Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 4, 2016
It's readable, but the cover was beat up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
Sold by Zana Muhsen is not the type of book I usually read. The book deals with the reality of life for far too many women in our world. Zana and her sister Nadia are British citizens who at age 15 and 14 were sold by their Muslim father to friends of his in the Yeman. Zana, thinking she was going on vacation, arrived in a remote desert village and was 'introduced' to her husband. She was kept against her will for over 8 years. She endured rape and slave labor.
Unfortunately this life is a reality for many women around the world. I will be praying daily for women in this situation. 'Sold' was very hard to read because of the subject matter, but I believe anyone who wants to gain understanding of some Middle Eastern cultures, should read this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
Excellent book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
A+A+A+
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2015
great read.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
Great book. A must read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2015
This book absolutely ticks every box for me when it comes to a captivating story: innocence, conflict, determination, hope, and survival. It is all packaged in a book that delivers a well written, easy to read flow that I could not put down.

The synopsis is well enough described throughout the reviews and book description. What isn't described is the journey of emotion the author takes you on. There is no glossing over the life of this woman, a child sold into marriage in a foreign country, and even when she makes the choice to leave behind her own child—I was able to empathize. I could validate that choice, and the opposite choice made by her sister. That is a miraculous feat, bringing a reader to understand and accept a decision no parent could ever begin to comprehend having to make.

I recommend this book to anyone who has the stomach for a heartbreaking story that ends not happily, but with a real sense of redemption.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
interesting reading
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2014
Couldn't put it down so spellbinding that can happen in parts of the world now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2014
Found it hard to get through because of the subject matter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse