Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Fun Book to Snuggle With Mommy and Read
We loved this book! One of our favorite things to do in the winter is build a fire, drink hot chocolate and read. We discovered this book by accident, and have found it an enchanting book, one that a 7-year-old can read to his mother. The illustrations have inspired our own attempts at this type of artwork, and a lot of fund daydreaming about "snowrabbits"...
Published on November 14, 1999

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should Have Been Done in a LARGER Format
This isn't a bad book. It's just not a good book (at all) for Babies and Toddlers, the usual targets of boardbooks.

For one thing, the illustrations are 'muddy'. There are brown bunnies in front of a brown wall which has a brown door with a brown decoration on it, and around it. Where's the brilliant colors babies and the very young adore? Missing...
Published 21 months ago by aa-Pam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Fun Book to Snuggle With Mommy and Read, November 14, 1999
By A Customer
We loved this book! One of our favorite things to do in the winter is build a fire, drink hot chocolate and read. We discovered this book by accident, and have found it an enchanting book, one that a 7-year-old can read to his mother. The illustrations have inspired our own attempts at this type of artwork, and a lot of fund daydreaming about "snowrabbits" nibbling at carrots! A delight for any young one (and their mother!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should Have Been Done in a LARGER Format, April 24, 2013
This review is from: Snow (Board Buddies) (Board book)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This isn't a bad book. It's just not a good book (at all) for Babies and Toddlers, the usual targets of boardbooks.

For one thing, the illustrations are 'muddy'. There are brown bunnies in front of a brown wall which has a brown door with a brown decoration on it, and around it. Where's the brilliant colors babies and the very young adore? Missing.

Even the trees are a dull color, as is the sky. One bird on a tree is... you guessed it... light brown. The bunnies cloths are dark (muddy) purple and green... and brown.

The other problem I had with the book is the wordiness. Okay, not especially the wordiness --as I believe small children can enjoy the cadence of spoken speech -- but the 'high level concepts.

This isn't Lois Erhart's SNOW, with simple sentences about snowballs and cold. This is a book about looking back to simpler times. Where brothers lay motionless in the snow, listening to the poignant silence. These are things elementary aged children can relate to. Not topics for toddlers.

Nancy Wallace's story and language is wonderful. Her artwork was probably wonderful too, but this book production is awful. It should have been in a non-boardbook format for older children, and it should have been carefully reproduced so that the sky was the brilliant blue that see on older publications.

Pam T~
mom/reader of many boardbooks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's Not To Like, March 7, 2013
By 
Truth Seeker (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Snow (Board Buddies) (Board book)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is such a sweet little book. It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. It's the kind of book I could imagine Mr. Rogers reading to a group of children. I also like the sturdiness and small size. I can imagine a small child carrying it around in his/her chubby little hand, and the parents could allow the child to handle it without worrying about the child tearing the pages. The simplicity of the pictures and the soft pastels are something I think would appeal to a small child. They certainly did to me. Also, I think, since children are fascinated by snow, that a child would love to look at the pictures and hear about all the things you can do on a snowy day. It's refreshing to see a book like this among so many children's books that are full of bizarre illustrations. I would like to see more children's books that actually look like children's books, as this one does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a whimsical book of fun in the snow for a big bunny brother and little Max ..., April 27, 2013
This review is from: Snow (Board Buddies) (Board book)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
A bunny and his little brother, Max, lived near the woods. They were anxious for the snow to arrive and they both knelt on the "green bench by the window," hoping that those flakes would begin to fall from the sky. "It's snowing," was what they would shout out when any of the two bunnies saw the flakes begin to fall from the sky. Mama would help them get ready and bundled them up in "snow pants and jackets and scarves and boots." They loved playing in the snow, catching the flakes and lying on its surface.

They would look up into the sky as the flakes drifted down to the ground. It was fun to roll "up small snowballs until they grew bigger and bigger." They were going to make a snow rabbit and Mama gave them a scarf to put around its neck. Papa would take their picture as they raced down a hill on a sled. Winter was a fun time for the bunny brothers as they played outside once the snow began to fall. After they were done playing, Mama would have a special treat waiting for them inside. What do you do when the snow arrives?

This is a whimsical book of fun in the snow for a big bunny brother and little Max. Many children are anxious for the first snow to fall so they can get out and have fun. These brothers enjoy doing things with each other and have begun to create traditions they look forward to. Special things such as building a snowman and feeding the birds are things that young siblings often do together. The cut artwork, created from recycled paper, is quite appealing. This book is in the form of a "miniature book," in a board book format. With the dense wording it reads like a picture book. This would be a fun book to cuddle up and read with your little snow bunny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I have always loved the snow.", March 2, 2013
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Snow (Board Buddies) (Board book)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Nancy Elizabeth Wallace, the author and illustrator of Snow (Board Buddies), deserves a great deal of praise for this children's book! This sweet little book for small children is about a grandfather reminiscing to small kids about how he and his brother Max played in the snow when they were themselves rather young. Everyone in the book is depicted as a rabbit but I think this works to make the book even more charming! The text is about right for small kids although there are a few words that also give them a chance to increase their vocabulary.

The delightful story involves the thrill kids feel when it first starts to snow and there's a good deal more even though the book is short. For example, we see the grandfather as a child with his brother Max catching snowflakes on their tongues and searching for that rare perfect snowflake; they make a rabbit snowman with an old scarf they borrow from their mother and they make snow angels on the ground! The two young boys finally go inside to enjoy their mother's hot chocolate made even more wonderful by the little bit of honey she adds to the hot drink.

I highly recommend this book for small children; you can read it aloud to them and bond with them at the same time! Young kids and adults alike will love the pretty illustrations and children will increase their vocabulary as they encounter some new words in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back fond memories and experiences!, November 21, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Snow (Hardcover)
I think the text and illustrations were very well intergrated and, therefore, this book reflected the highest level of quality. Incredible inventiveness on the part of the author in regard to presentation of pages, readability, color and composition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, December 11, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Snow (Hardcover)
This book is an absolutely charming tale of sharing winter experiences with a child. The paper cutting artwork is beatiful and unique. It causes the pages to come alive. This book is a delight for adults and children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars snow, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snow (Kindle Edition)
my grandson love this book. Its very good and keeps their interest.
The pictures are also very real. They love it/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Send it or refund me, May 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snow (Kindle Edition)
Have not rececievd this one either !!!
Why do you require soany words in a review. Not necessary to ne so wordy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Snow (Board Buddies) (Hardcover)
what is not to like about this book? very sweet and likely the children will remember it as I remember from childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Snow (Board Buddies)
Snow (Board Buddies) by Nancy Elizabeth Wallace (Board book - September 1, 2007)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.