Customer Reviews


538 Reviews
5 star:
 (299)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


131 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keaton Shines in Great Comedy!
Something's Gotta Give is one of the year's best films and best comedies as it teams up Jack Nicholson and Diane Keaton, who seemed to love every minute they shared onscreen. Nicholson plays a man who only dates girls under 30 and is shocked to find he can fall in love with a woman his own age, played by Diane Keaton, who has never looked better. She gives her best...
Published on January 2, 2004 by Alec Solomita

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little ditty about Jack and Diane.
This is a nice film of the "chick flick" variety. You'll rent it with your girlfriend(s) because you are a fan of Keanu, Jack and/or Diane, because it's a feel-good movie movie and because you have no idea what else to get at the video store. You will pass a mild evening on the couch with a few giggles and popcorn.
Diane Keaton plays accomplished 50 something woman...
Published on April 25, 2004 by A. Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

131 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keaton Shines in Great Comedy!, January 2, 2004
By 
Something's Gotta Give is one of the year's best films and best comedies as it teams up Jack Nicholson and Diane Keaton, who seemed to love every minute they shared onscreen. Nicholson plays a man who only dates girls under 30 and is shocked to find he can fall in love with a woman his own age, played by Diane Keaton, who has never looked better. She gives her best performance since she won an Oscar for Annie Hall and should be on her way to another as a very career sucessful woman who has no confidence with men. It is great to see her reaction to both Nicholson's and Keanu Reeves' character. Nicholson and Keaton light up the screen with every scene they are in and Amanada Peet and Reeves do very well in their supporting role, as does the underused Frances McDormand as Keaton's sister. Nancy Meyers, who had a huge hit with What Women Want, does a much better job here and makes for a great adult romantic comedy featuring actors over 50. A great film that will be remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're looking for entertainment....., February 16, 2004
By 
Jeffrey E Ellis (Naperville, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Something's Gotta Give (DVD)
I just can't remember laughing so much at a recent movie!
I was prepared for a slightly-deranged, lecherous, self-absorbed Jack Nicholson. I mean, what else is new?
I was prepared for a sweet, bright, pretty Diance Keaton. She's a sweetheart, right?
I wasn't prepared for the flat-out laugh-out-loud humor, irony, and wit of this charming comedy! Just so much fun...my wife and I were still chuckling as we walked out of the theater into the parking lot.
I suspect that all baby boomers will get a big kick out of seeing this film - at home or in the theater! A terrific entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!!, January 3, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Best movie in a loooong time! Just excellent! It'll leave you laughing all the way, and touches you also :) Such a great romantic comedy. Yes, probaly more of a girl movie, but an excellent one you'll wanna see again and again! Can't wait until it comes out on DVD! Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson are a terrfic pair in this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True love knows no (age) limits, December 13, 2003
Jack Nicholson and Diane Keaton are charming in this humorous love story about two intelligent, if not totally romantically centered, members of the middle-age set (toward the older end of the range).
Diana Keaton has never been better. This was finally her perfect role. Jack Nicholson was cast in a part that could have been written especially for him. Erica Barry (Keaton) a successful middle-aged playwright who has emotionally and sexually closed herself off after divorcing her husband of 22 years (Paul Michael Glaser, still looking pretty good himself), meets the older man in her young daughter Marin's (Amanda Peet) life. This meeting marked by sudden, unexpected attack of the heart exposes her to successful entrepreneur and playboy Harry Sanborn (Nicholson). Sanborn has 'played at life' all of his 63 years before finally starting to get down to 'living his life' after facing the reality that he might have come close to the end of his life. Proving it never rains but it pours, Barry unexpectedly simultaneously claims the attention of Sanborn's young doctor (Keanu Reeves), some 20 years her junior, who finds her beauty and intelligence magnetically attractive.
During a real rain storm, the genuine romance of the film begins to bloom. The charm of the movie is in looking on as two emotionally-challenged characters experience love, perhaps for the very first time, with all its pitfalls, peaks, comical and embarrassing moments, and the magic, tender, endearing episodes that make true love the roller coaster it always is.
Keaton beautifully handles the over-the-top emotions of falling in love, portraying the highs and the lows, with equal brilliance. Nicholson, who as always portrays every mental spark that is a thought and every feeling that is an emotion on that amazing face; always a portrait in motion that can be as easily read as words on a page.
There are a lot of laughs in this film and there are a lot of truths in the tale. Some reviewers have called this a menopause chick-flick. The audience when I attended was about equal male/female, including some male viewers without dates. The laughter seemed equally distributed along gender lines, telling me that the guys 'get it' as well as the females.
Timeless romance with a sterling cast. See it soon and be reminded that love just gets better with age, as have Keaton and Nicholson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I enjoyed it!, December 29, 2005
By 
Terezia H (South Coast UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Something's Gotta Give (DVD)
Having read some very mixed reviews for this film, I wasnt sure whether to bother with it or not. I`m glad I did.

Jack Nicholson (Harry) is excellent as an ageing playboy, intent on keeping his love life hassle free, by dating under 30s without baggage. Enter Marin (Amanda Peet) with an awesome set of eyebrows. Harry and Marin take off for her mothers stunning home in the Hamptons, expecting a quiet weekend together. Until Marins mother Erica (Diane Keaton), who has also gone to the house with her sister for the weekend, unexpectedly finds Harry raiding the fridge in his underwear. I think the tone for this film is set as the mother realizes with horror, that Harry isnt a burglar but her daughters boyfriend!

As the title suggests, somethings gotta give. And it does, Harrys heart. Any 64 year old fooling around with Marin to the strains of Marvin Gaye, should ideally get a check up first. Harry is told he is not well enough to travel back to the city for a few days, so finds himself reluctantly marooned at the house with Marins uptight mother. And the love story unfolds.

The setting for this film is beautiful, who doesnt want a home in the Hamptons now? Diane Keaton sparkles and Jack is a hoot. I get the feeling playing this part was as easy for him as falling off a log. You can clearly see the chemistry between himself and Diane.

I wasnt sure about the doctor, Keanu Reeves. He did seem to be wheeled in and out of the film, more as a prop than a real character. Which is a shame as he is a first rate actor. Those who disagree arent watching him properly. Watch again and enjoy his subtle handling of the restaurant scenes with Harry and Erica. Perfect!

If you want a classy film that will make you chuckle, try this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Comedy, December 24, 2003
By A Customer
Rarely do you see a film nowadays that is so perfectly cast, well scripted and beautifully directed. Something's Gotta Give is a romantic comedy that deserves to stand among such classics as When Harry Met Sally, Annie Hall, The Philadelphia Story, and It Happened One Night. It stands out like a diamond in the rough among so many of the flimsy plots that litter most of the comedy films that have graced the silver screen these past few years. Diane Keaton delivers what is possibly the best performance of her career as uptight playwright, Erica Barry, who has given up all hope on love, when an unexpected turn of events turns her world upside down. With the most subtle of expressions and gestures, Keaton is able to make us laugh as we've never laughed before; she says what she means, she expresses how she feels and she does it all with that grace and talent that has captivated audiences for years. Nicholson, in a role which seems to have been written for him, delivers a performance that tops his brilliant portrayal of the obsessive compulsive Melvin Udall in the 1997 film, As Good as It Gets. As the eccentric, yet undeniably loveable character of Harry Sandborne, Nicholson plays a debonair older man who has a reputation for dating younger women. The combination of his character and Keaton's provides for a seemingly endless supply of witty banter and comical yet touching, and at times deeply moving, scenes that will have you rolling in the aisles with laughter. This film captures the warmth and enchantingly elusive quality that characterizes the best films of all time. With a supporting cast that includes delightful and perfectly cast performances from Frances McDormand, Keanu Reeves and Amanda Peet, this film seems to be too good to be true. One of those rare films that gets better with each viewing, Something's Gotta Give deserves to garner, at the very least, Oscar nominations for Keaton's and Nicholson's brilliant performances, Nancy Meyers refreshingly clever and hilarious script, and the beautiful art direction. Something's Gotta Give served as a much needed breath of fresh air, proving to audiences that the art of filmmaking and the acting profession still have what it takes to charm, seduce and captivate audiences. A true classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little ditty about Jack and Diane., April 25, 2004
By 
This review is from: Something's Gotta Give (DVD)
This is a nice film of the "chick flick" variety. You'll rent it with your girlfriend(s) because you are a fan of Keanu, Jack and/or Diane, because it's a feel-good movie movie and because you have no idea what else to get at the video store. You will pass a mild evening on the couch with a few giggles and popcorn.
Diane Keaton plays accomplished 50 something woman Erica Barry whose grown daughter Marin (Amanda Peet) is dating notorious 60 something bachelor Harry Sandborn (Jack Nicholson). After a rocky introduction at the family's beach house, Erica and Harry are in a continual state of hostility that in the movies can only mean sexual tension. Erica is of course idealistically outraged that such an older man is dating her daughter. The two of them trade snipes and pot shots. Inevitably, the odd couple are thrown together alone for a few days while Harry recovers from a heart attack. Harry is impressed with Erica's spirit and intelligence while Erica grudgingly notices that Harry has moments of irrepressible charm. But now it seems that a love triangle is being set up as his doctor (Keanu Reeves) has ironically started to fall for the much-older Erica. How will this mess get ironed out? Hmmmmm.
If you're thinking the plot sounds a bit predictable, you'd be right. The pacing is also a bit slow, the dvd had flaws in its color consistency and there was a general lack of things that would appeal to men in this movie. Jack and Diane hammed it up a little too much at times. At the end, I said to myself, "that was nice", but promptly forgot about it; not a sign of provocative, cutting edge screenswriting to be sure.
I do have to give this movie its props; not many have ever tried to tackle the May/December romance syndrome that is everywhere in Hollywood (which is a particular pet peeve of mine, I might add). Also, while the performances by the leads were over the top, these stars did make a nice pair with a good chemistry. There were also some very girly giggly moments. So it would seem that there is a place for Something's Gotta Give on the shelf of my favorite local video store...just not on the shelf of my home library.
-Andrea, aka Merribelle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mature and damn right SEXY!!, January 13, 2004
By A Customer
Something's Gotta Give boasts a group of talented actors that played out their roles with great natural charm (yes! this means Keanu too but everyone knows that). This movie brought back all the romantic and charismatic movies of yesteryear, which now unfortunately have been replaced by exaggerated shoot out scenes, overdone sex and ridiculous one-liners to say the least. It shows that mature older people are not dried out prunes but who are accomplished human beings with (and this bit shouldn't make your stomach churn!) an active healthy sex life. The praising/judging of bachelor/spinsterhoods is just ludicrous. This movie shows that whether you are young, old, a bachelor or a spinster, you can achieve a lot of things if you have the determination and passion for it. And most of all, there is absolutely nothing wrong with getting older and taking chances to try something new. I can only hope that my life will lead to a prosperous, exciting and romantic mature one, in years to come with lots of things to show for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate the phrase "Chick Flick.", July 25, 2006
By 
Jabberwocky (Elsewhere, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Something's Gotta Give (DVD)
Any movie that shows women's emotions and actually treats them with an ounce of respect is a "chick flick" that most men want to stay away from. Which is opposed to the "guy flick" where the women are treated like sex objects and there are a bunch of explosions and deaths. Come on guys. Are you mature men or 12 year old boys? Maybe if some men spent more time trying to understand women rather than objectifying them they might have better luck getting girlfriends.

This is PARTIALLY what Something's Gotta Give is about: how women want to be treated vs. how men THINK women want to be treated.

It's an excellent, funny, smart, refreshing movie. How often do we see an older man with an older woman in a romantic film nowadays? How often does that couple have excellent chemistry and actually look natural? Jack and Diane look and act like they had so much fun with this.

One nickpick I have is with Amanda Peet. She played her role too strait-laced and ended up coming off as boring. It really would have been a ball if she had mustered the off-kilter, slightly psychotic character she played in Saving Silverman. She's proven she can do decent comedy. Other than this small criticism, great flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See Film - Keaton & Nicholson Are A Real Treat!, June 12, 2004
This review is from: Something's Gotta Give (DVD)
Boy did I love this film!! I needed a good laugh...and I found myself with a stitch in my side from laughter. I also found a few unexpected tears in my eyes. There are definitely poignant moments here. But then, I happen to be a woman "of a certain age" so perhaps I really related. Diane Keaton, Jack Nicholson, a superb supporting cast and writer-director Nancy Meyers have provided entertainment at its best with "Something's Gotta Give." (I hate the movie's title, though. Surely someone could have come up with something more apt and original).
Harry Sanborn, (Nicholson), a 63 year-old music industry mogul, is a renowned bachelor who prefers his women under 30 and gorgeous. He is allergic to commitment - the word is not even in his vocabulary. Erica Barry is a 50-something divorcee and a super successful playwright. Her daughter, 20-something Marin, (lovely Amanda Peet), brings her latest lover (Sanborn), to their Hamptons summer home for the weekend and - Surprise(!) - finds Mommy home too. The interaction and verbal sparring between the 4, (including Aunt Zoe, played by Frances McDormand as Keaton's feminist sister), is a riot. Unfortunately Harry's hard living catches up with him during this, of all weekends, and he has a heart attack. Keaton saves him with mouth-to-mouth resuscitation. And hunky Dr. Julian Mercer (Keanu Reeves) forces him to remain at the Barry home to recuperate. Then the fun really begins.
The combination of Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson is an absolute joyous one. Two great actors, with plenty of chemistry between them, are at their best - they sizzle! As do Keanu Reeves and Keaton. She gets all the great guys...deservedly so. The script is witty, the dialogue is acerbic...and tender at times. The characters have depth and room to grow - which they certainly do. There may be some weak moments - the ending is slightly schmaltzy, but I loved it anyway and wouldn't have wanted it any other way.
So, if you're in the mood for a good flick that will make you laugh and touch your heart - this is the one. Highly recommended!
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Something's Gotta Give
Something's Gotta Give by Nancy Meyers (DVD - 2004)
$14.99 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.