Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Songs For, To and About Girls
Will.i.am AKA William Adams known for most people as the brain and frontman behind Black Eyed Peas and also their producer. After several commercially successful albums with the band Stacy "Fergie" Ferguson went solo last year and released the album The Dutchess that so far gave her three #1 hits and one #2. Not bad at all. With Fergie's massive success it was natural...
Published on September 24, 2007 by Josephll

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Love Narrative: Words by Will.i.am {3 ˝ Stars}
I'll just get this out of the way real quick. I'm a fan of the Black Eyed Peas. Sure, I know this admission will get me slammed by purists, backpackers, and other types of elitists, so that's to be expected (just read the tags for this album for further proof). If you approach this album expecting anything more than the shallow, sugary, pop tunes that the Black Eyed Peas...
Published on October 9, 2007 by Norfeest


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Love Narrative: Words by Will.i.am {3 ˝ Stars}, October 9, 2007
This review is from: Songs About Girls (Audio CD)
I'll just get this out of the way real quick. I'm a fan of the Black Eyed Peas. Sure, I know this admission will get me slammed by purists, backpackers, and other types of elitists, so that's to be expected (just read the tags for this album for further proof). If you approach this album expecting anything more than the shallow, sugary, pop tunes that the Black Eyed Peas front man has recently become famous for, especially after seeing the title of the album then, not only are you a fool, but you're also going to be let down. Despite what some will tell you, there are some good songs to be found on this disc. There are club ready songs like "The Donque Song" that, despite corny rhymes, has a beat that doesn't quit and has "single" written all over it (Snoop's verse wasn't bad either). "One More Chance" is dope while "Make It Funky" also serves the same party starting purpose and "Ain't It Pretty" just vibes well. "Impatient" is probably my favorite track on the album because there are no words...it's just a nice, breezy instrumental. Will shoulders the bulk of the production duties with Polow Da Don and Fernando Garibay both doing two tracks and Paper-Boy co-producing one.

There are a few songs on this album that, despite the light content, are just mind numbingly bad. Songs like "Fly Girl", "She's A Star", and "Get Your Money" will have you reaching for the skip button with lightning speed. The biggest turn off to me, actually, would be the first single. I honestly think "I Got It From My Mama" should've never seen the light of day, but I do understand the need for conspicuous use of a pop star (in this case, Nicole Scherzinger) for the first single. Outside of those bumps in the road, I'd say that the rest of the CD is pretty good.

Songs About Girls is an album about just that. It's a light, fun LP that should get a party or two jumpin'. Anyone looking for some good, clean pop rap should at the very least give this album some consideration. It's not the best you've heard from the B.E.P. camp, but it's suitable if you're not looking for an artist to change your world view. Sure, it's cotton candy background music, but at least this background music will make you move.

Standout Tracks: Invisible, S.O.S (Mother Nature), One More Chance, Heartbreaker, Impatient, Ain't It Pretty, and Make It Funky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Songs For, To and About Girls, September 24, 2007
This review is from: Songs About Girls (Audio CD)
Will.i.am AKA William Adams known for most people as the brain and frontman behind Black Eyed Peas and also their producer. After several commercially successful albums with the band Stacy "Fergie" Ferguson went solo last year and released the album The Dutchess that so far gave her three #1 hits and one #2. Not bad at all. With Fergie's massive success it was natural that also Will.i.am would go solo, however this is actually his third album. But I doubt alot of people heard his previous two albums that were released before Black Eyed Peas had their big break and never got alot of promotion amyway. "Songs About Girls" will be diffrent cause by now he's a well know man amd he also proved his versability as a producer by making hits for Nas, Common, Macy Gray, Nicole Scherzinger and he's currently working with Michael Jackson's new album aswell. "Songs About Girls" is exactly what it is, a Semi-autobiographical concept album about girls. Some songs are more serious and deal with the good and bad times of his 7 year relationship that ended sometime ago. Other songs are funny, less serious and deal about girls in general while some songs are as corny as they can with commercial appeal and deal with female bodyparts. But they are all about women. Will.i.am produces 2/3 of the album by himself while Polow Da Don and Fernando Garibay do the rest. The overall sound is very retro-ish late 70'-early 80's Influenced but with modern tecnique ofcourse. While most other superproducers have an orgy of guests on their albums, the only one here is Snoop Dogg. Let's take a look at the songs and see if he manage to make this album more worthwile then his first two.

It starts slow with a more serious song called "Over" about the failure of his longtime relationship. For those of you only fammiliar with BEP will be surprised. "Heartbreaker" another midtempo with disco beats continues where the first one ended with a confession of breaking his girlfriends heart. Perhaps not hit material but neither of the two are bad and "Heartbreaker" is a grower. Music lovers probably heard the first single "I Got It From My Mama", it's commercial with great beats but the lyrics are so corny that you just want to plug your ears. Will ask hot girls where they got their body's from and they reply "I Got It From My Mama". Later Will garantees that if their Mama is ugly they gonna be ugly like their mama. Question: What if their daddy was handsome?. One of the standouts is "She's A Star" with great hook and sound. I guess it's about his dreamwoman. "Get Your Money" is about the good hearted stripper that just strips for a living....and then Will's apparent fascinating for her. A pretty commercial song but it isn't bad at all, especially it's lethal electro sample beat. The worst song one the album is "The Donque Song" is just corny and annoying. Donque is reffering to a the female bodypart that strippers should shake. Snoop doesn't say much but this song is unbearable with or without him. Next up is the instrumental (or more or less) "Impatient" that sound like a disco song from 1977.

"One More Chance" is just as serious as the first two songs anout getting another chance in the relationship. It's amazing that this is the same guy that just sang about female bodyparts. Or maybe his split personality was the reason why it didn't work out?. Either way, this song is good. "Invisible" is more seriousness, this is a stripped down song where the lyrics are more in focus then the beats. Another good song. "Fantastic" samples Jackson 5's "I Want You Back", must have been the 250th person that does that. However, this is another song of his girl where he says that she shouldn't worry about him cause he's doing fantastic. Will changed his mind on "Fly Girl" where he regrets not marrying his girl and not trying harder to work things about, he also says he turned down others cause he was still in love with his ex. Let's hope she listen to this one and they can get back together or something. Next up is an interlude called "Dynamic" but it's just a bit over 1 minute. "Ain't It Pretty" is a great love song about a hot girl you just wanna stare at, probably my favorite production here. "Make It Funky" a funky uptempo indeed, not too clever lyrics and serves as mosly a feel good song. The closer "SOS (Mother Nature) isn't actually about a woman but mother nature. It's a political song about the problems of the world. It's one of the best with smart lyrics. More of this on his next album I hope.

Overall, the best albums are the one's you didn't have high thoughts of before you listened through them and they blew your expectations out of proportion. This album is one of those. I know that Will.i.am was a gifted producer and most of the songs with or without the use of samples are very good but I didn't know he was able to write so many strong serious lyrics. There are loads of great songs here that you wouldn't think the Black Eyes Peas leader could write. The only problem I have are a few corny songs like "The Donque Song" that feels like they were mostly done to get radio airplay and doesn't do the album any justice, considering that it will be the second single aswell. But regardless of a few missteps Will still makes a very good album that will surprise alot of people. 1. It's a concept album where all songs are about the same things (girls) 2. the sound is mostly cohesive 3. Will.i.am is the sole star here without too many lukewarm guests appearences. 4. he proves he's more then just a sound (great lyrics aswell). While Timbaland, Pharell and Swizz Beatz didn't deliver on their solo albums because of some of the reasons mentioned above,. Will.i.am does and he makes one of the best pop albums of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince of Hip-Pop & Soul, December 11, 2007
By 
MVD (BALTIMORE, MARYLAND United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs About Girls (Audio CD)
Well when an artist has as much exposure through collaborations, associations and affiliations you sometimes wonder when and if they do a solo album what will be their focus. Well for Will.i.am, I think he stayed true to himself and crafted a well mixed collection of Pop, hip-hop and rock inspired selections that go from warm to hot by the time you reach the end of the journey. I am dubbing him Prince of Hip Pop & Soul because he is the only man on the scene who can rap, sing simultaneously as well as he does, not to mention writing and producing. This is a well orchestrated concept album that states true to form and explore a range of relationship oriented topics. I Got It From My Mama, Donque Song and Get Your Money and probably the least tasteful of the bunch; from my personal perspective. Yet still catchy, nice production and vocals for those who have a tolerance or preferance for those type of songs. But tracks 7 through 15 are simply on fire and the last song simply verified why he is considered to be a musical genious. Honestly, he did not forget about anyone on this project. Love it or hate it but he has lived up to his reputation and still in the vain of the Blackeye Pea's. "I Can't Wait", will definately be a hit in the House & Dance Club scene, as well as, "Make It Funky" in the Club Music & Hip-Hop Scene. Invisible and Fantastic are just incredible lyrically, vocally and musically. As many Fly Girl songs as there have been over the years, he still manages to make it a fresh them, I thought the lyrics and production were clever. She's A Star has that same kind of fresh appeal from a them that no doubt has been out there for a while. And that is the novelty of a top notch producer, he is one who can take the old and make it feel new. SOS is like such a moving reflective piece that it opens the man up and lets you inside of who he really is. BIG UP's to Will. I. Am
Don't Sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Ready For More will.i.am, October 5, 2007
By 
This review is from: Songs About Girls (Audio CD)
Will.I.Am is probably best known as the brains behind the Black Eyed Peas - he's listed as one of the main producers and is probably the most visible of the group aside from their first lady of funk, Fergie. As of late, the BEP have been critiqued for selling out, in part through the addition of Fergie...so the question on most people's minds when they heard that Will was coming out with an album of his own was whether he could produce some hot new tracks without the assistance of a female vocalist which BEP has relied on quite heavily on their last two albums.

The stunning thing is - he does it. Although there is the odd use of a female vocalist, most of the album is just Will and most of it shockingly entertaining and well-produced. Don't buy this if you're expecting a bunch of collabs with other artists (in the vein of Timbaland perhaps) but do buy it if you dig the general sounds of the BEP and expect slick production and great tunes to dance and groove to.

The first single of course was the "I Got It From My Mama" - which might not be everyone's fave tune but it's a relatively clean version of your standard hot girl rap song, and it's awfully catchy. Another likely single is "Heartbreaker" - a repetitive-chorus tune in the same vein of "Shut Up" and "Don't Lie" by the BEP.

Other faves of mine include the upbeat guitar number "Invisible" which features a great singalong chorus, and the beat/vocals on Fantastic are unbeatable. In terms of collabs there is one with Snoop Dogg, but his participation is minimal - The Donque Song up where "My Humps" left off, and may just end up as the surprise runaway hit of the album. There is no single word to describe the album other than - slick - but it does draw inspiration from a variety of sounds including the 70's on the disco-tinged 'Impatient', orchestral strings on "She's a Star" and grittier hip hop beats throughout.

Overall this is a solid offering by Will.I.Am. Although it lacks some of the lyrical inspiration of BEP's albums, it still packs an awesome punch of catchy, fun, slick r'n'b/hip hop for the masses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop playing it!!!, October 23, 2007
By 
This review is from: Songs About Girls (Audio CD)
Black eyed pea, Will.i.am, is the latest super producer to foray into singing. Following in the footsteps of the likes of Pharrell, P Diddy and Kanye West, the man largely behind Fergie's smash hit debut "The duchess" as well as moments of brilliance on Justin Timberlake, Common, Macy gray and Mary J Blige's last CDs releases what he considers to be his proper solo debut.

It's a collection of diverse styles, not limited to his Hip hop roots; there's Pop, R&B and even Dance.

"Heartbreaker" (with lovely scratchy/jangly guitars and a bouncy beat) falls into the R&B camp, as do the sweeping, orchestral "She's a star" (lovely wailing guitars), and "Fantastic" which sounds in places like the Jackson 5's "I want you back.

In the Hip Hop camp, we have "Fly girl", "One more chance", the slowed down "Aint it pretty", "Make it funky", and closing ballad "S.O.S", which is a heartfelt plea to save planet Earth, and its not as maudlin as that sounds.

Opening cut "Over", co-written with ELO's Jeff Lyne, has a nice pop sheen, as does the more downbeat "Invisible. "Get your money" (with a deep throbbing bassline) and "Impatient" (with its spare repetitive lyrics and some vocoder/distorted effects) are stomping dance/club numbers.

The two songs I'm not really into are lead off single "I got it from my mama" and "The donque song", the lone song featuring a guest artist Snoop Dogg.

This is a very good collection of songs, especially for those who are willing to let Will.i.am reach beyond the confines of Hip hop, which he does rather superbly here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will I. Am is a contemporary musical genius, December 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs About Girls (Audio CD)
As he'd done with "Monkey Business" and other works, Will's words and music are fun, serious, danceable and frankly, he's a more compelling artist than Kanye West or John Legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was anyone really checking for this?, March 31, 2008
This review is from: Songs About Girls (Audio CD)
The Black Eyed Peas didn't really get a whole lot of mainstream love until Fergie joined the group, a point driven home by the fact that the songs where she was predominantly featured became the biggest hits -- not to mention that almost every single off her solo album The Dutchess became a #1 hit. I guess Wyclef, Jr. -- I mean, will.i.am wanted a little bit of that action for himself, which is why HE went the solo route for Songs About Girls.

This is a concept album: if the title didn't tip you off, the songs are pretty much all about women (maybe he's trying to be the new LL Cool J?). And although it's true that Will is a better rapper than apl.de.ap and Taboo, he still isn't exactly the most exciting rapper in the world. But that's not even what the real problem is; the problem is the lyrical quality. It feels more like an R&B album DISGUISED as a rap album; and the album as a whole is cornier than a can of Del Monte. This is especially evidenced by "I Got It from My Mama", a phrase that has gotten played out (well, not exactly, but no one really SAYS it any more).

Another questionable track is "The Donque Song", which is made even less interesting by Snoop Dogg's third verse, which has him interpolating his own "Gin and Juice" but instead making it about women. "She's a Star" is cheesy, "Make It Funky" and "Impatient" are mindless club tracks (especially the latter, a techno song that Will isn't even in), and "Get Your Money" is an unfocused tribute to strippers.

The only song that isn't about girls is the obligatory end-of-album we-are-the-world song, "S.O.S. (Mother Nature)". The two-in-a-row of "Invisible" and "Fantastic" (which uses a clever sample of Jackson 5's "I Want You Back") are okay, but they're not enough to make the album more exciting. In the end, Songs About Girls is a pretty forgettable album (I don't even remember what the first single was), so you can do without it.

Anthony Rupert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It generic for me?, March 14, 2009
This review is from: Songs About Girls (MP3 Music)
I listened to this cd on my way back from class(i go to a huge school). ANyway, i thought the whole cd was just way to generic. It seems like he was honestly trying to be too cool. I got it from my mama, i thought it was ok. It wasn't that great. It was pretty boring, but sometimes i had nothing to listen to on my zune, so I shuffled it on their. I HAD TO GET USE TO IT! But overall the rest of the songs seemed like they kind of sucked! The only reason i gave it three stars, if your at a party and need some party music, (when everybodys not in conscious state). Then you could play this cd, and actually put it on. It does have some decent club beats. Other then that i would only buy this cd from the 5.99 section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tension And Release In An Era Of Struggle, May 8, 2013
This review is from: Songs About Girls (Audio CD)
When the Black Eyed Peas were at their height of popularity during 2004-2006,the music industry was beginning to fly apart.Looking back on the situation its a wonder that even they,who had enormous hit potential for that era,were even able survive at all. Will I. Am was very caught in the middle of an impossible situation. A talented and eccentric multi-instrumentalist/rapper/DJ/songwriter/producer Will had more than enough talent to contribute greatly to helping the R&B/funk/soul community out of the doldrums it was in at that time. There was a holding pattern going on-with an extremely cookie cutter sound. Interestingly enough Will was part of the hip-hop world,which seemed at that time to be an enormous cause of the problems with soul/R&B music. That was because,as it was becoming more mainstream,hip-hop was fast losing its original intention and credibility as the alternative to commercial music. It WAS commercial music now. With this solo album,while not his debut by any means, Will I. Am seemed to be looking to bury that hatchet a bit.

Songs such as "Over","I Got It From My Mama","Heartbreaker","One More Chance" and "Invisible" all find an interesting balance between the EMD sound (unsure if it had that name yet),1980's style electro pop-from which EMD was inspired actually and a good dose of the disco-funk sound of the late 70's that inspired hip-hop at its birth. "She's A Star" is the song most stereotypically hip-hop of its era,and to me the weakest number on this particular album. "Get Your Money" and "The Donque Song" with Snoop Dogg take that sound into a somewhat slower tempo and therefore funkier place. The heavier boogie funk comes with the bass/guitar Chic sound of "Impatient",which blends repeated sung/vocorderized (not autotuned) call and responses in fine funk style. "Fantastic" emerges as something of a pop/rock song,only with light electronics in the place of heavy rock guitar-though the beat rocks out like anything rock n roll. "Make It Funky" brings the EMD and harder funk influence where as the epic hip-hop closer "SOS (Mother Nature)" makes a go at a message song. As on time and dead on as it is, the message delivered is not a particularly optimistic or even hopeful one-insisting only a higher power can help humanity.

In the end this is,looking back at the musical environment of that era,probably the most innovative and daring hip-hop oriented album that could be made in the 2007-08 era-the the final year of Dick Chaney's America. When this first came out, I gave it the slip. The majority of new music at that time just wasn't moving me,and neither was this. Ended up giving it a new chance for one cent through Amazon here. And in truth, this album is uneven in the sense it does have two throwaway numbers that are just too typical of those weaker musical times. The only reason they stick out so heavily is because this is a concept album: following the cycle of a breakup to the point where the male character involved realizes the Earth needs as much protection and love as he does-taking his ego out of himself and turning it outward. That is where the forward thinking element of this albums comes into play. Although the weaker numbers might very well reflect the shallower end of this concept,it musically just meshes poorly with the rest. And the rest is an album that successfully ties together all the elements that helped develop hip-hop,from eletronica to boogie funk to disco-dance type music. Pretty near a full on musical triumph for Will I. AM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Love Narrative: Words by Will.i.am {3 ˝ Stars}, October 9, 2007
This review is from: Songs About Girls (Audio CD)
I'll just get this out of the way real quick. I'm a fan of the Black Eyed Peas. Sure, I know this admission will get me slammed by purists, backpackers, and other types of elitists, so that's to be expected (just read the tags for this album for further proof). If you approach this album expecting anything more than the shallow, sugary, pop tunes that the Black Eyed Peas front man has recently become famous for, especially after seeing the title of the album then, not only are you a fool, but you're also going to be let down. Despite what some will tell you, there are some good songs to be found on this disc. There are club ready songs like "The Donque Song" that, despite corny rhymes, has a beat that doesn't quit and has "single" written all over it (Snoop's verse wasn't bad either). "One More Chance" is dope while "Make It Funky" also serves the same party starting purpose and ""Ain't It Pretty" " just vibes well. "Impatient" is probably my favorite track on the album because there are no words...it's just a nice, breezy instrumental. Will shoulders the bulk of the production duties with Polow Da Don and Fernando Garibay both doing two tracks and Paper-Boy co-producing one.

There are a few songs on this album that, despite the light content, are just mind numbingly bad. Songs like "Fly Girl", "She's A Star", and "Get Your Money" will have you reaching for the skip button with lightning speed. The biggest turn off to me, actually, would be the first single. I honestly think "I Got It From My Mama" should've never seen the light of day, but I do understand the need for conspicuous use of a pop star (in this case, Nicole Scherzinger) for the first single. Outside of those bumps in the road, I'd say that the rest of the CD is pretty good.

Songs About Girls is an album about just that. It's a light, fun LP that should get a party or two jumpin'. Anyone looking for some good, clean pop rap should at the very least give this album some consideration. It's not the best you've heard from the B.E.P. camp, but it's suitable if you're not looking for an artist to change your world view. Sure, it's cotton candy background music, but at least this background music will make you move.

Standout Tracks: Invisible, S.O.S (Mother Nature), One More Chance, Heartbreaker, Impatient, Ain't It Pretty, and Make It Funky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Songs About Girls
Songs About Girls by will.i.am (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.