Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Somewhere in the Darkness
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2004
When Jimmy come home from school he finds a man outside his house that turns out to be his father. His father had come to take him to Chicago, but Mama Jean his care taker doesn't want him to go. But Jimmy goes with his father anyways. On the way there Jimmy asked him where he had been al these years. His father told him he had been to jail. When Jimmy asked him what he did, his father told him that he had been in jail, but that he was innocent. Jimmy and Crab continue traveling to meet a friend of Crabs to find out why he did not tell the police that Crqab was innocent. What happened on the way there will change their lives forever. This book has lots of drama. This book would appeal more to boys or kids who wonder about a parent they never met.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
Our daughter enjoys it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2000
The blind leading the blind would be a good way to summarize this by Walter Dean Myers. The blind leading the reader would be even better, for Somewhere in the Darkness seems boring and pointless. The whole book is about a endless trip.When the book finally ends it raps up too rapidly. The book begins with a young man named Jimmy Little who is an intelligent boy trying to survive a rough neighborhood. Mama Jean , his father's mother, is his sole provider. Suddenly, and rather quickly, Jimmy's father (Crab) who escaped from prison appears in the story. They embark on a trip, which is very uninteresting. There were enjoyable points in the book. The character of Mama Jean was well done. Jimmy was an OK character if not a bit ignorant. This book fails on every level. I have read many books good and bad, if you read good literature you will understand my views.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2000
This book was about a boy named Jimmy who had to go out of town with his father, who broke out of jail. Jimmy's father named Crab didn't tell Jimmy that he broke out of jail, so he drove to many different states as well as Arkansas. Jimmy fell asleep while Crab was driving and woke up in the dark. He woke up and asked " why are we going to so many states", and " where are we now". Crab said we are doing this because; the police are looking for me. While they were talking the police ran over Crab with the police car and Crab died. I think the title fits in with the story, because that was the last time Jimmy and Crab spent together talking in the darkness. I would recmmend this book to anybody because; I like the plot of this book. This book ends with the readers wondering what happened to Jimmy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2004
In this Book it shows the love between a father and a son at all costs.Jimmy at first wonders what his father is like. At first he does not want to go with Crab but learns to execpt him as a father.At the End of this book it was quite depressing seeing them start to love eachother and Jimmy Watching His father die. I enjoyed this book because it had a little bit of everything. I would recomened this book to anyone who has a taste for adventure or drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
Easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2000
Walter Dean Myers writes in serious tone but gives you a realistic spark of hope. This book is somewhat depressing. This book was sometimes confusing for me because you think something good is going to happen but never does This book is about a boy named Jimmy Little, a normal 14-year-old boy. Jimmy hadbeen reaised by his beloved, dependable "Mama Jean.'' Mama Jean was a good friend of the parent that Jimmy doesn't even remeber. His mother is dead and his dad, ''Crab,'' is in prison. His father is in prison for killing a man in an armed robbery. Suddenly Crab shows up, claiming that he is on parole and has a job in Chicago. Jimmy agrees to go with him, but Crab's lies begin to fall apart even before they leave New York. He has kidney failure, and has escaped from a prison hospital. The two go to Arkansas, where Crab hopes his his old friend , Rydell, will assure his innocense. Crab was convicted convicted of murder as the result of another friend's pleabargaining. Rydell, who onced betrayed Crab with his silence, betrays him again by calling the police, Crab surrenders, then dies soon after in the hospital. The thing that I did like about the story was how Mama Jean raised Jimmy and gave him food on the table, clothes on his back, and a roof over his head. I thought that was very thoughtful of her.The thing that i din't like about the story was that Crab tried to build a relationship at the last minute and expected Jimmy to go right along with it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2003
This book is about Jimmy, a teenager lives in the city with his mother's best friend, Mama Jean, because his mother is dead and his father is in jail for killing someone (however, he is falsely accused). One day Jimmy gets home from school early and he sees a man is waiting at the bottom of the stairs. He says his name is Crab, Jimmy's father. Crab is there to take Jimmy with him. After Jimmy and Crab left, they travel cross-country to try to find the one man who can prove that Crab is innocent. Finally they find that man but the man comes back the next day with the police. The policeman takes Crab to the hospital and in the end Crab dies, chained to the bed in his hospital room.
I think that the message in this book is to learn to accept and learn to love. Jimmy has to accept that his father does not abandon him. I think in the end Jimmy loves his father and is really sad when his father dies. I think this story is funny but also serious. Moreover, the character development makes it seem as if readers are actually there with Jimmy. Crab's character, especially becomes clearer as the story progresses. And I would like to recommend this book because it was interesting. Some parts of the story kept me interested to keep reading.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2003
Walter Dean Myers is a very good Writer, I like how in all his books he writes, and shows emotion through the actions of the characters. I have also read and enjoyed Monster, also written by Walter Dean Myers. In both books, you get to know the characters by what they do, instead of reading a long boring biography about each character in the beginning of the book. I really like they style that Walter writes in. Especially how he includes all the characters throughout the book, instead of having them die out of the story in the beginning or middle. I would recommend this book or any book by Walter Dean Myers to anyone that likes to read. Somewhere in the Darkness, is about a 14 Year old boy whos dad is distant from him, and when he begins a relationship with him, his dad dies of kidney failure. this is a good example of "You don't know what you have until it is gone."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2005
somewhere in the darkness tells readers a story about a boy, jimmy, who lives with mamma jean and his convicted father, Crab. Crab escapes from prison to explain to his son that he is innocent. Crab takes jimmy on a roadtrip to arkansas to proove him self innocent. crab's serious kidney problems seem to get worse as the trip goes on and in the end jimmy learns that you must have something to live for and that is a ll crab wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.99
$5.62

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.