Prime Music
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by ekparsons2
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Like New Condition For CD, Artwork and Packaging. I Ship CDs by First Class Mail.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Some Days You Get the Thunder
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Some Days You Get the Thunder

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Prime Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, August 25, 2009
"Please retry"
$11.21 $3.19
Vinyl, August 11, 2009
"Please retry"

Black Friday in Music Black Friday in Music

Product Details

  • Audio CD (August 25, 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • ASIN: B002H3ZYKY
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #695,883 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Keeps Track of the Time
2. Bad Idea
3. River Trash
4. Some Days You Get the Thunder
5. Song for Sue
6. This Guitar
7. United Crushers
8. Odd Pauses
9. Highway Song
10. Lake St. Is for Suckers
11. Falling Down and Leaving Town
12. September
13. Run to Me

Editorial Reviews

The Gateway District is one of the latest and definitely greatest bands to come out of the Minneapolis, MN scene. Members include Maren (of the Soviettes and Salteens), Carrie (of American Monsters and Salteens), Brad (of Dear Landlord and Rivethead) and Nate (of Banner Pilot, OWTH and Rivethead). Call it a super-group, a side project or whatever you want. All three songwriters bring a style of their own to this album making for a great mix of character and approach from song to song. The end result is 13 tracks of Punk Rock served straight up and country fried! The artwork is fantastic and something you should care to own - 16 page full color booklet. Each band member contributed art for each of their songs, so again, three styles come together to make for an awesome whole.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Arilitt on January 27, 2010
Format: Audio CD
1. Keeps Track of the Time- 9.5/10
2. Bad Idea- 8.5/10
3. River Trash-8.5/10
4. Some Days You get the Thunder- 8/10
5. Song for Sue- 8.5/10
6. This Guitar- 9/10
7. United Crushers- 8/10
8. Odd Pauses- 9/10
9. Highway Song- 8/10
10. Lake Street is for Suckers- 9/10
11. Falling Down and Leaving Town- 5/10
12. September- 8.5/10
13. Run to Me- 5/10

The Gateway District are a Punk Rock Super Group featuring members of The Soviettes, Rivethead, Banner Pilot, The Self Polluters, Supermanure, The Salteens, Off With Their Heads, and Pyongyang Metro. They play a type of crossover punk rock that incorporates Alt-Country, Folk, and Post-Hardcore that is known as Orgcore (one of those genres that people describe by saying "you know when you hear it")

The Gateway District features Nate Gangelhoff from Off With Their Heads, Banner Pilot, Pyongyang Metro, and Rivethead. He seems to be in every punk band now, and is also an author. The Gateway District has that Dillinger Four/Off With Their Heads/Against Me! influence that so many bands have been copying over the last few years. They also have a heavy Screeching Weasel influence (but doesn't every legit Pop Punk band). The vocals sound great; they're gruff, Yelled at times, have a Country tint at times... think if Ryan Young, Off With Their Heads Lead Singer, was a woman. The music is typical of the newly coined genre "Orgcore"(bands like Off With Their Heads, Hot Water Music, Dillinger Four, Against Me! Dear Landlord, O Pioneers!!!, The Lawrence Arms...). For the most part the CD is extremely consistent, however Some Days You get the Thunder does not end well. Two of the last three songs are pure Alt-Country and they seem out of place.
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By DJ on December 29, 2010
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I love this CD. I can't really add much on what Chris provided below as he's pretty much nailed it, but when I start playing this in my car I can't help but crank up the volume. I like all the songs, my favorite being the "Highway Song." "River Trash" is a close second. The slower "country themed" songs might not rock out the same way, but they are good. I have been DJ'ing PUNK music for years and since I started mixing tracks from this CD into my sets I've been getting a lot of requests for this band.

If I had to summarize this band I'd say they sound like what I imagine Janis Joplin would have sounded like if she had been a Punk. And I mean that as a compliment. While the vocal ranges of Maren and Carrie are not on the same level as Janice, there is a similar angst and spirit. I'm often disappointed when "super groups" merge for a project but this is not one of those times. It's a solid CD and a great addition to any Progressive or Alt or Punk collection.

I really hope this is not their last recording effort.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Aimeeface on December 30, 2011
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I discoverd this band a couple years ago and i fell in love. I cant even tell you how many times i have listened to this album. Every once in a while a band comes around that has this kind of effect on me. Needless to say as soon as their newer album was released it was immediately purchased by me. Not only are they an awesome band, but I met them at Pre fest 9 and they are super nice down to earth people. Love love love. If they ever break up i will cry. Dont be a dummy, buy this album and every other album they release.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category