Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fine Print
I would call this a zoom on the fine print of Social Media and Public Relations. So much has changed in the past ten years for the individual and for the larger community as a whole. Computers are designing how we interact, what job we get and who will off that opportunity to us.

Much of it is really an expansion of human social reltionships. This is described...
Published 21 months ago by Michael Beloved

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Textbook for PR / Marketing Students
I think the most important thing to realize about Social Media and Public Relations by Ms. Breakenridge is that it is specifically meant for people in the PR / Marketing field who are looking at their social networking job options. The book lays out eight types of jobs that deal with PR, Marketing, and social media. It gives details on each job so those heading out into...
Published 21 months ago by Lisa Shea


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Textbook for PR / Marketing Students, July 4, 2012
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I think the most important thing to realize about Social Media and Public Relations by Ms. Breakenridge is that it is specifically meant for people in the PR / Marketing field who are looking at their social networking job options. The book lays out eight types of jobs that deal with PR, Marketing, and social media. It gives details on each job so those heading out into the job force can think about their options. It's not meant as a primer on social media.

The book is broken out into eight sections, one for each job category, and describes what traits and skills are necessary for that type of job. For example, one category is crisis management. The chapter discusses how social media can be used to handle a crisis and techniques that work or don't work.

As you might guess, most of the information is most applicable to a fairly large company. A small one-owner website probably doesn't have to worry about developing a social media policy and having a dedicated person handle that. Still, there are tips in here that anybody can use. PR is no longer about top-down one-way communication. It's a communication between a company and its stakeholders. Change is the new constant. You have to repeat any message 6-7 times before it sinks in with listeners.

Much of my issue with this book has to do with its layout, and with some of its content. Let's start with the layout, since that should have been fixed by the publishers and it's hard to fault the author for that.

The author includes a "Social Media Strategy Wheel" graphic early in the book with no explanation at all. The wheel has multiple layers on it. The innermost core is Research. The first layer around that is Objectives, Goals, Budget, and Audience Profile. Then the next layer out, with certain components overlapping certain components of the first layer, is Tracking & Monitoring Strategy, Distribution Strategy, Content / Communications Strategy, Measurement Strategy, and Engagement Strategy. The finally is an outer layer which exactly matches this middle ring, just with the items changing purpose slightly. So the outer ring that goes with "Tracking & Monitoring Strategy" is then "Tracking & Monitoring Software". I'll try to load an image to help this make more sense, since it is so key to the book and its issues.

So you see this wheel, and are confused by it, and you're told to look it up in the Appendix. The book really should have described this key wheel right then, so it's in the reading path, vs making you flip back and forth when you're just getting started. But even worse, you go to the Appendix and they barely describe the wheel. And they start giving the few descriptions they have before they show you the wheel. So even in the Appendix you're flipping back and forth to try to figure out what they mean.

Then you get to Chapter 1 and they show you the exact same wheel again, now with a #1 (for the first type of job area) in the center - and that's it! Is the #1 supposed to be meaningful? Are they saying this wheel applies to the first job type? There's no context for the graphic. When you get on to the second chapter, on Internal Collaborators, now the exact same graphic is shown with a #2 in the Budget area as well as the center. Aha!! Maybe that means something. Maybe it means that Internal Collaborators have to worry about budgets. But why wouldn't other job areas also have budgets? There's no description, no help. For a graphic that is so central to the book, they do a poor job of making it have meaning.

And also, the ring setup seems to be arbitrary. The budget wedge is attached to measurement strategy and content / communications strategy - but is NOT connected to tracking and monitoring strategy or software. Surely software is a key area that budgets are important?

In general the use of this wheel seems confusingly laid out and poorly described.

The same issue with "here's a graphic - now go to the appendix to find the details" mis-layout also applies to the elevator speeches for each job. The elevator speeches - the 30 second summary of what each job is about - are GREAT. But they're buried at the back of the book! We could have used those summaries in the actual chapter they apply to - probably right at the start of each one - to get the summary of what that job was about. Then we could delve into the details.

So those are the layout / design issues. Now, here are the content issues.

First, I have issues with any author who quotes Wikipedia, which this author does several times. Wikipedia is a third party source. Go to the direct source! Tell us what Wikipedia is quoting instead.

The author holds up Kodak as a shining example of success, when they are used in most of my courses as an example of a business unable to cope with change.

She says, "most executives are aware of the excitement and potential of Google+ brand pages" - huh? Most tech writers I follow are wondering if Google+ is even relevant any more a social network. I'm not sure that excitement and potential are words I'd be using with them.

She indicates one has to pay for WordPress templates. Not true at all. Most people I know code their own, and it's quite easy to do. I've done it for all the sites I run.

She states, "you can never overcommunicate". Again, not true. Every communications class I've taken has warned about crossing that line to where people tune you out as being noise. You absolutely CAN overcommunicate. You need to maintain that fine balance of sending out enough message to be heard, and not so much that you get blocked.

The book could easily become a five star book with some proper polishing and editing. I don't feel it is at that stage yet. Yes, some information in here is helpful, such as the repeat-messaging statement. But other messages could be quite harmful if followed, such as bombarding a message out. This book is supposed to instruct people new to social networking on their options. It needs to make sure that everything it states is clear, easy to understand, and accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and states the obvious, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
The book has *gems* like the following: Crisis management is important; metrics matter; relationships matter. Stop the press! I'm sorry to say that this book is a waste of money. Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars States the obvious, November 20, 2012
By 
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I'm not sure what I was expecting, but this book didn't tell me much. As a novelist, I've been dragged into using 21st Century social media such as twitter, facebook, reddit (if only they'd quit telling me I don't my own password) and google plus. This book apparently is addressed to Public Relations professionals. So I picked the wrong "try this item for free via amazon vine" book. Even so, it seemed to be superficial, and to state the obvious. Why buy a paper copy of a book if you can get the same information online?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fine Print, July 12, 2012
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I would call this a zoom on the fine print of Social Media and Public Relations. So much has changed in the past ten years for the individual and for the larger community as a whole. Computers are designing how we interact, what job we get and who will off that opportunity to us.

Much of it is really an expansion of human social reltionships. This is described in detail in this book with simple wording which carries profound meaning. This is like the rear-view mirror to show everything that is hidden or might be overlooked as one makes the transition from non-digital to digital way of interacting with the community.

Falling behind? Business taking a dip? Uncertain about where you are going in cyberspace? Feeling vulnerable in reference to your tech savy competitors?

Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone in business!, August 22, 2013
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Though this book is titled "for the PR Professional," I think it should be required reading for anyone in business today. Businesses can live or die by social media today, so if you plan on being successful you'd better be more than just "up to speed." Whether you own or run a business or you are managing a career, the techniques and practices outlined in this book should become your standard operating procedure... you cannot afford to be ignorant of the bigger picture in terms of implementing and managing your social media reputation. Buy this book and read it, then read it again and commit it to memory!

Cheers,
Claire

PS - It always makes my day to know that people find these reviews helpful. If you'd also like to ask a question or leave a comment I usually respond the same day, so if you have a question or comment (even if it's just to say, Hi!") feel free to post it below.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Opening Read, May 14, 2013
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I personally work with social media and have done so for over 10 years. If you haven't worked with social media this may be the perfect book for you. Diedre Breakenridge clearly goes over many of the aspects of social media and helps you navigate this journey. I have always felt while social media is free, it does take some work and some savvy to navigate through the path of how to use it properly.

I feel some of her suggestions really apply to changing your personal viewpoint before you start to engage with your audience. For example, she emphasizes you must respond immediately, old style interaction with your customer meant you could wait, now days you must respond immediately because social media demands this type of interaction. So if you are sitting in an old style organization that doesn't understand this, you have to change this, or audience and potential customers won't understand you.

Some of this information is found there already online, but I thought the organization of the book, explaining the different forms of social media, make this book worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the PR Professional, February 5, 2013
By 
RLC (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a good book for the PR pro that needs to understand the jobs that can be attained as a result of social media. This book will not, however, show the small businessperson how to utilize social media for the good of their business.

The book does a decent job of explaining the jobs, the PR person can attain, but the most useful parts of the books knowledge seemed to be in the appendix!

It's a good book when viewed as a career guide, which it is meant to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marketers, pay attention. This book describes your future!, January 17, 2013
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This book is a must-read for any professional PR, marketing or sales professional. The marketing and public relations professions have undergone a sea change in the past five years, and most practitioners are still gasping for air or already completely underwater. Only the most agile are reacting positively to the challenges of completely interactive marketing and public relations. The book describes why marketers can no longer control the message, and more importantly, it gives you clear guides to what to do about it.

Learn to drive analytics, use big data, and see what your customers and your non-customers are really doing to engage your brand. Learn how to gain real true collaboration in your enterprise and break down silos that stand in the way of true effectiveness.

These tools will save, or make your career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
The book was easy to read and offered practical practices and strategies that can be used immediately. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to master PR and Social Media and become an influencer in the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good attempt, October 30, 2012
This review is from: Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
For something that's only emerged in the digital age, social marketing, this book makes a good attempt to master it and even tried to teach it.
The book tries on several layers to "organize" the layers of social media marketing by inventing a "wheel" but didn't explain how this wheel should be used.
For most traditional PR professionals, they don't have the problems of the inside circles of the wheel. They just need direction and how to maximize the social media efforts.
And for the most part, the social media as an eco system that is evolving so rapidly even Google can't cope with it. Look at the Google+ failure.
Look at the horizon of new social medias and different ones popping up daily or monthly in different countries. In China there's Weibo, there's QQ, there was ICQ, there' SINA. Over here in US, we've got pinterest, digg, not to mention a host of tried and failed sites all wanting to capture the FB phenomenon.
This book certainly does not have all of the answers.

For about $10, it's a good read. At least if you are already in the PR and Social media market, you should read it just to know how many job classifications the author has categorized. But most of them are for large enterprises with a team of PR and Communications Dept where they dedicate a team of social media PR persons. Most of us don't work in that environment and can't imaging having to have a meeting before posting a single update or clicking a like.
The dynamics of each social media is dramatically different. Twitter and FB alone have many differences in the dynamics of what works and what doesn't. Advertising is another issue author didn't touch upon in this book. We know advertising on FB doesn't really work because the people are glued to the postings too much instead of clicking the advertisers.

Maybe in the new edition, and after much social media evolution, the author can polish it up and include much more updated material.

Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa93c1ab0)

This product

Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional
Social Media and Public Relations: Eight New Practices for the PR Professional by Deirdre Breakenridge (Paperback - April 27, 2012)
$22.99 $15.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.