Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael English's "Some People Change" Review
Prime Cuts: Stubborn, I Knew You Were Waiting for Me, In Christ Alone

The titular of Michael English's new album "Some People Change" is most telling. Fans of English were most heartbroken when the faux pas of his moral fall almost ruined his career in 1994. After his confession to an adulterous affair, a miscarriage by his mistress, and an ugly divorce,...
Published 23 months ago by Timothy Yap

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
I was a bit disappointed in this CD. I just recently discovered that he was pursuing his own single career again, so I was very anxious to hear his new collection. I love Michael and his voice is wonderful. However, that's where part of the problem starts. I feel like this collection is over produced--too much instrumentation and back ground singers and not nearly...
Published 5 months ago by Millie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael English's "Some People Change" Review, March 26, 2013
This review is from: Some People Change (Audio CD)
Prime Cuts: Stubborn, I Knew You Were Waiting for Me, In Christ Alone

The titular of Michael English's new album "Some People Change" is most telling. Fans of English were most heartbroken when the faux pas of his moral fall almost ruined his career in 1994. After his confession to an adulterous affair, a miscarriage by his mistress, and an ugly divorce, English was stripped of his recording contract. Christian radio boycotted his songs. And English returned all his Dove Awards. Nevertheless, despite of our sinfulness, God's grace still prevailed. During his lugubrious duress, English stayed with Ashley and Wynonna Judd. Instead of throttling English for his moral downfall, Wynonna Judd encouraged English not to give up making music. During this time, Judd even recorded the hit ballad 'Healing" with English making it into the soundtrack of the movie "Silent Falls." While no label was willing to give English a second chance, Curb Records (also Wynonna Judd's label) did. The imprint not only signed English but tenaciously stayed with him all these years. "Some People Change" is English's eighth Curb Records album. And his first since 2008's "The Prodigal Comes Home." More importantly, this record is a testimony that every sinner who has encountered God's grace expressed on the Cross of Jesus Christ can be changed. This album is choked full of such a theme. While English has dabbled with various genres before including his soft rock secular albums "Michael English" (1995) and "Freedom" (1996), this new disc reflecting English's recent involvement with the Gaither Vocal Band is decidedly country/Southern Gospel with huge doses of soulful blues.

The credits on "Some People Change" are enough to blow one's socks off: this is a star-studded affair with a celebrated bastion of the biggest names in the music industry. Produced by Rascal Flatt's Jay Demarcus, the album features guest vocals by Russ Taff, Crystal Lewis, Chip Davis and the Gaither Vocal Band. Just as one of English's biggest hits was a cover of John Berry's "Your Love Amazes Me," this is a cover album of sorts. But "Some People Change" is a cover album with a difference: the songs here originated from various genres and ears. From the tried and true Gospel canon, you have George Beverly Shea's "I'd Rather Have Jesus," then you have the mainstream Aretha Franklin and George Michael's pop standard 'I Knew You Were Waiting from Me" to the rustic sounds of the Goodmans' "I Wouldn't Take Nothing for My Journey" to left-field blues rocker Jonny Lang's "The Great Day," and to country hit makers Montgomery Gentry's title cut "Some People Change."

When English sings the first few notes of Wilburn and Wilburn's "I Ain't Giving Up on Jesus" one begins to appreciate what a gorgeous voice English has. Sturdy and high octave reaching yet consisting of the soulfulness of Michael McDonald, listen to how English sways with that bluesy rhythm on this magnificent ode of faithfulness to Christ. Russ Taff shows up for a cameo on the swampy "Come to the River." When it comes to George Beverly Shea's 'I'd Rather Have Jesus" don't expect a strait jacket cover. Singing on a tangential melodic line, English truly has re-written to this hymn and has brought it to a new level of greatness. Though English has covered "In Christ Alone" some 20 years ago, his updated version of this evergreen hymn soars with a greater maturity that is just breathtaking. While Montgomery Gentry's "Some People Change" is a portfolio of stories of how individuals who have been so stymied in their own habitual evilness can still be changed by God. And the real gem is the Don Schlitz's (who co-wrote Alison Krauss' "When You Say Nothing At All") co-write "Stubborn." A gorgeous piano-led ballad about our struggles to turn to God, this is also perhaps the only song to ever contain the word "molecule" in its lyrics.

At first glance two songs seemed to stick out like soar thumbs: "I Knew You Were Waiting for Me" and "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry." Both of them are not known to be Christian songs in what is an overtly religious record. The former is the 1987 George Michael and Aretha Franklin smash, here finding Crystal Lewis taking Queen of Soul's part. Both English and Lewis sound so good together that it is all forgivable. But Hank Williams' "I'm So Lonesome" - a cry-in-your-beer country standard with its self depreciating lyrics -- is certainly an odd ball here. Nevertheless, it has been 5 years since English has graced us with a full studio album. And he returns with a blast; this truly is a great record delivered by one of Christian music's best voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yet!, April 10, 2013
This review is from: Some People Change (Audio CD)
I absolutely LOVE this CD and it's his best, by far! After reading his book, all the tracks on this CD make perfect sense along with the title! I'm thrilled that Michael English is back and doing what he does best, sing! You will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some People Change (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of Michael's music so I really enjoyed this CD. I absolutely LOVE his version of 'I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry.' Although he is known more for his 'booming' voice, his mellow, emotional rendition of this song showcases what an amazing, true talent he is. This song alone is worth the price of the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Male Vocals In Christian & Gospel!, June 6, 2013
This review is from: Some People Change (Audio CD)
Michael English has been a favorite artist of mine since the early days when he released his first 2 recordings the self-titled album and "Hope". Love this new album and the new version of "In Christ Alone." Michael English has the best male vocals in Christian and Gospel music, hands down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good variety of great music, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some People Change (Audio CD)
Michael has yet to disappoint with his music! His remarkable
voice shines through. Whether having fun rockin or with his eyes
filling with tears, he never disappoints with his beautiful voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So grateful Michael is back!, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some People Change (Audio CD)
Wonderful addition to my collection-I love Michael's song choices & voice...definitely identified with 'Stubborn' Thank you Mr. English!! Thank you, Lord, for gifting us humans in such amazing ways!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal experience -Change, October 9, 2013
This review is from: Some People Change (MP3 Music)
This guy found about change...wound up pn the street without a home. Hear his testimony - how he found change. He sings a song about change from personal experience. Get this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Micheal is heading back to solo projects and they're awesome!, September 22, 2014
This review is from: Some People Change (Audio CD)
Wow! This man can sing!!!! He doesn't just have a great, multi-octave, multi-versatile, can-sing-anything he wants voice. He really SINGS in a way that moves anyone who listens! He sings every WORD out of every song as if the words are a song in themselves. His diction is incredibly unique, with total class and perfection! When he sings live, even better.
Catch him on a TBN show he did after the release if "The Prodigal Comes Home" release (book & CD). Go to TBN.org and search his name. Pick the show with Donny McClurkin and Gary Oliver. If you're not a Michael English fan, you will be after watching him sing "Blessed Assurance" live!! By their own admission he blows away even the most dynamic singers like Donny McClurkin and Gary Oliver on the stage that night. As Jan Crouch quoted, Hearing Michael English sing, "You're hearing One of the GREATEST SINGERS this side of Heaven"! Amen Jan!
I'm so proud of Michael English! With his voice, meekness, power, and looks, he could have topped any pop singers of that time, like Michael Bolton, etc., and could also top them today! But Michael CHOSE to sing for Jesus because "That's where my passion is" Michael says. And it sure is! The greatest singer ever! Extremely gifted beyond belief at times! And now things are coming back around for Michael because he stayed true to The Faith, and God is keeping His promises and blessing Michael for his choices to sing for Him. Even with another NEW "The Michael English Show" on TBN! Who greater to host a gospel music artist show than the man who knows them all! Singing gospel with his dad and brothers since he was 5, knowing all the gospel circles, to singing with Bill Gaither for many, many years, no one knows gospel music like Michael, AND can bring singers and musicians together, with Miichael's sweet, so humble hosting! And we fans get to see and hear Michael English sing every week!
You'll never be disappointed with anything Michael English because he's the real deal and talented beyond description.
Enjoy, new Michael English fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, July 3, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some People Change (Audio CD)
Michael with his unique way of making music. New and old known songs... great album (on the expensive side), but great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing singer!, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Some People Change (MP3 Music)
I love Michael English! He has an amazing voice! His music is very uplifting! One of our favorite gospel singers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Some People Change
Some People Change by Michael English (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.