Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field guide to the Social Business
In my consulting work at Socialmedia.biz, I still run into executives and top-tier managers who think of social networking as an employee productivity drain. For anyone who shares a similar point of view, run to your nearest bookstore and pick up a copy of "Social Marketing to the Business Customer" by Paul Gillin and Eric Schwartzman.

The book is chock full of...
Published on March 31, 2011 by J. D. Lasica

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview but no specifics
I was looking for more specifics than what I found here. If you don't know anything about social media it's a good introduction, but if you're looking for specifics on utilizing and optimizing on sites like LinkedIn, twitter, or Facebook it doesn't really deliver any level of detail.
Published 7 months ago by Aubree Hoover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field guide to the Social Business, March 31, 2011
By 
This review is from: Social Marketing to the Business Customer: Listen to Your B2B Market, Generate Major Account Leads, and Build Client Relationships (Hardcover)
In my consulting work at Socialmedia.biz, I still run into executives and top-tier managers who think of social networking as an employee productivity drain. For anyone who shares a similar point of view, run to your nearest bookstore and pick up a copy of "Social Marketing to the Business Customer" by Paul Gillin and Eric Schwartzman.

The book is chock full of meaty, real-world examples of how to grow your business using B2B and B2C strategies and tactics. The authors show how companies can use social media to forge deep, productive relationships with customers and lure new customers into the fold.

Channeling Shel Israel in "Twitterville," they cite a Dell senior manager Richard Binhammer's admonition: "Don't waste your time trying to convert atheists. Work on the agnostics in the room -- doubters who might be turned into believers through conversation."

The authors explain how a Midwestern distributor of solar panels could use Twitter's advanced search feature to scout out anyone discussing the term "solar panels" within a 100-mile radius of Chicago.

In devoting a chapter to search, the authors reveal some of the tactics that social marketers use to suss out keywords that customers are using to discuss your business -- and where they're discussing it. Sometimes it calls for a shift in the language you use on your own website or blog. "If you're blogging about `solar cells' but your customers are searching for `solar power,' you're speaking two different languages," they write.

Social media platforms and services -- LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, podcasts -- are covered in depth. Businesses' use of Twitter is more robust than you might imagine. By the beginning of 2010, some 70 percent of B2B marketers were using Twitter compared with 46 percent of B2C marketers.

While you can find zillions of "social media gurus" online who can set up a Facebook Page or Twitter account for your business, you're really not going anywhere unless you have a strategy. And Gillin and Schwartzman deliver with a deep dive into identifying business goals and mapping them to metrics. "Setting a goal like `increase sales' is too general because there are far too many ways to attack the task," they write. "A better goal is `increase sales of left-handed finambulators by 50 percent by expanding distribution channels.' "

The authors also offer a timely look at how companies can take advantage of crowdsourcing to improve their products and internal processes. Brands using customer forums include Dell's IdeaStorm, Procter & Gamble's Connect + Develop, BestBuy's IdeaX, Starbucks' MyStarbucks Idea and Salesforce.com's IdeaExchange. UserVoice has developed a number of innovation forums for customers for companies such as Nokia and Sun (now part of Oracle).

Influence, decision-making, lead generation -- it's all here. Whether you're a small business owner looking to get your arms around social media, a senior manager at a Fortune 1000 business or a marketer trying to pick up tips about this dynamic new landscape, "Social Marketing" has something chewy to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read Resource For Business, January 25, 2011
This review is from: Social Marketing to the Business Customer: Listen to Your B2B Market, Generate Major Account Leads, and Build Client Relationships (Hardcover)
If you work in marketing for any size company there are three reasons you need to buy AND READ this book.

1) You'll gain the knowledge you need to spend your dollars wisely.

2) You'll learn the technical terms that will let you ask the right questions in the right way with the right words.

3) You'll see that you absolutely need to stop whatever you are doing immediately and get a social media strategy. The world is changing before our eyes!

Thanks Paul and Eric for your bravery and willingness to go to market with your book first. I wish I had your foresight and your courage!

Social Marketing to the Business Customer: Listen to Your B2B Market, Generate Major Account Leads, and Build Client Relationships
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for B2B social marketing, January 3, 2013
By 
Amazon Addict (Locust Grove, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Most people don't realize the distinct differences between marketing to consumers and marketing to other businesses. This is also true within social media, and this book helps to clarify those differences and sets out guidelines which will help anyone new to this field get on the right track. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to know more about B2B marketing on social media platforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource!, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fantastic resource for coming up with a B2B plan that works! I found myself highlighting every few pages and referring to it when I'm crafting proposals or presentations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading for every B2B company, February 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Marketing to the Business Customer: Listen to Your B2B Market, Generate Major Account Leads, and Build Client Relationships (Hardcover)
I just started to read this book but I can tell you already that it should be required reading for any B2B company, especially for folks in upper management. The funny thing is I found this book totally by accident, which was a pleasant surprise. I went to Barnes and Noble looking for some books on other business topics and I happen to see this one on an end cap. Frankly, I was actually a bit shocked as it never crossed my mind that there might already be a book out on this subject. I assumed it would be another 3 years or so for a book of its nature to appear, if it ever did.

Anyone who has been involved in social media for the past few years, whether for business or pleasure, already knows the value of it however what's not apparent at first is how it may apply to B2B relationships. Not only does this book put your mind at ease on the value of such interactions it also provides great examples. The section on ROI is one of the first chapters I read and the authors really did a great job on covering this topic. ROI has always been a tough topic in relation to social media but they tackled it better than anyone I've seen so far.

I cannot wait to finish reading the whole book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real practical advice from social media experts, February 2, 2011
By 
This review is from: Social Marketing to the Business Customer: Listen to Your B2B Market, Generate Major Account Leads, and Build Client Relationships (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book, and should be a must read for any B2B marketer. There is so much practical advice here that it will be hard to summarize in this short review, but this book is filled with case studies of what worked and what didn't on various social media campaigns and how it is used in daily life by leading corporations, and some unknown ones too. The authors (both of whom I count as colleagues) really know how to portray information that is actionable, clear, and cogent. You'll find out how to use Twitter for crises management, how to make use of free analytic tools to roll your own search engine optimization, how to improve your company's LinkedIn and Facebook footprint, and more. Don't waste any time on overpriced experts (unless you plan on hiring Paul or Eric themselves), spend some time on this book and you will be more than halfway there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Social does work in the business world, January 30, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Marketing to the Business Customer: Listen to Your B2B Market, Generate Major Account Leads, and Build Client Relationships (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:21 Mins

As the President of the B2B lead generation company, Find New Customers, I'm often asked if social media works in the business world, as it does for consumer products companies like Doritos and Coca-Cola. Paul and Eric have done a masterful job of addressing this important question. They cite many examples and even quote me (pages 164-165). Social Marketing to the Business Customer does work. I highly recommend this book for top sales and marketing executives in B2B companies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview but no specifics, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Marketing to the Business Customer: Listen to Your B2B Market, Generate Major Account Leads, and Build Client Relationships (Hardcover)
I was looking for more specifics than what I found here. If you don't know anything about social media it's a good introduction, but if you're looking for specifics on utilizing and optimizing on sites like LinkedIn, twitter, or Facebook it doesn't really deliver any level of detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2012 info was relevant, July 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Marketing to the Business Customer: Listen to Your B2B Market, Generate Major Account Leads, and Build Client Relationships (Hardcover)
funny how social media works but then it becomes less effective quickly.

good read if you don't pay over $15

info is generic now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, April 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Marketing to the Business Customer: Listen to Your B2B Market, Generate Major Account Leads, and Build Client Relationships (Hardcover)
Simple and to the point. This is a must book for those interested in social marketing. a book to keep!

Roberto Anez Nava
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.