Prime Music

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

Buy New

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
$12.47 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by -importcds.

Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $14.07 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices Add to Cart
$28.21  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Solti Beethoven 1, Schubert 6&8, Shostakovich 9, Tchaikovsky 6 : 100th Anniversary Edition (1978)

 NR |  DVD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

List Price: $39.99
Price: $20.79 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $19.20 (48%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Classical Music Superstore and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, Nov. 3? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

Solti Beethoven 1, Schubert 6&8, Shostakovich 9, Tchaikovsky 6 : 100th Anniversary Edition + Sir George Solti: Journey of a Lifetime
Price for both: $43.28

One of these items ships sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Product Details

  • Format: Multiple Formats, Box set, Classical, Color, Dolby, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 3
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: EuroArts
  • DVD Release Date: September 25, 2012
  • Run Time: 270 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B008P76VV2
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #258,157 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Editorial Reviews

Sir Georg Solti - one of the greatest conductors of his day - is profiled extensively here, both in the definitive profile "Solti - The Making of a Maestro" and in exceptional performances with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. The film captures not only the last year of his life, but his singular musicianship and vision demonstrated through his expressive and individual conducting. A portrait of total musical mastery.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Screaming Skull? September 18, 2013
One very good reason to consider this set is the inclusion of "Solti: The Making of a Maestro". It's a fascinating glimpse into the evolution of a great musician mainly told in his own words. From its opening in Solti's birthplace in Hungary to its denouement in Chicago, this documentary provides a special insight into a somewhat complex individual. Solti's formative years are covered in detail as is his relentless drive to perfect his craft. Along the way there are stops in Budapest, Munich, Salzburg, Vienna, Lucerne, London, and, ultimately Chicago. As for the performances, each of the five included is the happy amalgam of momentum, intensity and refinement. Here and there Solti drives the proceedings a bit, a tendency which earned the conductor the sobriquet of the fastest baton in the West. The brilliance, rhythmic precision and dramatic acuity more than compensate. The ensemble is uniformly excellent, notably that of the CSO. The video and audio production values are just fine. One complaint regarding the packaging: the poorly designed DVD trays are inadequate. In a word, they stink!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category

Classical Music Superstore Privacy Statement Classical Music Superstore Shipping Information Classical Music Superstore Returns & Exchanges