Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Our Solar System (revised edition)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$19.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 15, 2003
I bought this book for my seven year old son, in the hope that he would work his way into it over time (recommended age is from 9). He is able to read quite a lot of the text at this stage, with a bit of help. This is great for his reading practice.
Most importantly it is a book he wants to read. The photographs are excellent, and there is more than enough information for him at this stage in development. It is a perfect "Show and Tell" item to bring into the class, with the added bonus that it has a hard binding.
His five year old sister is also very taken with the drawings of the solar system and the planets and moons. It is a book guaranteed to attract the interest of any child.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2003
I have never written a review for a book, but this book has inspired me to do so.
The photographs in the book are large and stunning. They are spectacular. Children are drawn to the book because it is so beautiful.
We bought this book for our 2 1/2 year old for Christmas, along with a set of plastic planets. Within weeks, she could name every planet. Further, she could tell us which planets are bigger than earth, which planets are smaller than earth, which planets have rings (and how many rings each of those planets has), how many moons each planet has (and which planets have no moons), why Mercury's surface has so many craters, which planets are hot, which planets are cold, etc., etc.
In short, this book is beautiful and informative. It is very well done! It is a fantastic introduction to our solar system. We are looking forward to reading more books by Seymour Simon!!!!!!!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2002
Simon explores space using fantastic photos from real spacecraft and satellites. My two-year-old son received this book for Christmas and we read it to him nearly every night before bed. He is fascinated with the photographs, and as a result of his attachment to this book he can name every planet and many of the satellites that surround them. It is amazing! He loves space now because of this book. Kudos, Simon!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 31, 2009
If you're trying to choose between several different books on the solar system, choose this! It's beautiful and intriguing for a five year old, readable for an 8 -10 year old, and educational for folks of all ages. After a little research on amazon, I purchased three solar system/space books for a birthday gift and this book was by far the best received of the three. I have since purchased a couple more. The book is exceptionally well done with broad and lasting appeal.

The photographs are stunning and plentiful, as in a coffee-table book. Nearly every other page features a full-page photograph. The text is readable. The sentences are short and clearly-written, but they're not dumbed down in any way. There are many full pages of text, but all are double-spaced and there is abundant white space around the text, so it's not so dense as to scare off early readers. Everything about the book is child-friendly, but it's not a cute or silly kid's book in any way. I think most adults would find plenty to learn from the text and would appreciate the fact that one doesn't need an astrophysics degree to understand it.

One important note -- it's updated. Pluto no longer gets star billing. Pluto is mentioned as a dwarf or smaller planet, along with Ceres and Eris.

Overall, I highly recommend this book, and I would not hesitate to consider any other collaboration between author Seymour Simon and the Smithsonian Institution.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2007
There are a lot of solar system books that are pretty, but the writing is what sets this one apart. Good sized text that is easy to read, simple yet concise, and fun. The author also does a good job of conveying his excitement to the reader. He isn't just throwing out facts for memorizing.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
Total rip off!!! Not a real book more like a hard cover magazine. Pictures are outdated better pics in the Autubon Society field guide. My son 10 loves educational books. Looked at this one for five minutes and gave it back. Don't waist your money, or be prepared to be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2010
This book is still in my collection after many years. I used to read it all the time as a young lad and drool over he huge pretty pictures of out majestic solar system. Needless to say I'm now studying astrophysics so I cannot deny this book to have been an inspiration for me! Get it for your children :]
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2008
My 2-year-old and 4-year-old both adore this book, and we've already read it at least 100 times. It's got amazing photographs and up-to-date information about the planets and their moons. Highly recommend!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2007
Every schoolchild should have a good book about the solar system. After all, it's where we live!

In the Smithsonian updated edition of OUR SOLAR SYSTEM, Seymour Simon brings together new information, stunning images--some new, some older but still remarkable--of Earth and her neighbors.

Did you know that the Sun is so big that 1.3 millions Earths could fit inside? And that Jupiter has one ring, whereas Saturn has over 1000? Mercury is now considered the smallest planet (because Pluto got demoted to "dwarf planet") but is smaller than some moons.

Interesting facts are presented in a readable fashion that kids will enjoy. Amazing photos from the Hubble Telescope, lunar missions, the Voyager missions, and other sources are featured throughout.

This is a good choice to pull in children to something so amazing that it's hard to imagine. Just think, their kids may see even more!

Reviewed by Christina Wantz Fixemer
on 08/22/2007
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2007
He absolutely loved the pictures and the description of the Solar Systems! He loves it..great choice for an 8 year-old!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse