Customer Reviews


827 Reviews
5 star:
 (592)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest story ever told
Son of God depicts the the greatest story ever told, the birth, death and resurrection of Jesus, the son of God. If you are a Christian, you will be moved by the movie's re-enactment as the actors and settings will take you back to when our Savior walked the Earth, and how Jesus died so we may have eternal life. If you do not believe in Jesus as your personal savior,...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
171 of 207 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Son of Man and the 13 Disciples
When I first heard about the movie SON OF GOD, I didn't think it was a good idea. SON OF GOD is a movie that mostly contains re-edited scenes about Jesus from the 2013 miniseries THE BIBLE. There are some additional scenes in the movie, but the majority of it already appeared on television. I understand wanted to reach as large an audience as possible about the gospels...
Published 9 months ago by tvtv3


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest story ever told, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Son of God (DVD)
Son of God depicts the the greatest story ever told, the birth, death and resurrection of Jesus, the son of God. If you are a Christian, you will be moved by the movie's re-enactment as the actors and settings will take you back to when our Savior walked the Earth, and how Jesus died so we may have eternal life. If you do not believe in Jesus as your personal savior, perhaps this movie will touch your heart and allow you to accept Him into your life.

The movie's actors and settings are beautifully done making this movie a visual treat. The story is simply told allowing the true magnificence of truth to shine brightly.

Finally, read John 3:16 to learn about how you can have eternal life and enter paradise as depicted in Son of God.

Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


171 of 207 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Son of Man and the 13 Disciples, May 7, 2014
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (St. Louis Metro East Area) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son of God (DVD)
When I first heard about the movie SON OF GOD, I didn't think it was a good idea. SON OF GOD is a movie that mostly contains re-edited scenes about Jesus from the 2013 miniseries THE BIBLE. There are some additional scenes in the movie, but the majority of it already appeared on television. I understand wanted to reach as large an audience as possible about the gospels (good news) of Jesus, but personally, it reeked a little too much like a money grab to me to simply re-edit television footage and add a few deleted scenes to make a movie that would be released in cinemas. However, I was willing to give the movie a chance and ended up seeing it in theatres twice.

The movie begins with the apostle John, brother of James, on the island of Patmos. John begins to tell about Jesus in the form of a voice over, "In the beginning there was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God." The short intro takes the viewer through the creation of the world, the destruction of the Earth through flooding, and other events until the birth of Jesus. Then the movie quickly skips over a lifetime.

When we next see Jesus, he is walking towards the shore (from out of the wilderness and the temptation with Satan it is to be assumed) and begins gathering disciples and followers and soon he has a core group of thirteen (that's right, thirteen; more on that later) disciples that travel with him as he goes about teaching, preaching, performing miracles, and seeming to ridicule the Pharisees who question him.

Meanwhile, in Jerusalem word is brought to the high priest of the Jews, Caiaphas, of this man named Jesus. At first he doesn't think much of it and with the arrival of Pontius Pilate to the city, Caiaphas has more important matters at hand. However, as Jesus continues to do what he was doing, Caiaphas comes to see Jesus as someone who could bring harm and suffering to the Jews and, therefore, he must be eliminated.

Jesus is betrayed, captured, and killed, but he rises from the grave. He appears to his disciples and suddenly disappears. The end of SON OF GOD returns to John on Patmos.

In terms of cinematography and film values, SON OF GOD is an average movie. Some of the dialogue is taken from the Bible, but some of it is not Biblical and is very cheesy. The acting isn't terrible, but there are no outstanding or noteworthy performances, either. In terms of production values, SON OF GOD is better than most low budget movies, but it does not have the feel that a big screen movie should have. As mentioned earlier, SON OF GOD is mostly re-edited footage from the tv miniseries THE BIBLE and, for most of the movie, SON OF GOD looks like a tv movie. This won't be as big an issue with the DVD and Blu-ray releases of the movie, but if you watch SON OF GOD on a larger screen television, you can definitely notice a difference in the production values.

In terms of a movie that's supposed to be a Bible-based movie, SON OF GOD is pure fluff that only uses the Bible for its core values, while ignoring the details and some of the more difficult and darker parts of scripture.

Personally, the biggest Biblical error with SON OF GOD is that instead of twelve disciples there are thirteen and the thirteenth disciple is a woman named Mary. Yes, there were woman who followed Jesus around and some of them (not just one of them) was named Mary. However, there was never a disciple named Mary. When I first saw the Mary character I thought, "Oh, that's a little different, but I understand why she's there." However, it took me a little while to understand that this "Mary" wasn't just going to be a close follower of Jesus, she was actually going to be a disciple. She follows the men wherever they go: eating and sleeping in the same places. Not only that, but "Mary" is given some of the better lines in the movie. She jokes around with the boys, is outspoken, and reproves the other disciples for not having enough faith (also suggesting that her faith is stronger). She's there to comfort Martha at the death of her brother and she's there at the foot of the cross when Jesus is crucified. She's the first (and initially the only one) to see the empty tomb and it is she, not angels, who reminds the other disciples that Jesus said he would arise on the third day.

There are many other Biblical changes, inaccuracies, alterations, and outright errors in SON OF GOD (for instance, Jesus doesn't know that Peter is going to deny him until he gives him a hug). Movies are a completely different medium than literature. I understand that. In telling a story on the screen, especially a story that covers three years (or all of history, really), you have to make changes and sacrifices to make a 2 - 2 ˝ hour movie that is not only appealing to believers, but to those who might not really know much about Jesus. I get that. However, there's no cinematic reason to add another disciple and make her a woman. I believe that the reason for doing so was to appeal to a wider (and more female) audience, but in doing so, SON OF GOD dilutes not only the message, but the messenger of Jesus himself.

Overall, I was really disappointed with SON OF GOD. On a cinematic level, I expected the movie to be a better movie than it was. However, as a movie, SON OF GOD feels more like a big budget tv episode than it does a feature-length motion picture. In terms of Biblical and scriptural accuracy, SON OF GOD verges on heresy and seems to be more similar to the books The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail and The Da Vinci Code than the Bible. I realize that there are people who will be uplifted and inspired by what they see on the screen. However, if you want to see a movie that actually tries to stay true to more than just the spirit of scripture, I recommend Jesus Film, Jesus of Nazareth, or The Passion Of The Christ Definitive Edition. I give this 2 ˝ stars out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For some, the first hour or so will come off as very preachy and bible quoting. And.. it is. But, the second half is so powerful and moving that it will strike an emotional chord with even the most agnostic viewer. Just really intense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and Emotional Movie, May 2, 2014
This review is from: Son of God (DVD)
I watched this movie and I had tears for the simplicity and spontaneous way the actor play the part of Jesus. That's how I think of Jesus, a wholeheart Master. I will get the Blue Ray as soon as it comes out. Emotions belongs to the Spirit. God Bless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREATEST STORY SIMPLY TOLD, April 24, 2014
By 
RONDANTO (NEW YORK United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Son of God (Amazon Instant Video)
Although this was taken from The Bible Miniseries which aired last year on the History Channel, this does very well as a stand
alone production. It's simple and straight forward .Some may quibble that it jumps from one scene to the next and doesn't spend enough time fleshing out details. For example in the raising of Lazarus, viewers should have been introduced to Mary, Martha and Lazarus prior to his death. Showed no connection to Jesus and the 12. Actual raising didn't have the impact it should have had.All in all Diogo Morgodo was an inspiring, compassionate Jesus and the rest of the cast did quite well. I think this will become an annual Easter classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Christian Movie, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those wanting to know the story of Jesus I thought it was a pretty good depiction of the Son of God. Good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Son of God well written, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Son of God (Amazon Instant Video)
Movie is well written and has excellent acting. It's a good overview of Christ's life, although it cuts a little short at the end covering the resurrection probably to keep the movie from becoming too long. Good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Speediest Story Ever Told, April 25, 2014
This review is from: Son of God (DVD)
As a Christian, and a movie fanatic, there are times (many times) when these two life choices don't exactly equate. The snarkiness that is often a given when writing movie reviews may not be listed as a sin via the Ten Commandments, but sometimes it's just not...nice. And Christians are nice people, for the most part. This film, which was generally panned by critics and loved by audiences, suffers from the same duality. SON OF GOD rated a dismal 23% likability by film critics on Rotten Tomatoes, while at the same time pulling down a sky high 82% likability by audiences, which just proves my point. Movie reviewers hated it, audiences (I'm going out on a limb here and saying that most SON OF GOD audience members are Christians) loved it. So as a Christian and a critic, where do I stand? Pretty much in the middle. I found SON OF GOD better than most of the critics believed, but not up to the near adoration of the public. A solid 3 and a half stars.

Am I setting this movie up then, for a snarky review? Sort of, but not completely. There are some very good things happening in SON OF GOD, but to find them you must sit through some silliness and more than a few liberties taken by filmmakers eager to pander to the public's thirst for a story told simply with beginning, middle, end, some blood and gore and very clearly defined good and bad guys. The story of Jesus Christ is much, much more than this, but to tell it in the two hours that today's movies seldom surpass is impossible. You've gotta cut corners, but SON OF GOD cuts more than a few. Way more.

The film opens with a quick (and I mean QUICK) montage of the Old Testaments greatest hits; Adam and Eve, Noah, Moses, Goliath and Abraham. That this film was cut from the much longer mini-series becomes fairly obvious here. Next comes the similarly condensed version of the birth of Christ, after which the fully grown Jesus appears (the swoon inducing Diogo Morgado), ready to begin the true work of man's salvation, beginning with his plea to Peter the fisherman to become "fishers of men". From here on in the road to Calvary is fast and furious, and it is here that my biggest issue with SON OF GOD occurs. Many of the works of Christ, as well as the teachings of Christ, are glossed over, or ignored completely. If you know the story of Christ, the teaching, the miracles, the parables, then this isn't too terrible. We understand that the Lords Prayer is longer than one or two sentences, that the beatitudes contain more than "The meek shall inherit the Earth". But gone are so many of the works of Christ, his miracles, that if you are not well aware of the biblical stories in the New Testament, then you may very well wonder what all of the fuss was about.

So many of these glaring oversights are addressed with one or two sentences that it's a bit giggle inducing. "Do not doubt, Thomas" and "Where is Judas...have you seen him?" are just a few of the examples of storylines brought down to their least common denominator with one sentence, implied but not addressed. John the Baptist rates no more than a few seconds shown in a flashback, and the temptation of Christ by Satan is ignored completely (although the outcry over the resemblance between THE BIBLE's Satan and President Barak Obama may have something to do with this omission). The period prior to the Palm Sunday entrance of Jesus on the back of a donkey is the weakest of SON OF GOD, but thankfully following this the film begins to finally gain steam.

The days leading to the Crucifixion are the backbone of SON OF GOD, and the best and most emotional moments fall within this section. After Jesus enters Jerusalem on Palm Sunday, the film slows down it's breakneck narration to actually illustrate the events that led to the death of Christ. It's always interesting to see who gets the brunt of the blame for the Crucifixion of Christ in these bliblical films...will it be Pontius Pilate? The Jewish Temple leaders? Judas? The Roman Guardsman? Every movie seems to point fingers at one group more than others, and in SON OF GOD the winner is Pilate, wonderfully played by Greg Hicks, who is portrayed as more psychopath than ruler.

While SON OF GOD doesn't even begin to touch the savagery of THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST, the brutality of the Crucifixion is present within SON OF GOD, and is troubling and difficult to watch (as it should be). Morgado does his best work here as Jesus, able to drop the Colgate smile and finally ACT, for heaven's sake. Roma Downey, however, is just awful as Mary, and she seems to do nothing more than look pleadingly (but still beautifully!) at Jesus in all of his agony, tears glistening on her lovely cheeks as she stretches her hand to her son. As a mother, if I was watching one of my sons go through something like this, I would be screaming and frothing at the mouth.

SON OF GOD is a good, but not great film of the life and death of Jesus Christ. That it is better at depicting the death of Jesus, in all of its misery and degradation, may be due simply to the belief that the public wants to see the torture more than the miracles. But isn't the life of Christ, and his teachings, more important? I think so, but I don't have millions to make a movie. See the film, by all means, but remember how much more there is to the story of the Son of God than the tragedy of his death on the cross. That, my friends, is the real good news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Same content (scene by scene) as "The Bible, Season 1", June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Son of God (Amazon Instant Video)
If you already purchased "The Bible, Season 1", this is EXACTLY THE SAME. Don't waste your money purchasing this, thinking maybe they changed something. They didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Son of God a very good telling of Jesus life and death plus miracles he preformed, September 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Son of God (DVD)
The movie Son of God is a good look at the life and death of Jesus Christ. If some of these scenes in the movie were taken from the History channel mini series The Bible then I plan to ask for The Bible mini series for Christmas. The good parts were the actor playing Jesus did a very good job in the role and many more actors were very good also. I still gave the movie a four star rating because of the acting, shots of the surrounding area of the location where they filmed the movie. I also enjoy almost all the movie because I was finishing the lines in the movie of the Bible qoutes. I am personally a Catholic and found the movie moving, powerful, but the scenes of Jesus 40 lashes and his death on the cross very intense and would not reconmend anyone watching this under a certain age. But I feel if your a truely believe in God, Jesus, and Holy Spirit then you will enjoy the movie and the message it contains threw the telling of Jesus life and death that he is the way and if we believe then we will be with him in the Kingdom of Heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Son of God
Son of God by Christopher Spencer
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.