Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good chick flick
First you need to forive a couple of things before you can truely enjoy this movie, like the thin plot and the pluasibility of the characters, other than that, this movie is pretty good, for obvious reasons- the well-cheographed fight scenes and it's a fresh change having chicks do the fighting.
Shu Qi gets top billing and yes, she's gorgeous, but I think you'll be...
Published on January 2, 2004 by E. Laway

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its no charlies angels
this movie is not a bad movie in anyway, the film quality is great the colors are all vibrant and the movie has a very sharp look to it.but because of that the cgi effects should not have be used in a movie this bright. the story is nothing you havent heard before. and the action scenes are all generic at best, and the few scenes where the action tries to be fresh and new...
Published on March 18, 2004 by Freddie Aponte


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good chick flick, January 2, 2004
By 
E. Laway "Lady E" (Temecula, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
First you need to forive a couple of things before you can truely enjoy this movie, like the thin plot and the pluasibility of the characters, other than that, this movie is pretty good, for obvious reasons- the well-cheographed fight scenes and it's a fresh change having chicks do the fighting.
Shu Qi gets top billing and yes, she's gorgeous, but I think you'll be more impress with Karen Mok. She might not have the lucscious lips or the obvious sex appeal, but she has an edgy, gritty physical presence which is important if you're gonna be an action movie star ( maybe she already is, this is the first time I've seen her in a movie). You can believe it when she's punching, kicking and flying thru the air because physically she is convincing. Unlike Shu Qi, who seem a tad bit fragile and she looked like she was hung on a wire a lot for the more demanding fight sequence. I also like Vicky Zhao. She's terrific as the younger, less competent sister and the heavy acting was all left to her. The handcuffed fight scene with Qi and Mok is something to marvel at and will undoubtedly be copied. The clean high tech cinematography is hard to ignore. It is a study in geometry, angles and physics, specially with the flying bullets and glass everywhere. This is well illustrated in the last shot out by the stairway.
There's a lot to be admired in this movie like the many imaginative ways of shooting a gun; upside down, downside up,sidedays, by ways, falling down, twisting and the overall imagination of the filmakers. As a Hong Kong, over-the-top action flick--- It delivers! Just don't think too much when you're watching this movie. Concentrate more on the gun fights, sword fights and kung fu fights. I did find a few things annoying though. For example, the Mok and Zhao characters- were they suppose to be attracted to each other, and what was that kiss about? they could have at least done it right and gone for a full on lip lock titaliting threatment it deserved, outherwise why bother throwing in this little sublot at the end. Also a couple of the fight scenes were so techinical and crisp that you feel like picking up your supernintendo control pad and playing along. Ultimately I give this movie a generous rating because it doesn't fail to deliver its promise- ACTION and lots of it. The DVD doesn't have any extras but be thankful it offers a lot of language and subtitle options for some of us that wish to see the movie in its original sound. If you're not too uptight and don't sweat the little details, you'll enjoy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Close is everything Charlie's Angels wished it could be!, August 26, 2005
By 
Ronnie Clay "R.C." (Winnsboro, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
[WARNING: THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN A SPOILER]

That pretty much says it all. True, an important character dies during the film, but this is a very daring move on the part of the director. I do not care for main characters getting killed, but once in a while it's okay. It gives my "film reality" a jolt, something it needs. As a female assassin, Shu Qi ranks at the top rank of cinematic killers. I have no doubt that she could kill Arnold, Clint Eastwood or Mel Gibson in any film roles. She is also so easy on the eyes that her anti-social job is acceptable. The action is top notch, as is the cinematography. Hong Kong Cinema is far ahead of any other and it shows here. Rating: 8 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was so close to not buying it.........but I'm glad I did!, February 26, 2004
By 
A. Hawkins (Mt Laurel, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
I'm a movie addict who's been getting tired of the same old Hollywood crap, so I decided to try some cool looking asian films. Take it from me, it's a refreshing experience. I saw the "So Close" trailer on the "Returner" DVD, & I wrongly assumed it would be a cheesy movie with girls, guns & Karate. I was so wrong! This has officially become one of my new favorite movies. - Excellent Action (Best sword fight in recent history) - with a good P L O T! Try that Hollywood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect example on why looks can be deceiving, February 6, 2008
By 
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
I admire woman who can hold there own and this film says it all. While watching this I couldn't help but to think of Charlies Angels plus the opening scene with Lynn easily marks out the style of this film. "So Close" revolves around a computer program that can hack all the security cameras on earth. Developed by their dad, the program was inherited by Shu Qi and Vicky Zhao after his death, and rather than sell it and make lots of money, they use it to become career assassins - follow your dreams! But after years of busting caps, Shu Qi has become a hurting-on-the-inside kind of lady. Her passion for being a super cool hit woman has cooled and she's starting to feel sorry for the thousands of people she took away. Unable to bring herself to do more than kneecap the legions of goons she used to blithely blow away, she's started to think about getting out of the game, finding a guy, and settling down. Little sis, Vicky Zhao, on the other hand, wants to be like big sis and open many cans of whup a** on veritable armies of henchmen. Karen Mok, a cop who has run into the glass ceiling so hard she's got a concussion, unwinds from all the razzing she gets from her sexist colleagues by pursuing Vicky and Shu Qi and maybe, just maybe, falling for Vicky in the process. Cop/criminal romances are, historically, really bad ideas but it works really well here.

Flying bullets, spinning sidekicks, supercomputer balderdash, car chases, and shattering sheets of glass tumble off the screen like an all-you-can-eat action feast and it takes a fight with Japanese screen legend Yasuaki Kurata to bring this whole buffet to a close. Corey Yuen deploys the pop ballad "Close To You" all over the soundtrack and here's a chance for a whole new generation to get it stuck in their heads, associating it with images of Shu Qi dealing out death from nickel-plated 9mm's.

"So Close" is a movie that manages the neat trick of being simultaneously super-silly and super-cool. With Corey Yuen bringing years of being Jet Li's action director to the table; and Vicky Zhao, Karen Mok and Shu Qi bringing perfect hair, perfect clothes, and perfect roundhouse kicks, it's like a fashion shoot that cant be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really, It Was SO CLOSE, January 3, 2004
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
I've seen enough Hong Kong actioners to know that they fall into two principal categories: (1) those that are terrific and ignore the possible logic problems of the story or (2) those that are terrific and completely toss logic to the wind. Believe it or not, SO CLOSE actually gravitates between both of these groups.
The film tries to be so much more than what it is: a statement on family loyalty, a testament to budding lesbianism, a barrier-breaking MATRIX-style adventure ... one could go on and on. The subplot involving the two sisters dependence upon one another to complete a single assassination job is a bit heavy on the overall weight of the film, but you can't fault the writer for attempting to give these glitzy girls some depth ... and you certainly can't hold the actresses responsible for giving it their best shot.
Taken as a thrill pill, SO CLOSE works very well on many levels. The pacing is intense, the photography is very well done, the choreography (especially the climax) is exciting, and the performances are better than average. Sure, some comparisons to the look of the flick being dangerously close to a REVLON commercial are merited, but SO CLOSE was never intended to be high art: it is pure popcorn, and it can be enjoyed very well on that level.
Kick back. Get yourself a beer. Start this DVD in the machine and enjoy three beautiful Asian women kicking some real mean butt and shooting some very powerful guns.
Life is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three sexy asian babes, one high-tech, sophisticated, action film, November 5, 2006
By 
Rykre "The Rogue Scholar" (of the vast Western Dystopian Wasteland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
Perhaps, I shouldn't relate this to the American made "Charlie's Angel's" films (those are embarrassingly cheesy), but they did get "plugged" as trailer's on this DVD of "So Close".

Qi Shu, dressed in a white suit, is so hot! I was hesitant to watch this film because someone told me that it's just another "Charlie's Angel's" type film only asian style.

Well, I'd give any movie a try that has gorgeous girls in it. Especially asian and indian films, but this one had some typical american style blockbuster action that helped sell itself to the American audience.

These girls are beautiful, and their roles were very stylish. Qi Shu's little sister Zhao Wei portrays a very innocent, however ambitious, partner with her sister in following up on their murdered father's high-tech computer satellite surveillance technology.

Karen Mok plays a rookie detective who is after these two clever killers-for-hire however she learns more about their "morally-sound higher purpose" intentions and struggles with her job as an undercover detective, and wanting to help the girls with their intentions of saving the world from high-tech corruption.

Other slightly cheesy "babefest" films that I would like to recommend are "D.E.B.S.", "Chasing Papi", "Bride and Prejudice" (Indian film with Aishwarya Rai), "Mean Girls", "View From The Top", "Man of the House", and "Alfie" (with Jude Law). And I'm sure that there are plenty more films where just being a "babefest" on film is the overall intention.

Another important asian film (made in America) is "The Joy Luck Club".

I try not to take movies too seriously. I usually enjoy the art of the visuals more. And seeing pretty girls being kinda "dingy" has a way of being fun, too. However, this movie had beautiful "intelligent" girls.

However, for the sake of "babefests", for some reason, I just couldn't get into "Charlie's Angel's". The original TV series of Charlie's Angel's is still great though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpisingly Cool, August 5, 2004
By 
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
I sat through Corey Yuen's The Transporter because Jason Statham was so cool in Guy Ritchie's films. While viewing that, I was captivated by Qi Shu, which is probably not too difficult to comprehend after seeing her. On that note, when I found this movie selling for $10, I picked it up.

I really wasnt expecting much, other than beautiful women and some wire-fu.

However, I had a fabulous time watching this. For what this film lacks in originality, it makes up for in visual entertainment and style. Granted, even the style seems greatly influenced by John Woo, Yuen Wo Ping, Luc Besson, and Hollywood, but regardless it was such a cool viewing experience.

The filming locations are great, the CGI is cool (a little too much in some scenes, but overall well done), the wire-fu didnt irritate me too much, and the charisma of the acting talent was breathtaking. Im also a guy, and Asian, so Im sure the fact that they are beautiful Asian women kept my attention, but they still packed some serious Asian flair. Furthermore, there was very little exposed flesh, but the facial features and the hair, not to mention the outfits (and the women themselves), were simply stunning. I also enjoyed how one of the villains was the gent from Jet Li's Fist of Legend. He was very cool in that film, and was equally enthralling here.

The basic plot itself is nothing award winning, but the few twists and turns really helped it. The soundtrack was pretty good, and fit into the slow motion scenes well. I had just finished watching an episode of The Simpsons where Marge buys the musical doorbell playing "Close to You", so when the song came on it threw me for a laugh, but it was a nice sharp contrast to the action on-screen. Both the sword fighting scenes and the John Woo gunslinging were entertaining, but the parking lot fight scene was fabulous.

I am really proud of myself for investing money into this film. Its definitely lots of eye candy, but theres nothing wrong with that. Oddly enough, I ended up being more captivated by Vicki Zhao than Qi Shu. Whenever she gave that slightly angled look at the camera it made me sit a little closer to the TV.

But anyway, this is a great action flick, fitted with girls kicking some serious butt, some pretty cool cinematography, good fight scenes, and a very high entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over CHARLIE'S ANGELS, June 28, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
Yes, I am a sucker for Lucy Liu. Though the original CHARLIE'S ANGELS was pretty good with some cool fight scenes, FULL THROTTLE was not. She was THE reason I took interest in the CHARLIE'S ANGELS flicks, even if the martial arts battles in FULL THROTTLE were insipid, banal, and poorly chreographed (at best.)
But it looks as though Charlie's so called ANGELS may have some competition from (where else?) Hong Kong. Yes, I am also a sucker for Shu Qi, "Vicki" Zhao Wei, and Karen Mok, and even if the sight of Shu Qi and Vicki Zhao in black cocktail dresses ain't enough for you, the fight scenes will certainly make you wonder why anyone ever entrusted McG with making a decent martial arts film.
Let's just go to the scoreboard:
FULL THROTTLE-Demi Moore flying off a building in an almost see-through skirt, that stupid thin man showing up for no reason at all, Cameron Diaz constantly giggling like the buck-toothed geek she is, Drew Barrymore performing what may be the weakest spinning hook kick in film history (no wonder why Demi Moore catches her from behind, even though Demi herself is not much better),Lucy Liu dancing circles around everyone else, and making FULL THROTTLE at least somewhat redeemable.
SO CLOSE-Shu Qi and Vicki Zhao sparring in their bathroom, Karen Mok beating the snot out of some guys in an elevator, Shu Qi vs Karen Mok in a parking garage, Vicki Zhao and Karen Mok vs Smaurai bad guy, etc.
Do you think that even with Lucy Liu, FULL THROTTLE can hold a candle to SO CLOSE?
Neither do I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's cheesy and you know it's cheesy, so just enjoy it. SPOILERS, October 18, 2006
By 
Emmeaki "Emmeaki" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
You will NOT find the meaning of life in this movie, but if you want to veg out and enjoy a good action flick, this is it. When I saw the opening shots of Hong Kong, all glitzy with neon lights, I knew this movie was going to be cheesy. The assassin with her "controller" guiding her through the job reminded me of Max Headroom circa 1987, and I decided to enjoy this movie for what it was.

The action scenes were excellent despite the CGI effects of flying bullets and shattering glass. My only complaint was the soap opera-like plot line where Ai Lin wants to stop being an assassin because she fell in love. (Cue sappy music!) And I can't believe that her wholesome boyfriend would have handled things so easily when he found out what she did for a living.

I also wish there was a little more background on the sisters becoming assassins--all we know is that businessmen broke into their house (to steal her father's invention) and killed their parents and one of the businessmen inexplicably turned on his partners and gave one of the girls a gun to fight back. Oh, and after Ai Lin died, her sister cried for what seemed like ten minutes and it was freaking depressing!

Still, the action was great and the most of the movie was fast paced. And as a woman, it's nice to see women kick butt on screen. (I'll ignore the tight clothes and the tops that are strategically slashed during fighting, revealing the heroins' bras.)

Don't take this movie too seriously, just enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HeLL!!! VerY DamN close, May 28, 2004
By 
"julian4everpepz" (South Bay area, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Close (DVD)
I was blown away by the movie. My girlfriend and i saw it together one day, she recomended it. At first, I was thinking "man it's another chick flick, with retarded girls throwing punches back and forth", but then after the first sequence I changed my view completely, I now have more respect for Hong Kong Screenplay writters and Directors.
The Plot and sub-plot were carried out so well, props for the writter. The drama part of the movie made my girlfriend near the end, man it got to me too at a certain point the flashback part.
But anyway, the Action! unlike any other... definatly OUTSTANDING, way better than Charles' Angels. you know what Charles' Angles is no comparison, man the parking lot scene was THE best! Su qi and xiao wei are like a dynamic dual that kick buTT and Karen MOk man... can do anything.
SO CLOSE is a definately a must in your collection. What beats asian chicks fighting in a very unique combination of old shaolin and new street fighting with gun action. Just amazing, on top of that a great plot, and pretty top-notch acting (watch the subtitled if you can't understand chinese, it's way better), oh and last but not least a bit of chick and chick action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

So Close
So Close by Corey Yuen (DVD - 2003)
$19.99 $6.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.