Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming
A Snowglobe Christmas by Linda Goodnight and Lissa Manley
4 STARS

A Snowglobe Christmas is two stories together by two different authors in the town of
Snowglobe, Montana. They are both clean reads.
Yuletide Homecoming by Linda Goodnight
Rafe Westfield has come back to Snowglobe after being gone in the military for five years. He also left...
Published 23 months ago by rhonda

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh My Books! Review
A Snowglobe Christmas is perfect to get in the Christmas mood! Snowglobe town is just like a those movies, lots of snow, lights, very beautiful.

Yuletide Homecoming is the story of Amy, who is coming back home after a few years away. She's ready to move on, forget what happened last time when her fiancee broke her heart, but she isn't expecting the man to come...
Published 22 months ago by Gaby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, October 16, 2012
By 
rhonda (Fairview, UT) - See all my reviews
A Snowglobe Christmas by Linda Goodnight and Lissa Manley
4 STARS

A Snowglobe Christmas is two stories together by two different authors in the town of
Snowglobe, Montana. They are both clean reads.
Yuletide Homecoming by Linda Goodnight
Rafe Westfield has come back to Snowglobe after being gone in the military for five years. He also left behind a ex-fiancee. Rafe still has nightmares about his experiences. He is joining his brother in the rental of snowmobiles.
Amy Caldwell has come back to Snowglobe to help her mom. Amy is going to run the shop so her mom can retire. Amy had her heart broken when Rafe decided to join the service and leave her behind. Amy does not expect to run into Rafe.
Amy and Rafe end up working on Christmas boxes for those in need through their church.
They find that they are still attracted after all and start to grow close again.
It is a nice story. Short story I wish it was longer. I was able to see the town of Snowglobe in the discription of the story. I would read more from Linda in the future.

A Family's Christmas Wish by Lissa Manley

I really liked the character in this story a lot. The two little girls joy at being together and bonding was sweet. I smiled a lot in this story.
Sara Kincaid inhierited a old house and she has turned into a bread and breakfast. With all the heavy snow she found her roof is leaking. Problem is she does not have the money to fix the roof.
Owen Larsen is coming to give a estimate of the roof and his babysitter had to go out of town so as he is a widower he brought his three year old with him. Turns out that Sara also has three year old little girl and is willing to play together.
Owen hopes it is a small job because he wants to leave Snowglobe and the memories behind.
Sara makes a deal with Owen she will babysit for him while he works. Owen is going out of way to help Sara because he knows how hard it is to be a single parent. His daughter is shy but Sara's daughter is not. They take to each other right away and soon all four of them were sharing Christmas traditions and growing closer.
I hope to read many more books in the future from Lissa.
I was given this ebook too read in exchange of honest review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Snowglobe Christmas, October 19, 2012
A Snowglobe Christmas by Linda Goodnight and Lissa Manley
Love Christmas stories, the traditions and being together with family and friends and remember getting a snowglobe from my father upon his return from a business trip one year.
This includes two stories from two authors.
Yuletide Homecoming by Linda Goodnight
Snowglobe, Montana and Amy Caldwell is coming back home for the holidays, her mother's, Dana wish. She owns and runs The Snowglobe Gift Shoppe.
She now has a marketing degree from college and will help her mom run the store so she can semi-retire.
She left when Rafe Westfield handed her heart back to her. He headed to the Marines, 3 tours and was now back himself and lived in town.
She volunteers to help the pastor with the food and gift baskets this year and there is a long list as the times demand. She finds out Rafe is in charge of it all.
There is no avoiding him there and at her friend's gift swap party.
While taking a break from deliveries the baskets he asks for her help in where to build his new house, on the land he's showing her. She has so many ideas and what it would need.
Her mother is still trying to set her up with eligible bachelors.
With the events that take place in the shop one dark cold night Rafe lends a hand and the talk is of the Bible and the true meaning of Christmas.
Her mother has a good idea of what to do with the late night visitors...
When she gets lost in the snow she prays to God...
Bonus is the recipe!
.
A Family's Christmas Wish by Lissa Manley
Owen Larsen and his 3yo daughter Jane arrive at the B&B to fix the leaking roof.
Jane Kincade and her 3 yo daughter Mia own and run the Snowglobe B&B.
He's only in town for a few more weeks, hopes to arive in WA state for a new job and life, since his wife Kristy died.
They come to an agreement as to how she will pay him, watch the kids and feed them and she hopes to have money to at least buy the materials needed for the roof.
Due to the holiday lighting on the square they all head to take in the sights and even a tight fitting sleigh ride with the girls. They are thrown together a lot more often due to the girls playing with one another.
Love how this story interacts with the previous one at the same timeframe.
She prayed to God when he and his daughter left and he prayed also when he went off the road...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right for Christmastime, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Both Linda Goodnight and Lissa Manley capture an old-fashioned Christmas in a contemporary setting in their novellas. If you are looking for a treat to relax with in a hectic season, Snowglobe Christmas is an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Stories, December 25, 2013
This review is from: A Snowglobe Christmas: Yuletide Homecoming\A Family's Christmas Wish (Love Inspired) (Kindle Edition)
Yuletide Homecoming:

This was a sweet, feel-good story about a love lost refound at Chrismtas. What a wonderful time to find the person you can settle down with and spend the rest of your life with!

Rafe and Amy were engaged until he announced he was joining the Marines. Now, most people would be proud to marry someone who going to be a hero to the country, but not Amy. She felt Rafe was abandoning her and told him she would not marry him if he joined. He realized that they weren't ready for marriage.

Five years later, he's back. Though she was determined not to get involved with him again, they find themselves falling in love.

Now, I'm giving this story five stars because it kept my interest. I loved Dana, but thought the excuse she made for Amy was lame. My father abandoned me, my Mom, and my siblings but I never felt the way Amy did. I think Amy behaved childishly and thought that Rafe's brother said it well after she walked out on him AGAIN! But what Rafe replied it also tragically true. Of course, it's always great to read about a hero coming to rescue a damsel in distress!

A Family's Christmas

This was also a very sweet story about two families who came together at Christmas. After losing his wife to cancer a year ago, Own and his daughter were ready to move away from Snow Globe to a small town in Washington. But before they left, Owen had one more job to do - fix the roof of single mother, Sara's bed and breakfast! But while doing that, his daughter and her daughter became best friends and drew their parents close together.

I did get mad at Own at one point. I really didn't understand why he thought he HAD to leave, but I was so glad to see the results of what could have been a tragedy!

Both of these stories were awesome. They happened at the same time, which made it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great setting!, July 24, 2013
This is actually two short stories that take place around Christmas. Because the stories are short you really don't get a chance to fall in love with the main characters. However, the stories were entertaining and held my interest. I gave this book 4/5 stars. I liked that they were centered around Christmas time and that they had a Christian theme throughout. I did wish the stories had been separated into two books as that would have given the authors a better chance to develop the plot and characters. That said, the stories were a great escape. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for a Christmas themed Christian romance book to read.

I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good holiday fare, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Snowglobe Christmas: Yuletide Homecoming\A Family's Christmas Wish (Love Inspired) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy Christmas stories and this was a good one by several authors with a different twist to each story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Sweet Romance Tied Together but Completely Seperate, March 6, 2013
This review is from: A Snowglobe Christmas: Yuletide Homecoming\A Family's Christmas Wish (Love Inspired) (Kindle Edition)
Yuletide Homecoming
Finally. Amy Caldwell is returning home to Snowglobe. After years of offers she's returning to take over her mother's gift shoppe - but what she didn't expect was that Rafe Westfield would return as well. Once her fiance, he's now barely more than a stanger... except he's not.Can Amy let the past go and begin to trust that Rafe may be God's plan for her life?
Review: This was really well done. I enjoyed the romance. It was a sweet Christmas romance.
Author: Linda Goodnight
Grade: A
Ages: 16+

A Family's Christmas Wish
Sometimes single parents just need a friend. They need to stop trying to prove that they can do everything by themselves and just allow others in. Both Owen and Sara need to take a breath and allow God to give them what they need - whether they like it or not.
Review: This was so emotional. I felt like I was having to learn to be a single defensive mom learning to trust that sometimes people are just kind.
Author: Lissa Manley
Grade: A
Ages: 16+

More...
Source: Harlequin Love Inspired via Netgalley
Grade: A
Steam: YA -- Some chaste smooching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming Christmas Stories, December 24, 2012
This review is from: A Snowglobe Christmas: Yuletide Homecoming\A Family's Christmas Wish (Love Inspired) (Kindle Edition)
This fall I've really been enjoying reading Christian Christmas romances. Is that a thing? I don't know. But these books had some religious involvement without being overbearing, and I really liked that.

Yuletide Homecoming was a really nice story. I really liked Amy and Rafe separately, so it makes sense that I like them even more as a couple. Linda Goodnight wrote their story really well because even though it seemed like it made sense for them to be apart, I was still rooting for them to work things out. I also thought Rafe's brother was a cool side character, and the side plot with Amy's mother was interesting too. Oh, and the puppies. Any Christmas story with puppies in it just warms my heart. haha

A Family's Christmas Wish had a different heartwarming factor, and that factor was kids. A big part of this story is not only the budding romance between Owen and Sara, but the budding friendship between their daughters. I wasn't a big fan of Sara. She wasn't a very consistent character. But I really enjoyed the scenes where the 4 of them were together. In particular, the scene where they're all taking a sleighride together.

These stories are simple and romantic. If you're looking for a book to get you into the Christmas spirit, then this is for you.

My Rating: 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming Christian Romance Stories, December 20, 2012
This book has 2 short stories, both of them Christian romance.
The first story is Yuletide Homecoming by Linda Goodnight. Amy Caldwell is returning home to Snowglobe, Montana to help her mom run the Snowglobe Gift Shoppe. Amy left years ago when Rafe Westfield broke her heart by choosing a career in the military and ending their engagement. She didn't expect to run into him in Snowglobe because she thought he'd still be gone. She does run into him as they are both assembling Blessing Baskets to deliver for the holidays.
The second story is A Family's Christmas Wish by Lissa Manley. This story also takes place in Snowglobe and these main characters made a brief appearance in the first story. Owen Larsen is planning to leave town in a few weeks with his 3 year old daughter Janey. His wife died a year ago from cancer and he wants to leave town for a fresh start. Sara Kincaid runs the local bed and breakfast. She makes a deal with Owen for him to repair her roof in exchange for babysitting his 3 year old daughter, Mia. They develop feelings for eachother but Owen is planning to leave town and Sara has a hard time trusting men.

I really enjoyed these stories just in time for the holidays. I liked how both were set in the same town. Both author's did a great job with all the characters and I read through both stories in a day. They were both heartwarming stories that were enjoyable to read with characters that I grew to love!

I received this ebook free from the publisher, Harlequin/Harlequin Love Inspired, through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Sweet, November 22, 2012
This review is from: A Snowglobe Christmas: Yuletide Homecoming\A Family's Christmas Wish (Love Inspired) (Kindle Edition)
Two short Christmas novellas set in a small Montana town. Two heroines who were abandoned by their fathers and by their first loves. Two women who learn that trusting God means trusting the men He sent into their lives. No, the men aren't perfect either. Rafe was the one who left Amy all those years ago, and now he hopes to win her back. Owen's wife died, and he doesn't want to risk that hurt again.

These stories are very sweet and heartwarming. They are also very religious. The characters pray, go to church, and think about God's will for their lives. Of course the characters are chaste, but they manage a bit to steam too. All in all, an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon, but nothing outside a pretty formula romance.

I'd like to thank the publisher for making a review copy available via NetGalley. Grade: B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.