Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have
S.E. Hinton has collected a powerful group of stories, all under one thousand words, revolving around cousins Mike and Terry, who are as close as brothers. When prison separates them, their lives take different turns, and they have to learn to live with what has changed them.

Her writing is taut and expressive in all of her fiction, but the tight confines of...
Published on August 15, 2007 by jensa

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed in this one by an author who use to ...
So disappointed in this one by an author who use to be a favorite! I read The Outsiders so many times that I actually went through about four copies of the paperback! Same thing with her book Tex. This one just fell so incredibly short and flat to me.

I don't see the emotion or the connection with the characters in this one- and it felt like the characters were...
Published 1 month ago by A. Marbach


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have, August 15, 2007
S.E. Hinton has collected a powerful group of stories, all under one thousand words, revolving around cousins Mike and Terry, who are as close as brothers. When prison separates them, their lives take different turns, and they have to learn to live with what has changed them.

Her writing is taut and expressive in all of her fiction, but the tight confines of short story writing has really brought out some of Hinton's best work. The stories are filled with an emotional resonance that stays with the reader.

Longtime fans will appreciate the second half of the book, which contains interviews with Hinton regarding all of her fiction, as well as the movies they inspired.

This book is a must-have for fans of S.E. Hinton, and for those new to her writing this is a wonderful introduction to the types of characters and themes she excels in writing about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, June 9, 2011
Another great write from SE Hinton. I couldn't put it down! The writing reminded me a lot of her early book "Tex" but directed at an dult audience. The raw emotion pulls you in. You cannot help but feel for the Mike (the main character) and his struggles. Extraordinary writing. I was sad when I reached the end. I recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed in this one by an author who use to ..., August 31, 2014
By 
A. Marbach "badgroove" (Sometimes Sunny California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So disappointed in this one by an author who use to be a favorite! I read The Outsiders so many times that I actually went through about four copies of the paperback! Same thing with her book Tex. This one just fell so incredibly short and flat to me.

I don't see the emotion or the connection with the characters in this one- and it felt like the characters were just shadows of people going through random spots of time! I don't know of that was as a result of the disjointed fact that these were really just a bunch of disjointed short stories loosely held together by common characters or if the author has just lost her touch. Heck maybe I have just grown up and move on past Hinton's story telling techniques. Either way- it just was not something I enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family and Choices, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The characters in this lovely collection of short stories are revealed slowly through brief glimpses of crucial points in their lives. With each short look, their choices become apparent, and the effects of those choices on the people around them are painfully clear. The characters will linger in the memory, like the characters from S.E. Hinton's other books have become old friends to generations of teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars one star review, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
very disappointing jumped around too much, hard to keep up with, confusing, didn't stay on track,lost interest very fast truly expected more from the Author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall Very Good, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was good quality, though, if you didn't know this, the actual story is only 67 pages, the rest is interviews with S.E. Hinton. It is a good book, but it has an extremely cliffy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Food for Thought, June 2, 2013
By 
Kerry M (Gold Coast, Australia) - See all my reviews
Being a big fan of S.E. Hinton's past novels (the Outsiders and That Was Then, This is Now, etc) I couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. I was not disappointed. Whilst it is different from her past works, it is indeed a wonderful book. Some of Tim's Stories is written as a series of short stories about the lives of close cousins Terry and Mike, but from Mike's viewpoint. The book starts off recounting two young boys busting to grow up so they can join their fathers on a yearly trip. It starts with hope, exuberance and boyhood expectation but life doesn't always go the way you with it will. There is an underlying sadness to these stories that builds as the tale is told. Whilst there is no feel-good ending, it is without doubt a book that will leaving you thinking long after you put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a treat to read S.E. Hinton, April 27, 2013
By 
Bill Baker (OGUNQUIT, ME, US) - See all my reviews
What a treat to have these stories by S.E. Hinton, a natural writer,
and one of the few writers kids are drawn to like a magnet, and it isn't just that she is so readable - many writers are - but that she writes about what many feel is the `real' world, with characters that have feelings we can all recognize as ones we know too well.

These stories about two close cousins, follow them through differing
episodes of their lives; the stories are alive with their joys and pain and we think of our own, and are thankful we have S.E. Hinton to help us realize these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life Long S.E. Hinton Fan Still Impressed With Her Storytelling., October 6, 2014
Excellent writing from S.E. Hinton as always. Mike and Terry are interesting characters that are similar to Bryon and Mark in That Was Then, This Is Now. And there's an interview with S.E. Hinton in this book too and she gives insight about her novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Some of Tim's Stories (The Oklahoma Stories & Storytellers Series)
Some of Tim's Stories (The Oklahoma Stories & Storytellers Series) by S. E. Hinton (Paperback - April 2, 2009)
Used & New from: $2.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.