Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Combinatrics
I am a research consultant specializing in SNA. This book is the best in the field, as a reference for those formally trained in the discipline or a self-instruction manual for those who really want to use SNA methodology. It's well written; but the mathematical and combinatric underpinnings of SNA won't make for light reading. This books stands out among others in...
Published on March 14, 2004 by Guy Hagen, Innovation Insight

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition is useless (book is excellent)
There is no good mechanism on Amazon to distinguish this unfortunate dichotomy: This excellent resource for those studying networks belongs on your bookshelf even if it can be pedantic.

The Kindle is excellent in many things. Handling books that rely heavily on indices is not one of them.

This book has a table of contents that is too high-level to be...
Published on October 27, 2011 by George Orwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Combinatrics, March 14, 2004
This review is from: Social Network Analysis: Methods and Applications (Structural Analysis in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
I am a research consultant specializing in SNA. This book is the best in the field, as a reference for those formally trained in the discipline or a self-instruction manual for those who really want to use SNA methodology. It's well written; but the mathematical and combinatric underpinnings of SNA won't make for light reading. This books stands out among others in that each subject area is thoroughly documented and cited for further reading and examples of application, and that the base algorithms are provided for most SNA techniques - useful if you want to learn how to "do" instead of just run a software package, or want to program your own. No SNA analyst should neglect this reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition is useless (book is excellent), October 27, 2011
By 
George Orwell "laguna10" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is no good mechanism on Amazon to distinguish this unfortunate dichotomy: This excellent resource for those studying networks belongs on your bookshelf even if it can be pedantic.

The Kindle is excellent in many things. Handling books that rely heavily on indices is not one of them.

This book has a table of contents that is too high-level to be useful. However, even in the small print, the indices cover 42 kindle 'pages' on an ipad (kindle on ipad). This is a reference book. This is not start-at-the-beginning sort of book. There are therefore 42 maddening pages of items in the indices without any way (page or place) or referencing them. This is a fault of the Kindle, not the book. However, other books at least have page numbers so that you can approximate. This kindle edition has blank space.

I had to spend the $$ on the print version in addition. Don't waste your money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for anyone with Mathematics or Computer Science background, September 3, 2005
By 
Steven L. Roberts (San Francisco Bay Area, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Social Network Analysis: Methods and Applications (Structural Analysis in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
This book is unbelievably tedious and repetitious. There is very little actual content for the length of the book. It takes nearly 200 pages just to define some very basic terms from graph theory. This might have been fine if the space were taken up by some sort of meaningful discussion on the relevance of these graph theory concepts to sociological studies and theory. The book (possibly the field?) has the flavor of "here's a hammer, now what can we hit with it?".

Would have liked to see a format based on justification of the analytic techniques from sociological principles, or something much much more concise. Nothing much to see here, move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars social network analysis: a good book, August 28, 2005
This review is from: Social Network Analysis: Methods and Applications (Structural Analysis in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
i purchased this book for my research purpose. after reading several chapters, i found this book is really helpful. you can consider it as a handbook for social network analysis, if you want to do some relevant research. you also could use it as an introductory reference, if you want to know something about social network analysis even you have not started such a kind of research yet. anyway, this book is not so expensive, while offering you enough knowledge in this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, Repetitive, Pretentious, May 30, 2011
By 
Dennis Hanseman (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Network Analysis: Methods and Applications (Structural Analysis in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
I agree with Steven Roberts -- this book is very repetitive. It is almost 800 pages long. It could have been cut to 400 pages with some editing to remove successive pairs of sentences that say almost exactly the same thing and to remove exasperatingly repetitive references to the literature.

The authors are very fond of "noting" things. I didn't count, but I'm sure that the formulation "We note that ..." must appear at least 1000 time in this book.

I think this is the most tedious book I have ever read. I did force myself to read every page. But in the end, my take is that it was much too great an investment in tools. All of the examples in the book are either hypothetical or toy-like. I can't see any reason why all of the (pseudo)mathematical superstructure was necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very very very wordy., December 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Network Analysis: Methods and Applications (Structural Analysis in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
A very low level book that nonetheless has lots of good but basic information in it. If you are not mathematically inclined and are new to network science it is probably pretty good. If you want the mathematical or statistical viewpoint the book is far too basic. Indeed, the book is somewhat dated given the current research in statistical methods for networks. The book is a bit difficult to read because it is so wordy - needlessly slow. It is exhausting to read. The same basic concept is redefined three of four times in consecutive sentences! A good editor could easily get rid of about 1/3 of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Content - Bad formatting, July 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Network Analysis: Methods and Applications (Structural Analysis in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
I have nothing bad to say about the book. It is high quality content.

My issue is with the actual printing of the book. I've ordered the book 3 times now and each time the margins had over 2 inches on the outside margin and less than 1 cm on the inside portion. This makes it extremely difficult to read the text towards the center of each page. Asked Amazon to fix, they told me they did and I repurchased -- but again, same margin issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you are used to grad school text, this is a decent book easy to follow., September 17, 2014
By 
C. AN (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are used to grad school text, this is a decent book easy to follow. It does repeat itself sometimes, but you can just skip. It's for someone who wants to practice the network analysis and learn from scratch, and definitely not for computer programmers who just want to learn enough to write a software for others to perform sna.

The book may need an update to include some up-to-date information eventually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent resource for those interested in Social Network Analysis. The book is a bit technical but can still be read by those crime and intelligence analyst wanting to learn more about Social Network Analysis history, techniques and applications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ok Book, May 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Social Network Analysis: Methods and Applications (Structural Analysis in the Social Sciences) (Paperback)
This book is very comprehensive, but that's not always a good thing. I'd have an easier time looking up stuff if I had an electronic version. I tried selling this book back, and Amazon offered $8 which is a joke.. Get it at a library if you can find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Social Network Analysis: Methods and Applications (Structural Analysis in the Social Sciences)
$64.99 $50.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.