Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I ADORE this movie
There isn't anything in this that was earth shattering or incredible performances. It was just a good Sunday Afternoon flick, I own this one and forgot how much I enjoyed it until my Daughter and I pulled it off the shelf.
Julia Roberts does a believable job as a woman who has found out that her husband has screwed around on her. What I liked most about this movie...
Published on October 11, 2002 by Psboston7

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Familiar but pleasing nonetheless
Director Lasse Hallstrom attempts to combine two venerable Hollywood genres and several subplots in this nonetheless agreeable morality tale about the bad effect adultery can have on your marriage. Part women's POV romantic comedy and part Dixie family dynamics saga, this is a generational story about what it takes to make a marriage work. It's a little scattered and...
Published on June 18, 2001 by Dennis Littrell


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I ADORE this movie, October 11, 2002
By 
This review is from: Something to Talk About (DVD)
There isn't anything in this that was earth shattering or incredible performances. It was just a good Sunday Afternoon flick, I own this one and forgot how much I enjoyed it until my Daughter and I pulled it off the shelf.
Julia Roberts does a believable job as a woman who has found out that her husband has screwed around on her. What I liked most about this movie was allll of the secondary characters... Kyra was the PERFECT Older sister looking out for her younger one, Gena was Great as the Southern Belle Mama, the Aunt (don't know this woman's name)was HILARIOUS as the "little" crazy Aunt that would/could go there. You really have to pay attention to this movie there are so many innuendos and funny moments that I truly can recommend this one. The actress that played the daughter was wonderful and last but not least Dennis Quaid did quite a convincing job as a contrite husband (once he was caught).
If you want something along this plot line I would also suggest "Hope Floats" which also stars Gena Rowlands and has pretty much the same subject matter but not the same movie. Enjoy.
Respectfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 10-12 I watch repeatedly. . ., January 28, 2004
By 
A Haynes (Richmond, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Something to Talk About (DVD)
As a 30-something chick, I have a few romantic comedies and dramas that I have watched so many times I can repeat them line for line. I put them on, if for nothing else, for the background noise. This movie is one of them. The title of the movie says it all; Julia Roberts (Grace) gives the entire town something to talk about when she finds out about her husband's cheating ways. The movie is funny and poignant at the same time, making the viewer re-visit some decisions they made in their lives that got them where they are today. Kyra Sedgwick is absolutely fabulous (much better than in "Singles") and Gena Rowlands is wonderful, as well. Pair that with a great subplot about horse competitions and coming to grip with aging, you've got a great movie that was completely underrated by most critics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable and entertaining film, June 10, 2003
By A Customer
Curl up and enjoy this movie. It is funny, sad, interesting and most of all enjoyable. I disagree with the person who said that the husband and wife spontaneously dance and then live happily ever after. Did we watch the same movie? The wife (Julia Roberts) then goes back to school and her husband begins courting her. Dating, not back to move in and live happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Familiar but pleasing nonetheless, June 18, 2001
Director Lasse Hallstrom attempts to combine two venerable Hollywood genres and several subplots in this nonetheless agreeable morality tale about the bad effect adultery can have on your marriage. Part women's POV romantic comedy and part Dixie family dynamics saga, this is a generational story about what it takes to make a marriage work. It's a little scattered and loose fitting and underdeveloped in parts, but there's enough warmth and bright comedy to make up for the defects, and the cast is fun to watch.

The script by Callie Khouri is familiar but clever with some good human observations and some nice twists. I notice that Khouri also wrote Thelma and Louise (1991), which may explain why, in this flick, it is the men who learn (and need) most of the hard lessons. Robert Duvall plays the still feisty patriarch, Wlyly King, who really needs to learn to loosen the reigns a little, while Dennis Quaid, who plays Grace's adulterous husband, needs to appreciate what he's got and to stop catting around. Kyra Sedgwick as Grace's sister helps him by kneeing him right where it hurts the most, and Grace, accidentally on purpose, nearly poisons him. (All part of his well-deserved and to be continued penance.) Sedgwick sparkles while being careful not to upstage "America's Darling" too often while Gena Rowlands as the mother is steady and sure.

Julia Roberts has become a great star and a great actress, and she is one of my favorites, but there is no question that she felt not entirely comfortable in this part. From the details of the script you can see that she is supposed to be a somewhat ditzy and naively outspoken woman, a southern belle with spunk, a mind of her own, and a desire to be something more than her father's daughter or her husband's wife. Julia got most of it right except for the ditzy part. She either wouldn't bend (maybe her agency advised against looking too weird) or Hallstrom didn't insist because Julia played this like Bogart always played Bogart, just like herself. You can see that the character of Grace Bichon is a bit out in left field because she leaves her daughter places or forgets to take her as she drives off in the morning. And then there was that outrageous confrontation at the woman's club where she stands up and demands to know how many other women have been sleeping with her husband. Something to talk about indeed!

But Julia stays Julia, and so the character is never developed as written. Nonetheless Julia Roberts is always wonderful, and although there is not here the effortless and nearly flawless style she was then developing, a style that culminated in her Oscar winning performance in Erin Brockovich, there is the undeniable down to earth charm and warmth that has made her so beloved by audiences that she can command something like twenty million dollars per.

Robert Duvall obviously had a lot of fun with his part, but I wonder if he realizes how much he looks like a bantam rooster in those riding tights!

--Dennis Littrell, author of "Cut to the Chaise Lounge or I Can't Believe I Swallowed the Remote!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice comedy, worth watching., March 1, 2000
By 
Something to Talk About is the sort of movie that is saved by the cast. If it had not been for the work of people like Roberts, Duvall, Quaid, Sedgwick and others, this movie would hardly have been worth watching. Especially Kyra Sedgwick did a wonderfull job, but than she had all the good lines. Good work with the horses too and Dennis Quaid shows a surprising talent in handling children. The story itself is not very special, but the actors make the best of it, producing a pleasant comedy with rather more points of interest than is usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fall Movie, July 25, 2006
By 
Kara Ann (Elwood, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Something to Talk About (DVD)
I love Julia Roberts and Gena Rowlands. Kyra Sedgewick is in this one as well. The film is awesome. It has an awesome plot and the setting is beautiful. The horses provide a good sub-plot to the main marital-problem part of the movie. Kyra plays my favorite character, Grace's fiesty sister. Her quips are fantastic and Julia Roberts and Quaid totally make their roles beleivable. It's a cute, funny, drama--who knew they still existed? Love IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to Talk About, June 30, 2007
This review is from: Something to Talk About (DVD)
This movie is one of the best movies ever made. It covers the dynamics of relationships in a way that allows the viewer to recognize them in thier own lives or of people that they know. Julie Roberts, Dennis Quaid, Kyra Sedgwick, Robert Duvall and Gena Rowlands are all at their best. THis is a movie that I enjoy every time I watch it and that is often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taking a Second Look at an Older Movie!, August 19, 2006
By 
This review is from: Something to Talk About (DVD)
Odd to term a 1995 film as an 'older movie', but SOMETHING TO TALK ABOUT was rather dismissed in its initial release as a bit of fluff: looking at the film now reveals a tight little message movie garnished with a fine writer (Callie Khouri - 'Thelma and Louise', 'Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood'), and first class director (Lasse Hallström - 'Casanova', 'An Unfinished Life', 'The Shipping News', 'Chocolat', 'The Cider House Rules', 'What's Eating Gilbert Grape' etc), and a cast that has not only grown in importance from the time of this film but has also become acknowledged as the creme of the cinema.

The story is rather slight: Grace (Julia Roberts) is a Southern Belle horse trainer married to handsome but womanizing Eddie (Dennis Quaid) who discovers to her amazement that Eddie is dating other women. This throws Grace into a rage that affects her family, her family's typical Southern response to appearances, and ultimately awakens not only Grace but also every member of her family to secrets that allow them to take charge of their prettified hollow lives! Grace's sister Emma Rae (Kyra Sedgwick, in yet another of her sensational roles) is a perky, spitfire of a woman who seems to be the only member who has her act together; her mother Georgia (Gena Rowlands) and father Wyly (Robert Duvall) are both able to reveal the old South and the new individuality they achieve; Brett Cullen, Haley Aull, and Muse Watson are all excellent in their roles.

One of the most entertaining aspects of this entertaining film is the confrontation between 'old manners' and new reality - with some heady lessons for all of us to observe and allow chuckles. It is a tight little film that deserves another visit on DVD. Grady Harp, August 06
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you don't laugh out loud often, check your pulse!, June 29, 1999
By A Customer
Kyra Sedgwick had the best lines, and she delivered! The whole cast was funny! When Roberts concocts a "near death experience" for the philandering Quaid, it's hilarious.The Women's Club scene is a gem when Roberts wants to take names of any other paramours of her husband!Gena Rowlands "changed locks" scene with Duvall is priceless... Duvall wants to know if she got into the "Apple Wahn"... If anyone comes away from this one without being entertained, they ought to get out and about a little bit more! Sedgwick and Roberts resemble one another enough to pass for sisters.I'm surprised that they haven't been teamed up as sisters for a project that could lead to sequels.I think someone is missing the boat! (They're only two years apart in age, Sedgwick being the senior.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to talk about -, April 10, 2003
I Love the movie, it's good clean fun, probably not so much for the men as for us females. I have watched this time and time again plus do-not have to worry if my daughter wanders in and out as anything she should not be hearing would go over her head anyway. Kind of reminds me of a totaly modern, "Harper valley PTA" I have an old taped version that i borrowed from a friend years ago, so now i have just brought another copy so she can hers back. A must *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Something to Talk About
Something to Talk About by Lasse Hallstrom (DVD - 1999)
$5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.