ordered to cull all remaining civilians out of a rebel infested area. Despite repeated attempts, there's one hold out. The mixed platoon of marines and local government forces is given the mission of getting that stubborn man into the safe zone. Tragically, only two out of the dozen men of that mission will escape with their lives. Ambushed upon their arrival, they're killed by a single sniper of superior skill. The only survivor from the marine element, and just barely, Sgt. Beckett.

He's rescued by a local hunting guide who discovered the massacre. Despite what honor tells the sergeant, to help the hunter who saved his life, his responsibility lies with his orders and seeing to safety the daughter of the murdered victim.

Once his charge is safely delivered out of the combat zone, he files his after-action report expecting something to be done. Not just for payback, but to prevent further deaths against peacekeeper forces. But to his shock and dismay, the blood-soaked intelligence is essentially round-filed and he's dismissed. Stunned, he realizes that the bureaucracy will move too slowly, if at all. And despite the dangers to his person and career, goes against direct orders. He's going AWOL, determined to hunt down the shooter who murdered his fellow marines and nearly sent him to the pearly gates. But not before a mysterious friend steps in to advise and counsel the brash young warrior.

Was never a fan of Billy Zane. There's something about his efforts that, for some reason, has always rang false for me. Which is odd, since, I think he's a decent actor.

So I'm very pleased to say that I thought he did exceedingly well in his return to the franchise. Better than I could've or would've hoped for given my previous statement. The years seems to have given him a tempered humility and grounded humanity that I always felt he lacked. Having avoided him for the past decade or so, I'm now going to reinvestigate the man and his works. I'm intrigued with the remote possibility that he might have actually found a way to extract a performance without being completely asinine and phoney.

Overall, a decent flick made watchable by Zane's surprisingly excellent performance. A decent addition to the series. And for fans of snipers/sniping - an okay addition to the genre.

Movie Note:

- Would willingly pay extra for any military-inspired film to have at least one veteran as an advisor. The small details are the ones that sometimes irritate the most. The very last scene, which should have been a 'yahoo' moment, turned sour as a Navy Commander introduces himself as an Army Major. C'mon!

There has got to be thousands of vets who would *volunteer* to assist filmmakers for no pay. Three hots and a cot for a week or two - and these flagrant mistakes can be so easily addressed.

One can only hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sniper action galore., October 18, 2011
This review is from: Sniper: Reloaded (DVD)
There is enough action in this for 10 snipers. The movie will surprise you and there is litte romance on the side, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel, October 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sniper: Reloaded (DVD)
Received it quick and in great shape love the movie...thank you so much for the fast response and getting it to be quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sniper: Reloaded
Sniper: Reloaded by Claudio Fäh (DVD - 2011)
$14.99 $10.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.