Prime Music

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
$0.10 + $3.99 shipping

or
 
   
Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $0.30 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Some of My Best Friends Are DJs
 
See larger image
 

Some of My Best Friends Are DJs [Enhanced]

Kid KoalaAudio CD
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)

Price: $12.79 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, Nov. 24? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 15 Songs, 2003 $8.99  
Audio CD, Enhanced, 2003 $12.79  
Vinyl, Import, 2007 $29.34  

Amazon's Kid Koala Store

Music

Image of album by Kid Koala

Photos

Image of Kid Koala

Biography

Kid Koala is a world-renowned scratch DJ who has made a name for himself not only with his music, but also with his visual art. He has released three solo albums on Ninja Tune: Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (2001), Some of My Best Friends Are DJs (2003), and Your Mom's Favorite DJ (2006). He has also been involved in collaborations such as Gorillaz, Deltron 3030, and The Slew. He has toured with ... Read more in Amazon's Kid Koala Store

Visit Amazon's Kid Koala Store
for 13 albums, 4 photos, and 1 full streaming song.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Some of My Best Friends Are DJs + Carpal Tunnel Syndrome + 12 Bit Blues
Price for all three: $45.17

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together


Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 7, 2003)
  • Original Release Date: 2003
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Enhanced
  • Label: Ninja Tune
  • ASIN: B0000CC88D
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #166,471 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Strat Hear
2. Basin Street Blues
3. Radio Nufonia
4. Stompin' At Le Savoi
5. Space Cadet 2
6. Grandmaphone Speaks
7. Skanky Panky
8. Flu Season
9. Robochacha
10. Elevator Hopper
11. Annie's Parlor
12. On The Set Of Fender Bender
13. More Dance Music
14. Vacation Island
15. Negatron Speaks

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Amazon.com

As his alter-ego, "Kid Koala," might suggest, Eric San applies a joyous childlike vision to his music on Some of My Best Friends Are DJs. Following turns with Money Mark, Deltron 3030, and Lovage, Canada's cheekiest mixologist defied weighty expectations with his beguiling debut album, Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. Three years later, and Kid Koala has retained his youthful verve. Packaged with a 52-page, self-penned comic and a travel chess kit, Some of My Best Friends Are DJs offers less in the way of music, with the 35-minute running time meaning the restless sonic snippets wisely end before his humor has a chance to grate. Mixing sleazy whisky-bar vibes with adolescent antics, his second album never allows the listener to settle. Moments of playful mixing magic are at times followed by baffling inanity as "Skanky Panky"--with its wonderfully shattered Ska rhythm and frantic scratches--runs into "Flu Season", ostensibly a series of beat-accompanied coughs, sneezes, and sniffs. Blending blues, jazz, and funk with a myriad of bizarre samples, moments of pure eccentric genius such as "Robochacha" and "More Dance Music" make this a flawed yet fascinating slice of beat-driven bravura. --Christopher Barrett

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
(15)
4.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As naughty and playful as nothing. October 12, 2003
Format:Audio CD
'Some of my best friends are djs' is too weird for normal listeners.
If you are one, better skip it.
If you are a turntable/mix maniac, you'll just have to have it.
For milder fans like me it's some crazy stuff
that I like and appreciate, but can't fall in love with.
Kid koala is definitely a genius - extraordinary
turntablist, dj, programmer, musician. Being such,
he delivers a truckload of beaty scratchy funny
witty entertainment...
..And a lot of headache too. ;)
You'll listen to the album with a lot of attention
and interest, but you'll never choose it for
a whole-day-long company.
The kid is smart, he's funny, and he is playful,
creative and naughty ... sometimes irritating ... like
all kids, eh? Nay.
Jazz, swing, rhythm and blues, vintage-like voice samples
and load of funky feeling. It's all there and out there.
Crazy mixing, crazy fades and pitch downs.
Black belt mastery. After all it's Ninja Tune.
Favourite track: More Dance Music.
Remember: Don't Do This At Home!
Just buy the disc.:)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kid Koala's Touch of Gold Saves this Album October 9, 2003
By TarTar
Format:Audio CD
Unlike Carpal Tunnel, this album is much more orderly. Which isn't much of a compliment, because Carpal Tunnel was an awesome experimental album. Kid Koala could've gone in that direction, but he chose not to, and I can respect that. These tracks have a beginning and an end, where Carpal Tunnel was an experience and should be treated as 1 track, this new album definitely can be broken up. Comparably, the sounds and beats are somewhat orderly as well. Unlike continuously turning the knob of your radio, passing through different sounds every 10 seconds, these new tracks stick with a seperate theme for each track. So? Kid Koala has matured and so has his sound. He's still a turntable/electro god in my book.
-TarTar
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kind of like the last one...maybe a little better July 15, 2004
By B
Format:Audio CD
Those who became acquainted with Carpal Tunnel Syndrome will buy this album and be pleased, but not surprised. This one comes through with more beats and more layered work, especially the innovative MASTERPIECE of Basin Street Blues. Anyone who complains about this cd just because it's weird and silly should really listen to that song and realize that behind all the jokery, Kid Koala is a serious artists who is pushing the bounds of turnablism and truly using the machine as an instrument, as fluidly as a voice. There are lots of funny vocal samples like the first cd, and although the format is simillar, this one is more fun and accessible than the other one. Hats off to him for making songs like Basin Street Blues and More Dance Music that build and climax like real songs by using music instead of just loud drums...this kid is going places. No one else is doing this stuff.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the turntable as an instrument November 30, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Eric San is one creative guy. He makes music, writes comic books and can even make a chess board. He doesn't necessarily do these things seperately either. Some of my best friends are djs comes with the lot. The comic makes for a good read and the chess board ... well I just can't bring myself to cut up the cd packaging. These are side issues really though, what I'm interested in is the music.

I'm not that familiar with 'carpel tunnel syndrome', a previous album, but i would say this album is a little more cohesive. There's a sense of beginning and end and a little more structure. 'Basin street blues' kicks of the album and it's a piece of genius. It's got a slow looping drum with a trumpet (sic) sample strectched out over the top. The beat rolls in about 1 minute into the tune. It's brilliant, especially the bit about epileptic chram. The jazz theme rolls on through to 'elevator hopper' and 'annies parlour'.

I've never met him but i'd say Kid Koala must be a pretty fun guy. Some of my best friends is full of jokes, crazy statements and animal noises. It's also a pretty laid back affair, there are no guest MC's and no huge banging club hits. Is subtle turntabelism, not some over the top scratching for scrathing's sake hip hop. This is a very enjoyable album.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated May 5, 2004
By NJA
Format:Audio CD
The work of Kid Koala is so impressive and creative that I can't give less than 5 stars...this album is a masterpiece because it does not look like any other album...it's a mix between jazz, blues, scratch with hip hop beats...
The real plus for kid koala is the spirit of the album, exclusively positive...
True fans of hip hop don't miss it
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of My Best Friends Are DJ's January 17, 2004
By Joe87
Format:Audio CD
If your looking for something different then this is a must have CD. Its a combination of well, all sorts - a sort of raw mixed funky jazz flavour - I think!
By far my favorite track on the CD is Skanky Panky, with a sort of really heavy Ska-style bass rythm and twisted trumpet effects its deffinately a must-listen. Unfortunately not all the tracks do it for me, infact only a couple do, and its a bit short at just 35:07.
However, as far as 'something different' goes, this is a must have album and it has a certain honesty that many superstar DJ albums don't have, a sort of charming neivety, almost as if you are in the room having a laugh with the DJ himself. Try it, it can't hurt!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, Love It, Love It!!!! December 22, 2013
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One of my favorite artists. This is a heavily sampled album, but not with a sampler, but with individual records. Scratch, Scratch, Scratch!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars good cd
it's a pretty good CD - borderline 3/4 stars. 18 bit blues much better. Need six more words to be able to post
Published 22 months ago by penname
5.0 out of 5 stars Kid Koala is the diggity dank dope shiznit !!!!!!!
Kid Koala is the definitive mastermind turntable wizard, weaving tunes seemingly effortlessly...this cd. just kicks like a mule of sound to the jaw. have fun and enjoi the ride.
Published on December 6, 2010 by Matthew P. Wineberg
4.0 out of 5 stars Scientist Of Sound (4.5 stars)
Kid Koala took the critics by storm with his exploration of using the turntable as an instrument like no other on his proper debut "Carpal Tunnel Syndrome". Read more
Published on February 28, 2006 by Alan Pounds
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Of My Best Friends Are DJ's
This album I bought simply thinking, I'll put one or two songs on my iTunes library, and then just keep it in my album collection and eventually just forget about it. Read more
Published on August 30, 2004
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Of My Best Friends Are DJ's
This album I bought simply thinking, I'll put one or two songs on my iTunes library, and then just keep it in my album collection and eventually just forget about it. Read more
Published on August 30, 2004
3.0 out of 5 stars REALLY NOT THAT IMPRESSED!!!
Since the Ninja Tunes Record label is known for putting out incredible artists such as Amon Tobin, Mr. Scruff and Bonobo, I thought I'd try Kid Koala. Read more
Published on February 24, 2004 by D. Lee
3.0 out of 5 stars Kool but not Hot
Well this was a kool CD. I like the book concept and i luv the jazz sounds he uses. it flows so well. but i got bored. Read more
Published on January 11, 2004 by "kenfield4"
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category