Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocky Mountain Search and Rescue romance
Melody Crawford prefers solitude, a solitude she shares with her search and rescue dogs in an isolated cabin in the Rocky Mountains. Ex-army Ranger John North just started his job as the director of the new emergency management office. When a child goes missing, the pressure is on to find the child and fast. When he meets Melody, John can't help but be drawn to her...
Published on February 11, 2009 by D. Merrimon Crawford

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like the author, but book perpetuates a mental illness myth
I'll admit that I'm a tough critic because I'm a psychiatrist(former military) and this book deals with post-traumatic stress disorder. I can't do the review without mentioning spoilers, so if you don't want to know what happened, don't read farther. I have read many books by Linda Goodnight, and she is usually an "auto-buy" for me. This book was a disappointment...
Published on September 19, 2011 by Cilla


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like the author, but book perpetuates a mental illness myth, September 19, 2011
By 
I'll admit that I'm a tough critic because I'm a psychiatrist(former military) and this book deals with post-traumatic stress disorder. I can't do the review without mentioning spoilers, so if you don't want to know what happened, don't read farther. I have read many books by Linda Goodnight, and she is usually an "auto-buy" for me. This book was a disappointment because I did not like the way the hero and the heroine's father were portrayed as being dangerous due to PTSD. The heroine's father murdered her family. There is scant explanation of what happened, so the reader is left with the feeling that somehow he was psychotic due to his previous war experiences and that caused him to become homicidal. There was no history given of how he had treated the family previously, no mention of whether or not he was under the influence of drugs, or anything. I do not know of a single case history of anyone who murdered their family secondarily to PTSD--maybe there are cases where PTSD has been present along with other conditions, but PTSD does not make people murderers. Then the hero has a "nightmare" where he threatens the heroine physically in his confusion. PTSD can make people hyper-reactive if they are having a flashback, but it would be a rare instance that it would make them dangerous to others. I must say that it bothers me greatly that two soldiers are presented as being dangerous to others due to their PTSD. Amazon doesn't allow me to post the link, but if you search for America's Heroes at Work, there is a link that deals with the myths of PTSD, and one myth is that it makes people more prone to violence. Substance use/abuse in combination with a mental disorder is another matter, but this wasn't portrayed in the book. That issue aside, I felt that the book never explained how the heroine got over her fear of the hero and suddenly was fine, and nothing more was said about the hero and his PTSD. It would be nice if love healed everything, but since that isn't the case, she and the hero should have gotten treatment. I realize that romance novels aren't meant to be scientific or medical texts, but I am concerned when they do not present an accurate view of a serious medical condition, and add to the stigma of mental illness. In retrospect, if the author had chosen to just have the episode with the hero, I could have accepted that, but the murder of the family by the father, and having two so-called PTSD violent acts in the book were too much. I'll still read books by this author, but this one went into the trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocky Mountain Search and Rescue romance, February 11, 2009
Melody Crawford prefers solitude, a solitude she shares with her search and rescue dogs in an isolated cabin in the Rocky Mountains. Ex-army Ranger John North just started his job as the director of the new emergency management office. When a child goes missing, the pressure is on to find the child and fast. When he meets Melody, John can't help but be drawn to her. In her eyes, he sees depth, and fear. Melody is all business. Melody is not about to stand around making pleasantries when time is the key to a successful rescue. John North is the epitome of a military man, the last thing in the world she wants, with his calm strength and handsome physique. John, however, needs Melody and her dogs. He intends to set his finest strategy to win her over. Can he reach through to the deepest parts of her, shedding light and love into the darkness of her past? When another rescue proves more difficult, both Melody and John face the ultimate challenge. Together, can the two battle all the forces conspiring against them?

THE SNOW-KISSED BRIDE is a powerfully uplifting romance that combines emotional depth, action, and a suspenseful subplot. The search and rescue backdrop of this romance will appeal to all dog lovers. How can one not love a dog named Chili?! Linda Goodnight creates a portrait of a heroine whose inner wounds isolate her but who has inner spunk, determination, and a vocational calling that allows her to help others, both human and canine. When needed, Melody and her dogs get the job done. John is the perfect match for Melody. Just as driven in his profesional life, he also has a gift for laughter to break down her walls as well as the quiet determination, strategy and patience needed to show Melody that trust is a gift earned and something on which she can rely even when circumstances trigger images of the past. Linda Goodnight holds back the details of Melody's past until just the precise moment, creating a suspenseful atmosphere as John and Melody become closer and closer. Possible suspicious activities shadow the emergency office, giving this gentle romance a riveting subplot. THE SNOW-KISSED BRIDE has a wonderful flow from page to page, from scene to scene, in emotion, the sense of action and the suspenseful atmosphere. Linda Goodnight writes an emotionally moving romance that peers into the very soul as her characters learn to share their past and trust one another. Laughter is indeed the best remedy as their hearts lighten one another's life.

THE SNOW-KISSED BRIDE has an anti-smoking message in some pointed descriptions that might appeal to parents wanting to discourage the activity in younger readers but which might both appeal and not appeal to adult readers in her audience.

COURTESY OF BOOK ILLUMINATIONS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ability to Love, Rescued!, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a great story about a strong independent woman and a strong man with a gentle heart. Sharing love shows a strength not a weakness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, September 27, 2012
By 
Maureen Kapnic (Pembroke Pines, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was a pleasant read, I enjoyed everything and felt great when it was finished. I am looking forward to more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The snow kissed bride, September 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book. Very likable characters. I just really enjoyed this book and love this author. I have read many of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, November 1, 2014
well worth reading. i loved the story line. was drawn in by the characters and events. and enjoyed the very interesting clean romantic tale. i have enjoyed many stories by this author as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let go let God, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Through every romance or heartbreak story the love of God show us to trust, obey and accept His love and put ourselves in His hands every day in our every day lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Snow-Kissed Bride
Snow-Kissed Bride by Linda Goodnight (Hardcover)
Used & New from: $1.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.