Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb, easy-to-follow resource for both individual study and physical education
Youth athlete coach Marty Schupak and the Youth Sports Club present 34 Soccer Goalie Drills, a no-nonsense DVD guide to techniques for improving one's goalkeeping skills, intended for soccer goalkeepers of all ages and skill levels. Subjects covered include goalkeeping conditioning drills, diving skills, breakaway goalie defense, lateral skill techniques, punting...
Published on December 11, 2005 by Midwest Book Review

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Practically all positive reviews for this DVD are fake
I am right now doing research to find some good DVDs for my youngest son, who plays soccer in a U9 Academy team, and loves to play goalie.

I am finding out that practically all positive reviews for this product, and for all Marty Schupak products, are fake. The techniques used are pretty interesting. First, the basic shills: 5-star reviewers who review...
Published 14 months ago by camisdad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb, easy-to-follow resource for both individual study and physical education, December 11, 2005
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
Youth athlete coach Marty Schupak and the Youth Sports Club present 34 Soccer Goalie Drills, a no-nonsense DVD guide to techniques for improving one's goalkeeping skills, intended for soccer goalkeepers of all ages and skill levels. Subjects covered include goalkeeping conditioning drills, diving skills, breakaway goalie defense, lateral skill techniques, punting techniques, games, bonus tips and more. A superb, easy-to-follow resource for both individual study and physical education, recommended for aspiring goalies age 10 and up. 34 min., color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Practically all positive reviews for this DVD are fake, October 20, 2013
By 
camisdad "camisdad" (Berkeley, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
I am right now doing research to find some good DVDs for my youngest son, who plays soccer in a U9 Academy team, and loves to play goalie.

I am finding out that practically all positive reviews for this product, and for all Marty Schupak products, are fake. The techniques used are pretty interesting. First, the basic shills: 5-star reviewers who review positively all Marty Schupak products. Then, to make it more believable, reviewers who only give 4 stars, but still spend their reviewing careers positively reviewing Marty Schupak products.

Where you reach real hutzpah is when Marty Schupak uses some of his shills to actually comment on *REAL REVIEWERS* who pan his products, by criticizing the actual reviewer! Now that's a beauty. Another interesting approach (see Peter Ramos below) is to have a shill comment on how there are good and bad reviews of the product, but he personally finds is quite good, although not quite as good as the 5-star reviews say! But, if you check Peter Ramos, he also has the track record of a Marty Schupak shill :-)

Here is the list of reviewers that I believe to be shills for this DVD: Midwest Book Review (50,000 reviews, all positive...), Sports Spirit, Rita Derosa, Robert Scott, Peter Ramos, Carl Smith, Louis Trent, Mark Depeter, Victor Green, Mark Wilson, and E. DeRosa - that's practically all the good reviews for this DVD.

On the other hand, the bad reviews are all Amazon verified purchases...

So far, the best reviewed DVD I have found is Keeper! Soccer Safekeeping with Coach Tony Waiters. And - the reviews for that DVD actually appear authentic :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Downside To This Soccer Program!, December 21, 2009
By 
Robert Scott (Baltimore,Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
Reading mixed reviews, I first went to Amazon's Video On Demand
program and paid $1.99 for a seven day download. It was the best two
bucks I ever spent. I then went out and bought 2 copies for my brother
who coaches goalies in a Division Three college in the Northeast. He loved the program and insists
the positives outweigh any negatives. His goalies were already familiar with
a few of the drills but used the others and even improvised to create some new ones.
Our goalies on our youth level team also practiced the drills and techniques
and we saw improvement throughout the season. If you have any doubt, do what I did
for the $1.99 then you decide.
VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

34 Soccer Goalie Drills
The above soccer DVD is also available on Amazon's Video On Demand Program.

Soccer Coaching:Schupak's Soccer 6 Pack DVD Set
This set by Marty Schupak is popular with soccer coaches and parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Goalie Skills & Drills With Excellent Tips, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
34 SOCCER GOALIE DRILLS is a quality video about 36-38 minutes in length. I took it out of my local library and went ahead and purchased the DVD from Amazon based on the strength of the content. Each drill is described by a voice over narrator.

The drills have names like: Soft Hands, Sit Up & Catch, Circle Drill, Fundamental Diving and One Fisted Box to name a few. Each of the drill’s descriptions are done very well as it is synched perfectly with the visual action you are viewing. I would recommend this program for soccer teams from ages 8-18. Each of the drills can be adjusted to the age and skill of the players. An excellent residual benefit of this program is some of the drills the teams are doing to test the goalie. Have your remote ready to stop, replay and slow motion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very instructional, December 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
Well rounded excercises and drills in a fast pace viseo. Intructions are short and to the point, drills are executed in a back yard making any grassy area a place to practice. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for conditioning and awareness building, October 25, 2014
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
This video was very helpful to develop my goalie last year. Lots of simple straightforward drills that help develop goalie skill and conditioning. By the end of the season I was able to see notable gains in my goalie's awareness and reaction time to shots on goal. I definitely recommend this to development of middle school level goalies though I would say that it may require some personal tweaks to fit certain practice conditions. Scaffolding to the experience level of goalies is key as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must for goalies, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
My daughter is a goalie but most of the practices do not focus on her. This is a must for goalies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Recommended, September 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
Unless you are desperate for new drills, don't waste your money on this DVD. The drills are OK, but that's about it. Ball handling is terrible. Who wants to watch drills, where the technique is wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Low end - Not very professional - Training very basic, November 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
I have been coaching and playing keeper for over 30 years I have been researching video's for training goalkeepers and coaches and this one is not very good. First you need to have all players involved in proper equipment.
They have one keeper in tennis shoes. It is shot and put together very shoddy. When a keeper makes a mistake in technique and there are many they don't correct it.
It is designed to give you a set number of drills that is it. The drills are very basic. It shows some technique correctly but I would not recommend it for any coach or player learning to train or play keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Novice Goalkeeping, June 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills (DVD)
This DVD has good drills for a beginner goalkeeper, but isn't useful for the more experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills
Soccer Coaching:34 Soccer Goalie Drills by Soccer Techniques (DVD - 2005)
$24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.