Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comfortable Introduction
This small, friendly book is a perfect way to introduce the idea of "private parts" and inappropriate touch. I started reading it to my son before his second birthday. It's on the bookshelf with his other books, and we read it once a week or so. He likes the illustrations and especially likes to point out the baby fish and either the mommy fish or daddy fish. The book has...
Published on January 13, 2009 by Carolyn Purcell

versus
42 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too short and simple, very small book
I am baffled by all the positive reviews of this book. It is NINE SENTENCES LONG. And the book is TINY. It's worth maybe $2. And it has no depth to it at all, it just says that no one should touch you where your swimsuit covers, and if they do, say no and tell someone. The end. Total waste of $7.
Published on June 12, 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comfortable Introduction, January 13, 2009
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
This small, friendly book is a perfect way to introduce the idea of "private parts" and inappropriate touch. I started reading it to my son before his second birthday. It's on the bookshelf with his other books, and we read it once a week or so. He likes the illustrations and especially likes to point out the baby fish and either the mommy fish or daddy fish. The book has helped me talk about this subject in a casual, comfortable way--not like I'm having some important conversation with my 2-year-old but just reinforcing the ideas with a sentence or two during bath time, etc. It lays the groundwork for more conversations to come.

For those who haven't seen the book and are wondering how the ideas are presented, there is nothing anatomical or menacing about the text or illustrations (they're fish!). The message is simple: some parts are meant to be private (the areas covered by a bathing suit), and if someone tries to touch you there you should tell a trusted adult. It really is appropriate for toddlers and up.

Also, the author came to speak to our Mothers & More chapter and stressed the importance of introducing this idea at a very young age. As a school counselor, Julie sees the effects of sexual abuse and knows that without this kind of coaching at a young age, many victims will not tell an adult that something has happened. Thank you, Julie, for giving all of us a tool to start this process of protecting our children.

Carolyn Purcell
Chapter Leader
Mothers & More Central Denver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy way to have the conversation you MUST have to keep your kids safe!, January 15, 2009
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
Having worked with perpetrators of sexual abuse as a Licensed Professional Counselor, I know that even very young children can be and are, victims of sexual abuse. The prevention of sexual abuse begins with early, age-appropriate, and frequent discussions about our bodies and healthy boundaries.

If you want to do all you can to protect your children from abuse, this book is a great place to start. "Some Parts" offers a friendly, nonchalant way to discuss this most important topic with even very young children. The book gives you both the language and opportunity to grab the daily teachable moments to show kids how to be proud of and safe with their bodies.

Moreover, the book helps tentative parents to get over their own anxieties about having what may seem to some as a scary conversation. There's nothing scary about this book - for parents or kids. But, what a difference an educated mind can make!

Allison Rimland, Licensed Professional Counselor
[...]
Denver, CO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1st Grade Review, January 14, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
"The author is right about how everyone has a body, because even dogs or fish have bodies. I think what they are telling us is that any part a swimsuit covers - that is what you should not show someone. I think it is a good book to read because it tells you how people are not supposed to show and touch special parts of your body. And it is right; some parts are not for sharing. The reason I didn't rate it a 5 was because it didn't say anything about doctors seeing your privates or parents seeing your privates. Sometimes they need to check to see if something is wrong." Emma, Age 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too short and simple, very small book, June 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
I am baffled by all the positive reviews of this book. It is NINE SENTENCES LONG. And the book is TINY. It's worth maybe $2. And it has no depth to it at all, it just says that no one should touch you where your swimsuit covers, and if they do, say no and tell someone. The end. Total waste of $7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some BOOKS are not for sharing, May 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
I am an elementary school counselor and I purchased this book thinking it would be appropriate to teach our first graders about keeping their private parts to themselves. It's way to young for school age kids, and was even to basic and simple for my 2 year old niece. I liked "Your Body Belongs to You" much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant even though the topic is not., November 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
My 3 1/2 year old son immediately caught on and enjoyed this book. I bought this along with "The right touch" and his reaction to that was different- he began to create more stories to try to fit in the concepts from that book which may have been too "graphic" in a sense. Some Parts are not For Sharing was definitely pleasant even though the topic is very scary. My son got the point without associating the whys to a negative idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Early Valuable Lesson, April 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
This book is a great little simply put lesson, which aided my daughter a better understanding on what "parts" should be kept private, without getting into abuse, which other books have. She is too little to understand abuse and quite frankly, I dont want to scare her yet... I recommend this book when you can see that your child is getting a little curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really?, March 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
I thought this book was a joke. There is no information about private parts other than they are what swim suits cover. This book was read to my three year old and she was more confused after it than before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Parts are NOT for Sharing, April 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
I liked this book and feel that it covered a sensitive topic in a clear, non confrontational way. The book get's the point across and was sensitive in doing so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for preschool ages and under, October 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some Parts are NOT for Sharing (Paperback)
It was a great book to start teaching your toddler basic awareness. Both my children enjoyed reading it. Great short story ideal for bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Some Parts are NOT for Sharing
Some Parts are NOT for Sharing by Julie K. Federico (Paperback - January 13, 2009)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.