Some Girls Bite: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $2.63 (18%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 14 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by giggil
Condition: Used: Good
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires) Paperback – April 7, 2009


See all 15 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$12.37
$1.01 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Frequently Bought Together

Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires) + Friday Night Bites (Chicagoland Vampires, Book 2) + Twice Bitten (Chicagoland Vampires, Book 3)
Price for all three: $37.00

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Good Girl" by Mary Kubica.

Product Details

  • Series: Chicagoland Vampires (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: NAL Trade (April 7, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451226259
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451226259
  • Product Dimensions: 0.8 x 5.3 x 7.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (333 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #614,776 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires novels:

"
These books are wonderful entertainment; and if you are looking for a vampiric role-model, you couldn't do any better than Merit of House Cadogan. Chicago is lucky to have her." --#1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris

"[A] strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse and Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake." --Library Journal

"If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl." -Geek Monthly

From the Author

Chloe Neill was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When not transcribing Merit's adventures, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys, her favorite landscape photographer/husband, and their dogs, Baxter and Scout.

More About the Author

Chloe Neill was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest--just close enough to Cadogan House and St. Sophia's to keep an eye on things. When not transcribing Merit's and Lily's adventures, she bakes, works, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys--her favorite landscape photographer/husband and their dogs, Baxter and Scout. (Both she and the photographer understand the dogs are in charge.) You can learn more about Chloe by visiting http://chloeneill.com

Customer Reviews

Popular Discussion Topics

beta: what do you think?
  • "Characters" 94
  • "Writing" 89
  • "Romantic" 41
  • "Funny" 40
  • "Passion" 29
  • All Topics

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

216 of 240 people found the following review helpful By ReaderFanatic on June 8, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I had high hopes for this series, it came so highly recommended, plus it was based in Chicago, so that always catches my eye. Unfortunately, this book just doesn't add up to the hype as far as I'm concerned. First off, getting really bored of the unexplained super chicks. The first page of the book annoyed me because Merit describes herself as one of the most powerful vampires around, and she's not even thirty years old.

Here's my problem with this book in particular.

After trudging through 120 pages, the story progressed no where, really. Merit gets attacked by some random vampire, she's kind of out of it. Another vampire saves her by turning her into a vampire. She wakes up in his club house, so to speak and she's given a quick update and taken home to where her equally ditzy BFF Mallory seems all too excited and happy that her girl friend is now a vampire. First off, that struck me as odd. So very odd that her friend would be so enthused about her being turned and not the least bit concerned by the circumstances that lead her to be turned. The interaction between Merit and Mallory seemed so awkward to me as I continued to read. They both seem so immature and flighty. And their dialogue seemed forced and unnatural. Very unrealistic and childish for people who were supposed to be adults. I also found it silly that she was more concerned about being kicked out of school than being attacked, left for dead and turned into a vampire.

Merit is told to read the "Canon" which is like the vampire bible, and she casually does, not really taking it all that seriously. She is told that within the next 7 days, she will be inducted as a full fledge member of the house so she really needs to bone up on her vampire knowledge.
Read more ›
25 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
131 of 144 people found the following review helpful By Jessie Potts VINE VOICE on April 17, 2009
Format: Paperback
Buying this book was a whim, I had never heard of the author and the book itself was actually just lying on a table in the book store. Giving in to the urge I picked it up and began thumbing through the first couple chapters. I was impressed enough that I bought it and promptly went home to settle in with a kick a** vampire novel.

Merit at first seemed to be the stereotypical butt kicking heroine, she was changed against her will and she was a constant source of teenage rebellion and sarcasm for her 'liege' and head of her vampire house. Slowly though the author began to peel back layer after layer of Merit, what the readers were left with was a loyal, surprisingly fast, smart and katana wielding woman who was trying to figure out the balance between her old life, her new life, and where her loyalties stand in this new supernatural world.

Ethan Sullivan was the vampire who turned her, he also happens to be the head of the Cadogan House in Chicago. Ethan is an arrogant 400 year old vampire who wears his confidence and power like a mantle. Merit finds herself drawn to him, and then repulsed by his decisions and 'lording' over everyone under him.

By the end of the book we know Merit is stronger and smarter than the average vampire, we know she choose loyalty above her own wants, and in the end choose to stand with the Cadogan House rather than fight it. I loved Merit the entire book, she was the perfect heroine; Ethan however I was still confused with. I can't decide whether or not I hate him or love him. I can't wait for the next book to see how everything evolves. Trust me this book you need to read, it's cover might scream typical cookie cutter vampire genre but the story itself is anything but.

Must read!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
83 of 94 people found the following review helpful By Jen on May 20, 2009
Format: Paperback
I'm a first time book reviewer. I usually read a mix of romance, urban fantasy and sci-fi. I bought this book on a whim, based on the reviews I read here. I received it yesterday, and ended up staying up until 2 a.m. to finish it. It was an excellent read, fast paced, good characterization, great plot, I could not put it down. There is a nice balance of humor and lots of sexual tension between Merit and Ethan.

This author and series has a lot of promise and I will definitely buy the next book. If you like Charlaine Harris, Patricia Briggs or Illona Andrews, then you will like this one too!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
49 of 54 people found the following review helpful By Lmb on September 5, 2010
Format: Paperback
Lord, I couldn't even finish. I couldn't bare it. Esp. after just finished the solidly written Kate Daniels Series by Ilona Andrews (go..read...now...esp Buffy fans).

I felt like this was written for underestimated young adults.

Why are these 28 yr. old WOMEN (Merit the MC & Mallory her BF - who are working on a dissertation & in advertising respectively) describing these vampires who are double, triple & quadruple their own ages as "boys"??

As in ...."I'd assumed there'd be time for boys after" or, "Before that moment, before watching him walk toward me, I'd been a normal girl. If I saw a boy I found attractive, I might smile. I might, on the rare occasion, say hello or give someone my phone number. I wouldn't say I was forward, but I made a move when I was interested. But something about this boy, maybe mixed with the fact that I'd recently become a vampire, made every molecule in my body tingle."

Merit is not a girl & these men are certainly not boys.

It's just....IDK, staggeringly immature writing.

Speaking of immature - Merit, Malloy, Mallory's boyfriend...yeah all very shallow so far. Unrealistically drawn with overplayed convenient responses & excuses to people & situations which actually don't make sense.

***SPOILERS***

Mallory's reaction to Merit becoming a vamp is basically - "So cool! You're a vamp!" & this is b'c she's a huge fan of all things paranormal & studies it obsessively. However, when she finds out she is the highest level of witch out there, her reaction is so underwhelming I was left scratching my head.

The lack or originality in creating Merit's entire environment is just plain poor (meaning - Merit's way too convenient life).

So uh lemme' see....
Read more ›
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?