Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE essential book of social entrepreneurship
It usually takes me two months to read a nonfiction book. However in this case I read Bornstein and Davis in less than 5 days because I was completely engaged with their explanations and definitions of everything related to social entrepreneurship.
I was fully inspired by Bornstein's "How to change the world" and the cases he presented. In his new book with Davis I...
Published on July 28, 2010 by Marcelo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a good intro in social entrepreneurship
A good overview of the rapidly changing field of social entrepreneurship. Lots of examples and references. A starting point for further explorations.
Published 10 months ago by T. L. M. Groot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE essential book of social entrepreneurship, July 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It usually takes me two months to read a nonfiction book. However in this case I read Bornstein and Davis in less than 5 days because I was completely engaged with their explanations and definitions of everything related to social entrepreneurship.
I was fully inspired by Bornstein's "How to change the world" and the cases he presented. In his new book with Davis I understood more about social entrepreneurship, its challenges, strengths, etc.
I have been working on an organization that promotes social entrepreneurship for more than 3 years; after reading this book I understand more about my organization and my role.
I believe that this book is crucial for everyone interested in social innovation, public service or social entrepreneurship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book so far on social entrepreneurship, October 2, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The most comprehensive overview of social entrepreneurship yet also the shortest and most concise. Each section gives you the needed background about a topic, then summarizes what is happening now with short but insightful comments on every topic. This is, in one short book, the best primer for those who want an overview of the field but also the most penetrating analysis for practitioners. Bornstein's deep knowledge of social entrepreneurship, from the entrepreneurs to the concepts and emerging trends all shine through on every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to Social Entrepreneurship, February 12, 2011
The book provides an excellent introduction to social entrepreneurship and how individuals can play a role in creating social change. The authors walk us through what social entrepreneurship is, the pioneers and how it is different from government, activism, and traditional entrepreneurship. The next section covers the challenges of addressing some of societies most intractable problems through entrepreneurial endeavors. The book concludes with a discussion how to envision an innovating society where people are taking charge of making long term systemic change to society. A must read for anyone new to the field of social entrepreneurship or wants to help create social change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social entrepreneurship: what it is, how it works, where it's going, June 25, 2012
By 
Mal Warwick (Berkeley, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Entrepreneurship: What Everyone Needs to Know (Kindle Edition)
After three decades of increasingly widespread public attention, a surprisingly large number of commentators in the field of social entrepreneurship continue to argue about the most basic question of all: What is a social enterprise, and what isn't? In this superb little book, David Bornstein and Susan Davis straightforwardly put this question to rest: "Social entrepreneurship is a process by which citizens build or transform institutions to advance solutions to social problems, such as poverty, illness, illiteracy, environmental destruction, human rights abuses, and corruption, in order to make life better for many." So much for all those deconstructionists who contend that a social enterprise must never turn a profit, or must always turn a profit, or must address some sorts of problems but not others!

As an introduction to the field, Social Entrepreneurship is unmatched.

Most books on social entrepreneurship feature case studies or vignettes starring some of the field's most innovative and successful individuals. This was the case with an earlier book of Bornstein's, How to Change the World, which is widely (and rightfully) regarded as "the bible" of the field. By contrast, the three short chapters that constitute Social Entrepreneurship ask and answer the most fundamental questions that any reader unfamiliar with the pursuit of social change might ask, first clarifying the definition of social entrepreneurship, then examining the practical challenges practitioners face, and finally "Envisioning an Innovating Society." In that third chapter, Bornstein and Davis discuss how government, academia, business, philanthropy, and the news media might contribute to fashioning the "everyone a changemaker" world posited by Ashoka's Bill Drayton.

As the authors point out, "Social entrepreneurs have always existed. But in the past they were called visionaries, humanitarians, philanthropists, reformers, saints, or simply great leaders. Attention was paid to their courage, compassion, and vision but rarely to the practical aspects of their accomplishments. Thus, people may know about the moral teachings of St. Francis but not about how the Franciscans became the fastest growing religious order of its day. Children learn that Florence Nightingale ministered to wounded soldiers but not that she built the first professional school for nurses and revolutionized hospital construction. Gandhi is remembered for demonstrations of nonviolent rsistance but not for building a decentralized political apparatus that enabled India to make a successful transition to self-rule." And if St. Francis, Florence Nightingale, and Gandhi exemplified the isolated and occasional social entrepreneurs of yesteryear, there are thousands of courageous individuals now walking parallel paths to institutional change on every continent -- backed up by a growing suport network that includes Ashoka, the Skoll Foundation, the Schwab Center for Social Entrepreneurship, Avina, and many other organizations. Given the enormity of the challenges facing humanity in the 21st Century, their combined efforts may represent our last, best hope to create a world in which our grandchildren can live healthy, rewarding lives.

David Bornstein and Susan Davis came to the task of writing this book with impeccable qualifications. In addition to How to Change the World, which went into a second edition in 2007, Bornstein wrote The Price of a Dream: The Story of the Grameen Bank, first published in 1996. He is the preeminent journalist in the field. Davis is a supremely accomplished activist, having served as a founding member of the Grameen Foundation and then co-founding BRAC USA, which she serves as President and CEO. (BRAC began its institutional life as a Bangladeshi nonprofit, later expanding to many other countries around the world. It is regarded as the world's largest NGO.) She also helps select Ashoka Fellows. Previously, she held a series of senior positions with the Ford Foundation, Women's World Banking, the International Labor Organisation, and other institutions.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very thought-provoking book, June 5, 2010
By 
T. Pryor "Pop" (Arlington, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What do you get when you combine business skills with social conscience? A social entrepreneur. Social entrepreneurs recognize when a part of society is stuck and offers new ways to get society unstuck. They don't just give a fish or even teach people how to fish. They revolutionize fishing. Examples in the book of social entrepreneurs are the micro-loan Grameen Bank, Mothers Against Drunk Driving and Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee. This book is great for people who see a big problem in society, e.g., high school drop out rates of 50%+ among Hispanic males, divorce rates 50%+ and unemployment rates of 10%, and tackle the issues using little money but lots of energy and innovation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading in schools and by world leaders, August 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Entrepreneurship: What Everyone Needs to Know (Kindle Edition)
We spend most of our days taking in messages about all the problems and wrongs plaguing the world, but Bornstein provides a fresh approach -- highlighting the visionaries who are doing something to fix all those things that need fixing. Whether you're new to world of social entrepreneurship or working in the field, this book will leave you inspired to join the leaders who are showing that it is possible to do work that has lasting impact. This book should be required reading for students of all ages, and for decision-makers around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book !, April 25, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This text goes through methodology of changing communities with others. I thought it had some great ideas for initiating a change to take place and ways to get others on board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, April 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the best books I've read lately, and I highly recommend it for anyone who considers themselves a Social Entrepreneur or who seeks to work in the field of Social Enterprise. I felt as though the writers knew me personally, and I gleaned much and was encouraged tremendously throughout every page of this book. Well worth the small investment of $11.53. I am putting together teams and a network of women in social enterprise and will have this on the top of the list of books that must be read. Order today and let's get the reviews going!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of an important topic, January 17, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Entrepreneurship: What Everyone Needs to Know (Kindle Edition)
This book is a great place to start for anyone who wants to participate in changing the world.I know,the idea of one person changing the world may sound crazy to many, but this book isn't for "the many";it's for those who have the audacity to believe that the world is full of potential to be "better" and they could be a catalyst for that better.The book is a toolbox filled with tangible information on where to start,who to see and what to do to change things at any level you can imagine from just within you to your family or even the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving guidebook to social entrepreneurship, May 27, 2011
George Soros once said, "Let business be business and philanthropy be philanthropy. Keep the two separate." And never the twain shall meet. However, even Soros, capitalist businessman and philanthropist extraordinaire, eventually succumbed to seeing the merits of and need for social enterprise. David Bornstein and Susan Davis, two scholars of social innovation, offer a truly inspiring book about the noble, burgeoning field of "social entrepreneurship." They offer recognition to the countless anonymous individuals who address the world's most intractable problems, and they dole out useful advice to the "changemakers" who give voices to people who have none. Although this guide may be a tad basic for workers at established social enterprises, getAbstract recommends it as a wonderful source of tips and inspiration to budding social entrepreneurs in all fields who strive to change the world for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.