Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: A Song for the Season
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon December 11, 2006
UPDATE: This is now also available as one of eight films in a Holiday collection set being sold at a very reasonable price: 8 Film Holiday Collector's Set V.1 with Bonus Holiday Songs REVIEW: Whether it is sold under the title "A Song for the Season" or "A Holiday Romance", this is a cozy, stress-buster Christmas season movie.
It has held up over several viewings for me. All of the actors are very good, as is the story. Naomi Judd's Lily Waite is just the kind of teacher you would have wished to have, or would want for your child. The
often under-rated Gerald McRaney is perfect, as is the entire cast. The small town setting of Bethleheim will make you dream of moving from the suburbs, or city. A perfect, "let's relax with a cup of cocoa" holiday movie for the whole family. Also, if you are a teacher, this one will inspire you to give it even more.
33 comments|90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2007
This Holiday movie is excellent. Gerald McRaney, Andy Griffith and Naomi Judd make this a very homey Christmas movie for people of all ages! I truly enjoyed watching it again this past month! I recommend it to all who love the Christmas Holidays and viewing Christmas movies. It is fun to watch even when it isn't Christmas!
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 10, 2006
Also is sold on DVD under the title, " A Holiday Romance".
Have enjoyed this film over the years during the holiday season. It seems to be just as touching, sweet and enjoyable each time. The actors are all very good, as is the story. It captures the message of the season, love and caring for family, friends and community. Naomi Judd's Lilly Waite is just the kind of teacher you would want to have had, or would want for your child. The often under-rated Gerald McRaney is perfect, as are the entire cast. The small town setting of Bethleheim will make you dream of leaving the suburbs, or city. A perfect 'let's get cozy with a cup of cocoa' holiday movie for the whole family. Also, if you are a teacher, this one of those uplifting films about good teachers.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2007
The acting in this is supurb, as is the story. I was greatly surprised at how good it was. It's a great Christmas story, adorable love story, and just a great movie to watch all year, not just at Christmas. I have definitely added this to my annual Christmas movies to watch. I have to admit, I've watched it several times since Christmas has been over!! You'll love it!!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2007
Yes, if you're looking for a feel-good movie, you should definitely get this one. Darrah Cloud knows how to put together a story with bang-up endings, and this movie with its two story threads has two great endings, back-to-back.

But there is some bad news. Naomi Judd (unless of course you're a fan of hers) is not much of an actress here. Her scenes look more like a personal appearance, with lines.

The daughter is cute and believable. The uncle is also credible.

The love story is totally botched. The pacing is disjointed. And there is a lack of motivation. It is simply not credible, so don't expect to be touched by it.

Andy is Andy, and he adds a touch a quality that makes the others look more amateurish than they otherwise would.

The rock music (and the absence of Christmas music) was a bit grating. It was sad that the school kids couldn't relate to any Christmas carols. They had to have rock. The raw, harsh tone of the girl singing what were supposed to be Christmas songs was a dischordant note for me. Others might not be bothered.

Still, I say don't miss it. There aren't that many that you can afford to pass it up. Darrah Cloud's "A Holiday for Love" is a much better movie, so if you're only getting one, get that one instead.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
We love Christmas movies but I'm not sure what everyone is loving about this. We were disappointed... Andy Griffith + Christmas should = GREAT, but this turned out to be a low budget made for TV snooze fest. We love Andy Griffith and were hoping to add to our annual Christmas viewing list of must watches but we won't be watching this one again. Andy was the main reason we bought this plus the fact that Netflix does not carry it plus it had so many raving reviews and high ratings here on Amazon. Turns out this is boring lame story w/ lousy acting. While it did have a couple of okay moments, this movie could have been so much better. It is hard to pin point. Maybe it was the uninteresting story or the bad script or the reality that Naoimi Judd is not a very good actress or all the little things like the fact that trees in Kentucky don't have leaves in December nor do you drive a convertible in December in Kentucky, just to name a few. My wife kept looking at me while we watched this saying "this is really cheesy" and "why did you buy this"???

Andy Griffith fans may want to pass on this one and know that he isn't even the main character. The main actors are Naomi "Dudd" and some little angry troubled brat(whose singing voice is not so good). Do buy this if you are a Naomi fan. For everyone else, my advice, save your and money wait for this to come to Netflix(and the drink a lot of coffee; otherwise, you may fall asleep...). My 3 stars rating is being kind. My wife would say 2 or 1.

If you want your Andy Griffith Christmas fix, watch the wonderful "The Christmas Story" from the 1st season of The Andy Griffith Show - episode 11. Try the DVD, TV Sets: Holiday Treats
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2012
This Christmas movie is so very good with Gerald McRaney, Andy Griffith and Naomi Judd. If you are a person who enjoys the holiday movies then you will love this one.
It's a movie in which warms your heart and makes you think about life in general. This movie puts the idea of drinking hot chocolate and wrapping in a blanket while watching. It's a very homey movie which is what many people enjoy seeing over the holidays.

If you enjoy movies in which can be "related" to home life in so many families then this is one you should watch. I must tell you the cover of this movie and the music is what made me take notice of this movie. It shows exactly what I look for in a movie: Snow, a light burning distance and a beautiful lady in a red coat and black hat looking toward the heavens. I did buy this movie on the little I read but mostly on the beautiful cover. I looked at this movie for two years before finally purchasing the movie and I am so very glad i did! The actors and actress are well known so the movie had to be super!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
What a cast and a really lovely story. The standouts here are, of course, Gerald McRaney, Naomi Judd (oh, that voice), Alison Pill (who knew she could sing as well as act?), and Andy Griffith in a hilarious turn as a crusty, set-in-his-ways father and grandfather who does his level best to drive everyone crazy. Still, it's a great family film with enough laughs and drama along the way to drive the story and I dare anyone with a heart not to tear up in the end when Naomi and Allison team up for that final duet. Enjoy!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2007
These days it's hard to find a good, family movie that tells a great story without being too sentimental at the same time. I really enjoyed the way Naomi Judd brought out the best in Gerald McRaney and his niece. This was a heart-warming movie of many triumphs.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2006
"A Song for the Season" is a incredibly sweet story about love, and the healing power of music. This story is touching and the music is unbelievable. The actors did a wonderful job with this moive.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.