Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $2.12 (14%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Some Girls Bite (Chicagol... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: May have extensive pencilling or highlighting - Item is Fulfilled by AMAZON - Eligible for FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping. Amazon Customer Service with Delivery Tracking. Receive your item in 3-5 Days!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires) Paperback – April 7, 2009

4.3 out of 5 stars 414 customer reviews
Book 1 of 12 in the Chicagoland Vampires Series

See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$12.88
$1.39 $0.01

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
$12.88 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires)
  • +
  • Friday Night Bites (Chicagoland Vampires, Book 2)
  • +
  • Twice Bitten (Chicagoland Vampires, Book 3)
Total price: $41.19
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels:

"
These books are wonderful entertainment; and if you are looking for a vampiric role-model, you couldn't do any better than Merit of House Cadogan. Chicago is lucky to have her." --#1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris

"[A] strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake." --Library Journal

"If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl." -Geek Monthly


Praise for Some Girls Bite and the Chicagoland Vampire series:

"These books are wonderful entertainment."—#1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris

“If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl.” —Geek Monthly

“Neill creates a strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake.”—Library Journal

“The pages turn fast enough to satisfy vampire and romance fans alike.”—Booklist

“High-stakes drama, romantic entanglements, and a touch of humor…certain to whet readers’ appetites for more in this entertaining series!”—Romantic Times (4½ stars)

“Chloe Neill keeps readers right on the precipice of anticipation.”—Fresh Fiction

From the Author

Chloe Neill was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When not transcribing Merit's adventures, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys, her favorite landscape photographer/husband, and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Series: Chicagoland Vampires (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: NAL (April 7, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451226259
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451226259
  • Product Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.7 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (414 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #384,532 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Chloe Neill is the New York Times bestselling author of the Chicagoland Vampires Novels, the Devil's Isle Novels, and a YA series, the Dark Elite. Chloe was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When she's not writing, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys--her husband and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.

Connect with Chloe at www.chloeneill.com.

Amazon Author Rankbeta 

(What's this?)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I had high hopes for this series, it came so highly recommended, plus it was based in Chicago, so that always catches my eye. Unfortunately, this book just doesn't add up to the hype as far as I'm concerned. First off, getting really bored of the unexplained super chicks. The first page of the book annoyed me because Merit describes herself as one of the most powerful vampires around, and she's not even thirty years old.

Here's my problem with this book in particular.

After trudging through 120 pages, the story progressed no where, really. Merit gets attacked by some random vampire, she's kind of out of it. Another vampire saves her by turning her into a vampire. She wakes up in his club house, so to speak and she's given a quick update and taken home to where her equally ditzy BFF Mallory seems all too excited and happy that her girl friend is now a vampire. First off, that struck me as odd. So very odd that her friend would be so enthused about her being turned and not the least bit concerned by the circumstances that lead her to be turned. The interaction between Merit and Mallory seemed so awkward to me as I continued to read. They both seem so immature and flighty. And their dialogue seemed forced and unnatural. Very unrealistic and childish for people who were supposed to be adults. I also found it silly that she was more concerned about being kicked out of school than being attacked, left for dead and turned into a vampire.

Merit is told to read the "Canon" which is like the vampire bible, and she casually does, not really taking it all that seriously. She is told that within the next 7 days, she will be inducted as a full fledge member of the house so she really needs to bone up on her vampire knowledge.
Read more ›
27 Comments 253 of 283 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Buying this book was a whim, I had never heard of the author and the book itself was actually just lying on a table in the book store. Giving in to the urge I picked it up and began thumbing through the first couple chapters. I was impressed enough that I bought it and promptly went home to settle in with a kick a** vampire novel.

Merit at first seemed to be the stereotypical butt kicking heroine, she was changed against her will and she was a constant source of teenage rebellion and sarcasm for her 'liege' and head of her vampire house. Slowly though the author began to peel back layer after layer of Merit, what the readers were left with was a loyal, surprisingly fast, smart and katana wielding woman who was trying to figure out the balance between her old life, her new life, and where her loyalties stand in this new supernatural world.

Ethan Sullivan was the vampire who turned her, he also happens to be the head of the Cadogan House in Chicago. Ethan is an arrogant 400 year old vampire who wears his confidence and power like a mantle. Merit finds herself drawn to him, and then repulsed by his decisions and 'lording' over everyone under him.

By the end of the book we know Merit is stronger and smarter than the average vampire, we know she choose loyalty above her own wants, and in the end choose to stand with the Cadogan House rather than fight it. I loved Merit the entire book, she was the perfect heroine; Ethan however I was still confused with. I can't decide whether or not I hate him or love him. I can't wait for the next book to see how everything evolves. Trust me this book you need to read, it's cover might scream typical cookie cutter vampire genre but the story itself is anything but.

Must read!!!
Comment 132 of 146 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Lord, I couldn't even finish. I couldn't bare it. Esp. after just finished the solidly written Kate Daniels Series by Ilona Andrews (go..read...now...esp Buffy fans).

I felt like this was written for underestimated young adults.

Why are these 28 yr. old WOMEN (Merit the MC & Mallory her BF - who are working on a dissertation & in advertising respectively) describing these vampires who are double, triple & quadruple their own ages as "boys"??

As in ...."I'd assumed there'd be time for boys after" or, "Before that moment, before watching him walk toward me, I'd been a normal girl. If I saw a boy I found attractive, I might smile. I might, on the rare occasion, say hello or give someone my phone number. I wouldn't say I was forward, but I made a move when I was interested. But something about this boy, maybe mixed with the fact that I'd recently become a vampire, made every molecule in my body tingle."

Merit is not a girl & these men are certainly not boys.

It's just....IDK, staggeringly immature writing.

Speaking of immature - Merit, Malloy, Mallory's boyfriend...yeah all very shallow so far. Unrealistically drawn with overplayed convenient responses & excuses to people & situations which actually don't make sense.

***SPOILERS***

Mallory's reaction to Merit becoming a vamp is basically - "So cool! You're a vamp!" & this is b'c she's a huge fan of all things paranormal & studies it obsessively. However, when she finds out she is the highest level of witch out there, her reaction is so underwhelming I was left scratching my head.

The lack or originality in creating Merit's entire environment is just plain poor (meaning - Merit's way too convenient life).

So uh lemme' see....
Read more ›
6 Comments 59 of 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires)
This item: Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires)
Price: $12.88
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: werewolf book