Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Resource this is!!!!
We are finally building our home overlooking a small vineyard we've designed and now are bound to it.....just like a baby, can't take it back, you know? Okay, Solar Power Your Home has been a fantastic primary source guide book. Full of clear understanding and guidance...my husband is fascinated by solar energy! Good start to put us on our way! thanks.
Published 21 months ago by Claire Cashman

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Solar Power Your Home
The title of this book is misleading to the buyer. I was thinking the contents had to do with actually placing solar panels, batteries, etc. to convert sunlight to power. There was very, very little of this. Book is mainly basics of home energy conservation, finance, very wordy and boring.
Published on December 3, 2011 by ogg


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Solar Power Your Home, December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Solar Power Your Home For Dummies (Paperback)
The title of this book is misleading to the buyer. I was thinking the contents had to do with actually placing solar panels, batteries, etc. to convert sunlight to power. There was very, very little of this. Book is mainly basics of home energy conservation, finance, very wordy and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book for energy conservation - very LITTLE on solar, April 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Solar Power Your Home For Dummies (Paperback)
I was specifically looking for some information for configuring/sizing a solar system for my home. This book had a lot of good energy conservation suggestions; however, there was little to no information about configuring/sizing, or really any other information for someone to build a solar system themselves. Perhaps my bad, but I had thought of these "__________ for Dummies" books tailored toward the do-it-yourself-ers. That is not the case here. They focus on giving you suggestions for questions to ask contractors, but little details on the technical aspects of the system the contractor may, or might not install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so "illuminating"..., February 1, 2010
This review is from: Solar Power Your Home For Dummies (Paperback)
I regret having purchased this book... I should've spent a bit more money and gotten a more comprehensive guide to Solar Power. Someone could argue it's for beginners but it left me wanting more... A book about alternative energy systems should be more detail oriented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not at all informative about solar power., June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mostly told me I was to dumb to install a system by my self, only talks about yard lights and stuff. When it gets technical it just tells you to hire a "profesional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looking deeper helps., July 27, 2010
This review is from: Solar Power Your Home For Dummies (Paperback)
A great book as far as it goes, but working for a solar supplier (PV and thermal) here is one area which probably merits deeper exploration. This is the answer to the old chestnut question, which is: "How long does it take before I reach energy payback on my solar installation". While this is often addressed where the baseline is money, for a green technology the environmental baseline is at least as important. Our research suggests that the answer is:

PV installations - 5-7 years.
Complex solar thermal systems (low carbon mains electric pumps) - over 4 years.
Zero carbon, simple solar thermal systems (thermosyphon or PV pumped such as Solartwin) - 2 years or less.

The risk is that the "techno-bling" or "eco-bling" appeal of complex technologies can sometimes outsmart the environmental appeal of simpler technologies. Or insulating. Or using less heat in the first place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blah. Blah Blah, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If your'e looking to go off grid, skip this one. Redundant common knowledge about home energy conservation. No "meat on the bone" hands on details here, mostly common knowledge. I read through half of it hoping it was going somewhere.... It didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad book, August 16, 2013
I really would rate this book -4stars if possible. The information is basically
worthless and there are a lot of blank pages and blank or blacked out spaces on about.
30percent of the pages. I would not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There"s A Better Book, December 2, 2013
This review is from: Solar Power Your Home For Dummies (Paperback)
If you want information about how to apply solar power to your home don't buy this book... Rather, choose the better dummies book, Photovoltaic Design & Installation. Whether you have advanced knowledge or a beginner just thinking
about if it would be practical for you, the book by Ryan Mayfield is your best source by far.. The book begins with basic electricity and uses easy to understand wording to explain every detail about how to build and connect a solar panel system. His book explains components in detail and the differences in material choices... And if you are just thinking about solar, Ryan Mayfields book offers positioning and space requirements, expense considerations, and diagrams of how all the parts work together. System efficiency, effects of temperature, and reasonable expectations are easily understood in the mayfield book: Photovoltaic Design & Installation for Dummies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Solar Power Your Home For Dummies (Paperback)
Waste of money. Read the internet and save yourself the purchase price. Not even good as a fire starter. word
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Solar Power Your Home For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is more about Hot Water and things not related to what I considered worthwhile
I was looking for more on solar electric
disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Solar Power Your Home For Dummies
Solar Power Your Home For Dummies by Rik DeGunther (Paperback - January 19, 2010)
$19.99 $15.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.