Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must read. Insightful and practical
I really enjoyed this book and found it both extremely thought provoking and practical. It has some smart insights, introduces a clear framework for understanding and approaching social media marketing and then explains the specifics of how to market on each of the social media platforms while recognizing that this is part of the marketing puzzle and not the whole one. It...
Published on November 16, 2009 by Kristen

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple stuff I already kno
This would be a great book if I was completely new to facebook or Twitter. Most of the info I already knew, but does have some great points.
Published on May 19, 2010 by Elizabeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must read. Insightful and practical, November 16, 2009
By 
Kristen (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book and found it both extremely thought provoking and practical. It has some smart insights, introduces a clear framework for understanding and approaching social media marketing and then explains the specifics of how to market on each of the social media platforms while recognizing that this is part of the marketing puzzle and not the whole one. It really seems like a one stop shop in terms of covering the basics, the more strategic concepts (including mobile social media) and the practicalities of what you can "buy" and "earn" across the social web. I definitely recommend this book to read. Its thoughtful, specific and actionable and not hype driven. The author obviously has a lot of experience in this space and it shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read even if you're not a dummy, November 16, 2009
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
Great resource for marketers looking to incorporate social strategies and tactics but not sure where to begin. Covers a wide variety of topics which makes it helpful for anyone needing best practices and tips regardless of industry or market size. Well done Shiv!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes social safe for marketers, November 17, 2009
By 
David Deal (Downers Grove, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
"Social Media Marketing for Dummies" is the perfect antidote for any marketer who fears that "going social" is something that only consumers do. After reading this book you'll see why businesses large and small have every reason to embrace the social world, too, so long as they are willing to develop a more authentic social voice and become more responsive to consumers. In the tradition of the "For Dummies" series, Shiv Singh's book gives the marketer a gentle nudge into the social world with some practical tips on topics ranging from how to launch a social campaign to applying metrics. By the way, the "For Dummies" title is something of a misnomer. Shiv's insights are quite applicable for experts, too, an example being his chapter on building a Social Influence Marketing mobile campaign. I work closely with Shiv at Razorfish and am lucky to enjoy the benefit of his insights all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read and required to help understand and excell with social media marketing, November 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a great read, covering both the basics and advanced elements for Social Media Marketing. His deep academic, practical, and hands on understanding is unmatched. If you want your digital properties to be found, you must master this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taking Your Knowledge To The Next Level, July 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
"Social Media is today the most important phenomena transforming the Internet."

If you are a business owner, PR manager, Twintern or a Social Media Manager then this book is essential reading. Frankly if you have a product to sell and you have a website you can't afford not to read this insightful book.

Shiv Singh explains how to reach expert influencers and how to avoid PR disasters. He introduces all the major players (Facebook, Twitter, etc) and then explains how you should launch a social influence marketing (SIM) campaign.

What I liked most about this book is the fact that Shiv Singh introduces the reader to some very important websites. I wrote down over thirty sites that I need to investigate.
As a business owner you will really want to take advantage of things like Google alerts.

"Design your Web site as a hub verses a destination and your Web site will immediately become more valuable to your customers. Even though this may mean that you'll be pointing your consumers to external sites, they'll always treat yours as a starting point in the future." ~ pg. 157

Recently I've noticed how some catalog owners are promoting themselves through Twitter and Facebook. Shoppers expect more online engagement and want their voices heard. So every business should make SIM a priority because it is what the consumer expects.

While this book briefly discusses mobile phones I will say that if a site forces you to give up your cell phone number before it will let you access information, that is a bit of a turn off. At one point Yahoo was requiring you to tell them your number before they would allow you to access your email account. I know people who stopped using Yahoo because of that requirement. There must be better ways to get someone's number! I at least want a choice. So read this book with things like that in mind. There are ways to encourage interest in your products and there are ways to make potential customers wary. The section in this book about "ten common mistakes" is very helpful.

"Research shows that users are more likely to purchase products or services based on recommendations; friends and family are the most effective referrers." ~ pg. 205

While this book is a helpful overview, I'd also recommend:

Facebook For Dummies

Twitter For Dummies

WordPress For Dummies

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars delivering what is promised in the title, September 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
I am still reading this book, taking notes, and implementing ideas from this book. This book is worth my time and money. I also recommend "Crush It" by gary vaynerchuk for those who are wanting to enter the Social Influence Marketing (SIM) arena.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple stuff I already kno, May 19, 2010
By 
Elizabeth "E M" (Kingman, Azerbaijan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
This would be a great book if I was completely new to facebook or Twitter. Most of the info I already knew, but does have some great points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Social media marketing, August 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
This maybe the only type of book that made sense to me in understanding the different aspects of social marketing. As stated, it is a simple direct way to understand the ways each media functions. I understand social media far better reading it versus not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Dummy Me, March 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
The book is well written, specific in its lessons, well organized and easy to understand.
It has helped me a great deal. A good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Muy bueno, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Media Marketing For Dummies (Paperback)
Las redes sociales son de gran importancia en nuestra vida actual, y mas [para los negocios; por esto le recomiendo a todos leerlo para conocer muchas estrategias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Social Media Marketing For Dummies
Social Media Marketing For Dummies by Shiv Singh (Paperback - October 26, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.