Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 22, 2011
Social worker Gabriela Morales allows herself to be auctioned off to raise funds for an unwed mother's program. Growing up poor, she knows the difference the smallest kindness can make. Dr. Marcos Calderon is wealthy, handsome and in need of a counterfeit fiancé. Gabriela fits the bill but he doesn't count on his reaction to seeing her all dressed up. After winning her in the auction, he makes a bargain that will change both their lives forever. If they're willing to take a chance.

Sold on You is a fun, quick read. Gabriela is a wonderful heroine whose willingness to do all for her cause is endearing and sparks a bit of humor. I loved to see her struggle to reconcile her prejudices against the real Marcos. Marcos is well-written and his love for his grandmother will melt your heart. Ms. Knightly has enough flips on the plot to earn a place on my keeper shelf.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2014
Gabriela worked at North Collier Hospital as a very caring social worker. Her pet project was a place called 'Fresh Start Center' for unwed mothers. She was at a fundraiser for that very purpose. A bachelorette auction with the proceeds going to the Center. She had already worked it out ahead of time for a harmless, older gentlemen friend to bid on her. She was to be his date for the whole weekend. Unfortunately, things didn't worked out as she planned. Dr. Marcos Calderon got the winning bid because he definitely wanted Gabriela for this weekend. He had plans for her.
Marcos wanted her to be his pretend fiancee for the weekend because his grandmother was coming. It would please her because Gabriela was Latino. He also knew his grandmother wanted him to get married and give her grandchildren. He would fool her until she went home Sunday and that would be the end of it. Except... Grandma decided to stay longer, his current girlfriend found out about the fake engagement, and Gabriella saw the girlfriend kissing Marcos. Can life get anymore messed up?? Oh, yeah.
I loved this story for several reasons. 1). Gabriella didn't jump right into bed with him - she is an old fashioned girl. 2). The heat and attraction between these two characters will make you think they are crazy for not acting on it. 3). The get even plan when Gabriella discovers the girlfriend. This story is just too good to pass up. Read it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
Sold on You is a light, easy read that's amusing and alluring to anyone that's a romantic at heart. I enjoyed the characters and was able to easily connect with them and feel their frustrations and plights. I loved that the heroine, Gabriela, wasn't the usual cookie cutter heroine that you usually see in romance novels: thin and blonde. Gabriela is a raven-haired, green-eyed, curvaceous Latina and her counterpart, Marcos, is a tall, dark, and handsome Argentinean.

The author, Sophia Knightly does an excellent job in giving her heroine balance. Though Gabriela makes it clear that she is independent, she doesn't have that aggressive attitude that can come off as annoying. She's a lovable character that's easy to root for. Marcos, on the other hand, is annoying, but charmingly so. He knows what he wants, and he expects to have his way. It was fun to see him stew when his Abuelita turned his scheme against him as well as in the humorous dinner scenes in the novel.

The story that Knightly created is an enjoyable one. It's a sweet romance between two stubborn people that begins with a wacky scheme. The push and pull of emotion in this story will entangle you, not letting you go until you reach the very last page. Sold On You is easily a book you can devour in one sitting. I highly recommend it.

Jamee Pritchard (The Kindle Book Review)
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2012
Dr. Marcos Calderon lies to his Grandmother about being engaged. Because of this, she decides to pay him a visit to meet his new fiancé. Now, Marcos must find a fake fiancé. He has the perfect women for the job--his prim and proper co-worker Gabriela. In persuading her to participate in such a plan, it will be one exciting and alluring quest.

Gabriela agreed to participate in charitable bachelorette auction. And the devilishly handsome Dr. Marcos knows this, and he sets his sights on outbidding all just to get Gabriela. Upon his winnings, Gabriela questions his motives. Marcos reveals to Gabriela that he needs her to be his fake fiancé for the weekend. Through much convincing and bribing; Marcos finally gets Gabriela to agree. And what fun this will be...

In the meantime, as they both try hard to deceive his grandmother, something electrifying occurs that will change both their lives forever. It is a partnership that will eventually blossom into one most intoxicating relationships imaginable. It will nip at your heart as you turn the pages to this light-hearted, humorous, and pleasurable read. It's a story that will leave a smile on your face. Highly recommend!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2011
I loved this book! Ms. Knightly uses humor to creat a sexy love story amid the soft, gentle breezes of sunny Naples, Florida. The heroine,Gabriela, is delightful and the hero, Marcos--one hot catch! The matchmaking grandma is a hoot! It is one holiday the reader won't soon forget. Can't wait to read more from her!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dr Marcos Caldron was at a bachlorette auction and he bid on the lovely Gabriela Morales. He had an idea of what he wanted for his weekend date. He bid ten thousand dollars to be donated to the chairty of her choice. She supported a place that helped unwed mothers. Gabriela is a social worker. She would help to counsel them in her free time from the hospital she worked at. She found out after she was won that Marcos wanted her to pose as his fiance because his grandma was coming to visit from Argentina and Gabriela is Latino and he thought she would please her and he wanted the family to quit trying to marry him off. This turns into a great story and I really enjoyed it and you will too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
Gabriela takes part in a charity auction and Dr. Marcos Calderon bids and wins time with the lovely social worker. He wants her to pretend to be his fiancée to make his grandmother happy. Little does he know he's going to fall in love for real. I enjoyed the story very much and definitely need to read more from this author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tropical Heat Book 2 was a lovely story about a big lie that lead to loving for keeps. Dr Marcos Calderon told his beloved grandmother that he had a fiancee and could not wait for his beloved to meet her. Wrong!! so when he attended the hospital charity bachelorette auction- fundraiser he bids on the Gabriela with the hope that he would have his pretend fiancee` so he would not disappoint his grandmother. At the end of the auction, Marcos was the highest bidder for Gabriela Morales, the hospital's social worker. Marcos had to quickly convince Gabriela to accept his offer with a stiff fee attached to the offer so when he visited his grandmother he would take her as his fiancee`. As the two spend time together Gabriela becomes more and more attached and starts to feel bad about the scheme and lies Marcos is telling his grandmother. So she had to decide whether to continue with the lies and break his grandmothers heart or continue with things as planned and possibly break her own heart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2013
It started off cute w/ so much potential. But at some point I got really tired of Gabriela. Her- I want him but he's a spoiled brat and a womanizer so I'm going to fight off my physical attraction and treat him like crap even though he's been nothing but good to me and has treated me w/ respect- way of thinking got really annoying after a while. I couldn't finish it! I'm giving it 2 stars b/c it was good for a while and it was only $0.99.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2015
I'm a sucker for a good romance novel, so when I picked this one up, I was not disappointed! The book starts out with Gabriela trying to raise money by taking part in an auction. The highest bidder, Marcos, has a plan in place when he wins a weekend date with her. The twists and turns are laugh out loud funny and very romantic. I couldn't put this book down and I am really looking forward to reading the next one in the series!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse