Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What makes this book different is the author has written a book about what he does with regard to social media.
It is kind of surprising that the author of this book, who has quite an online following, has only come up with 8 reviewers for his book to date. Normally a "connected" Internet guy will leverage his or her followers through blog posts, tweets, and ezine messages to get positive reviews posted on Amazon for his book. That doesn't seem to be the case here. I wonder...
Published on April 6, 2011 by Jeff Lippincott

versus
28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible: Full of broad, generic statements and repetitive
I bought this book based on other user reviews in hopes of gaining some good insights into Social Media marketing for a local non profit. I found it so short on specifics, so generic, and so repetitive that I "read" the first 15% of it in 20 minutes. An example of the pablum text, "Your job, as a master of business social media, is to attract them, not to beg them. Your...
Published on June 15, 2011 by Daniel M. Saroff


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What makes this book different is the author has written a book about what he does with regard to social media., April 6, 2011
This review is from: Social BOOM!: How to Master Business Social Media to Brand Yourself, Sell Yourself, Sell Your Product, Dominate Your Industry Market, Save Your Butt, ... and Grind Your Competition into the Dirt (Hardcover)
It is kind of surprising that the author of this book, who has quite an online following, has only come up with 8 reviewers for his book to date. Normally a "connected" Internet guy will leverage his or her followers through blog posts, tweets, and ezine messages to get positive reviews posted on Amazon for his book. That doesn't seem to be the case here. I wonder why???

I first heard of Gitomer in 2004 when I was working down in Charleston, SC for a nonprofit fundraising-consulting firm. The lead consultant loved getting Gitomer's "Sales Caffeine" ezine and clicking through to the sales rants Gitmer penned and starred in. David would holler into my office and say: You gotta check out Gitomer on this rant. I'll have to admit some of those rants were pretty commical.

Now, about the book at hand. I'm a tough grader when it comes to social media books these days. I've read a ton of them (and posted reviews for some) and there rarely is much worth reading printed these days. Social Boom is better than most, though. Not because the book is particularly enlightening. No, because it is NOT all that enlightening. What makes this book different is the author has written a book about what he does with regard to social media. And he has been pretty successful with it I might add. I recommend you read the book, but more importantly you should study everything the author has done online to build his Internet presence. It's all there to be found, looked at, studied, analyzed, and interpretted. It's the combination of the book and the author's online presence that make the book worth something.

Gitomer is basically a sales trainer who has become an expert at self-promotion. I suspect his bread and butter money come from large corporations that hire him to do in-house sales training sessions. He's a public speaker, an author, and in my humble opinion a digital video star. Does he really provide value like he claims? Not really. He's a mouthpiece and an entertainer. But that is what self-promotion is all about.

The core to Gitomer's self-promotion empire is a basic Web site, an ezine mailing list, You Tube videos, and his books. The linkedin, twitter, and facebook are all add-ons. Linkedin is a nice place to look for prospects. It might be a good place to find CEOs who can pay for sales training. Twitter is just a mini ezine mailing list. And facebook, that's a joke unless you are looking for business in Africa or some other 3rd world country. 4 stars!

PS. I don't think Gitomer would be nearly as successful at what he does if he did not write, produce, and star-in his You Tube videos. I think if you took his videos out of the mix he would not have nearly as much to talk about in this book as he does. Having said this, I thought the book should have had more on how to write, produce, and upload videos into You Tube. He doesn't go into much detail about that and without that you won't have the success that he has had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible: Full of broad, generic statements and repetitive, June 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book based on other user reviews in hopes of gaining some good insights into Social Media marketing for a local non profit. I found it so short on specifics, so generic, and so repetitive that I "read" the first 15% of it in 20 minutes. An example of the pablum text, "Your job, as a master of business social media, is to attract them, not to beg them. Your job is not to find them. Your success will come from letting them find you." Sounds like bad motivational speech or a fortune cookie. How does one act on this? Reading further, never provides specifics or a checklist or case studies. The other authors frequently recapitulate each other's content. It feels like it was created as a series of PowerPoint seminars and dumped into book form.

If I could get my money back, I would. You can find more useful information free on the Internet by searching for "business social media" and "social media marketing".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SKIP THIS ONE!, April 4, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social BOOM!: How to Master Business Social Media to Brand Yourself, Sell Yourself, Sell Your Product, Dominate Your Industry Market, Save Your Butt, ... and Grind Your Competition into the Dirt (Hardcover)
I'm a big Gitomer fan & have all his books but this one SUCKS! (I tried to think of a nicer way to put that but I simply couldn't!)

You've heard of books that you can't put down; well this one you can't pick up. The information is nothing that one couldn't get from a FAQ or a Google search & it's full of guest contributors that don't really offer anything. In addition, it's a boring read.

It has no real bite or substance. That said, I'm hoping his upcoming "The Little Book of Leadership" is better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just an elaborate sales pitch. Not worth it., June 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you expect to find relevant and not obvious information regarding how to master business social media - as the book title suggests - then you'd better look elsewhere.

The author's advices are quite shallow and repetitive. He makes heavy use of the sense of urgency, something common in hype topics like social media.

After reading the whole book I was even more disappointed with the author's attempt to sell his services in the last chapter (AceOfSales.com). Somehow I got the feeling that the book is just an elaborate sales pitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Gitomer... More value than price!, March 19, 2011
By 
Jack "Coach Jack" (Brownsburg, IN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social BOOM!: How to Master Business Social Media to Brand Yourself, Sell Yourself, Sell Your Product, Dominate Your Industry Market, Save Your Butt, ... and Grind Your Competition into the Dirt (Hardcover)
I just received my copy of Social Boom... I don't know what I was expecting but I was pleasantly surprised at first and now thrilled! The book it typical Gitomer... before you jump to conclusions about that statement... it's been my experience that he consistently provides more value than price! This book is a great book for the person exploring to see if social media is for them or their firm. Additionally, there are strategy tips, application tips and resources all jam paced into 189 pages. At every page turn there was more to absorb... why, how, and "you better or you're behind" lessons!
I highly recommend this book! If you're asking... should I..? or How do I..? or where (which social media venue) do I..? Buy this book... give it a read and you will know! Thanks Jeffrey! Great Job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All the gravitas of an exploding Twinkie, February 14, 2012
This review is from: Social BOOM!: How to Master Business Social Media to Brand Yourself, Sell Yourself, Sell Your Product, Dominate Your Industry Market, Save Your Butt, ... and Grind Your Competition into the Dirt (Hardcover)
Jeffrey Gitomer's book Social Boom is exciting, motivational and fun - lightweight, but it works because Gitomer dispenses some good generalist advice without taking himself too seriously. I liked his messages such as

- Take advantage of your advantage
- Identify what already makes you fascinating
- Stand out or don't bother

Note that many of the brief chapters are written by subject-matter experts other than Gitomer, such as Noah Rickun, Mike O'Neil, Mark Schaefer, Sally Hogshead, etc.

Overall, worth a perusal. Social Boom has lots of hype, but not as much ego trip as other published social media titles on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your own social boom template in a book, March 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social BOOM!: How to Master Business Social Media to Brand Yourself, Sell Yourself, Sell Your Product, Dominate Your Industry Market, Save Your Butt, ... and Grind Your Competition into the Dirt (Hardcover)
Social boom builds a strategy or a plan that is easy to implement even for the least tech savvy person. Business has changed more in the last 5 years than it has in the previous 50 years because of what social media does to reach the client or the clients tribe.
It used to be that major companies ruled the world because they had a large advertising budget, now a kid in the middle of nowhere who has an internet connection is a threat to large organizations because of the ability to connect through Facebook, twitter, LinkedIn or any of the other social media sites. If a kid in the middle of nowhere can make that type of impact what do you think that you could do?
There are plenty of easy ideas to implement from this book. Jeffrey advocates to put an hour a day into social media even if you are getting started, just do something. As a strategy you can learn more about the people who like your brand or product in 5 days and for free then you could with a scientific study, on the other hand you can find out the bad side of what people think of you or your organization. You can even research your competition to find out what they are up to.
The book states a great point that the realm is all about engagement, engage your clients, engage your friends or just flat out engage everyone by getting on board .
Even though this book can be read in a few hours or less it is more important to implement what was read and learned instead of just becoming a well-read expert. The book pushes doing something and getting into social media as soon as possible while the competition is still thinking it's a fad that will go away.
This book is a beginner's guide wrapped up into a super-secret strategy that is easy to follow. Some people get frustrated just to hear social media because they do not know where to start.
I do like that Jeffrey had other experts write some of the chapters just to give the book more appeal. Over all this book is solid with the information and the plans that are laid out. This is just like all of his other products that are jammed packed with well thought out ideas and or strategies that you probably would have had to pay a social media consultant thousands to hear and all for less than $30.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little guide to social media, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Social Boom: How to Master Business Social Media" by Jeffrey Gitomer is a great little guide book on using social media to brand yourself, sell yourself, and more. It's not really a book you need to read cover to cover, but rather a book of short chapters, lists, and input from other experts besides Gitomer.

The book contains different size fonts, bullet points, lists, colored text, and a few graphics. All of these make it an easy and quick read, as well as one with the important ingredients highlighted.

The book focuses on the big four: Facebook, Linkedin, Twitter and Youtube. (There is also a lot about blogging, the glue that binds these all together.) In a nutshell, this book tells you why you should be using all of these platforms and how you should be using them. The key ingredient to how is to provide value.

I think the book has a lot of practical advice along with a motivational message of "start doing this today!" I'm going to keep this book handy as a revamp my social media efforts. If you have a business, using social media is almost a necessity. Gitomer's "Social Boom!" is a great little book to help you use the main vehicles the most effectively.

Reviewed by Alain Burrese, J.D., author of Hard-Won Wisdom From The School Of Hard Knocks (Revised and Expanded): How To Avoid A Fight And Things To Do When You Can't Or Don't Want To and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GITOMER is dead on again!, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the way that Gitomer writes in a non-nonsense, in your face style. He tells it they way it is and not what you may want to hear. Always takes it back to personal responsibility to do what you need to be doing.

If you are not using Social Media fully, and you're probably not, then this book is a must read. I learned and applied a lot to my work habits and it's produced some great results.

Roland Johnson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening and Powerful, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jeffrey Gitomer's approach on the ever-changing social media was insightful and useful. As a rookie in the social media world, his tips and techniques were right on track. Bravo! Definitely a book that everyone should read...

Herb Silverman
Like me on Facebook: www.facebook.com/herb.silverman.5
Follow me on Twitter: @hwsilverman
Join me on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/herbert-w-silverman-mba/7/b55/642/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.