Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning collection of Bob Marley's work
This is probably one of the best box sets I will ever own. The musicianship and artistry is remarkable across all four discs. It's consistently amazing.
Usually the downfall of a box set is that it's little more than a cleverly repackaged greatest hits album with lots and lots of filler. The genius behind this set is the diversity in the offering and the...
Published on March 30, 2000

versus
12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music, terrible sound quality
I received this set years ago and I love it. But, I almost never listen to it. The sound quality is HORRIBLE. I can't listen to it at all in the car, and I can only handle 6 or 10 songs at home before I've had enough. The older tracks (first cd) are the worst. I know these are old recordings, but it would have been nice if they'd been remastered. When cd's were new,...
Published on January 9, 2006 by C. Goodman


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning collection of Bob Marley's work, March 30, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
This is probably one of the best box sets I will ever own. The musicianship and artistry is remarkable across all four discs. It's consistently amazing.
Usually the downfall of a box set is that it's little more than a cleverly repackaged greatest hits album with lots and lots of filler. The genius behind this set is the diversity in the offering and the format. Yes, there are a number of "hit songs" on this box set, but they're generally in the form of remixes, alternate takes or live versions. This way, the listener can really aprpeciate the craftsmanship of the song and revel in amazement at all of the subtle nuances that go into Marley's songwriting and playing. I'm glad this found its way into mass production again. Bob's music is timeless and everyone deserves the privilege of hearing his music.
Hardcore fans and new fans alike will be amazed by the music contained in Songs of Freedom. Buy this one now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the evolution of reggae's greatest artist, September 25, 2003
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
What can I say about Bob Marley that hasn't already been said? He is simply the greatest artist in reggae music's history, and this box set clearly demonstrates why. You can hear his music evolve from Disc 1 to Disc 4 as he becomes funkier, more political, more mature. You can hear his voice change from that of a teen to that of a mature singer/songwriter and national icon. A few of the reasons that elevate this box set to a desert island disc are:
1) Alternate takes of many classics including Could You Be loved, Jammin', No More Trouble, etc.
2) Live versions of I Shot the Sheriff, No Woman No Cry, Redemption Song
3) Stunning long acoustic medley on Disc 2 during which Marley sings parts of 7-8 songs including one of my favorites, Guava Jelly
4) Great sound and sequencing
Do yourself a favor and get this box set. For any music fan who wants to hear a musician evolve from great to the greatest, this box set is for you. For any Bob Marley fan, I probably don't have to convince you any further that Songs of Freedom is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the collection of a Great man and his band, February 21, 2005
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
I was very pleased when island decided to re-issue this set. Originally released in 1992 this sold out very quickly and a few years ago island decided to put it out again. don't let this set pass you by. The first disc starts out in Bob's early days and goes right on up to his death. Rare 12" mixes and demos and outtakes are included in this set. Redemption song is form Bob Marley's last concert with the Wailers in Pittsburgh in 1980. In my opinoin, it is the best live version of Redemption Song. There are no downfalls or quibbles to talk about for this set, every track is a classic, and you can listen to it over and over again. If you want to just buy one Bob Marley and the Wailers set, this should be it. A great set that includes many great songs and nice instrumentations, no reggae fan should be without this set. The booklet that comes with this set is also a nice bonus, you can become a Wailers expert overnight. If you listen to this set long enough, you'll become a Wailers addict for life. I guarantee it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Box Set Ever, February 16, 2000
By 
John (West Hampstead United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
40 out of the 42 preceeding reviews give this 5 stars (the other 2 give 4 stars). This in itself tells a story. Most box sets are usually for the devoted, but I feel that this one can work as an introduction to the brilliance of Bob Marley. It ranges from his early ska roots to the more refined hits of Redemption Song and One love. However, if you are a bit nervous about spending this much, rather get Legend, once that has worked it's spell on you, you can then progress to this. (Be warned though that this was unavailable for a good while so don't delay too long). One listen to this and you will realise that Marley IS reggae. Essential for Marley fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, June 1, 2003
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
I first heard Bob Marley's music in the 80's. A firend of the family had the Legend cd. I was immediatley entranced by the upbeat happy music and the mellow voice of marley. Since then I have evolved into a huge fan of all of his music. If you are going to buy one marley album than buy this one! It includes most of his more popular songs on discs 3 and 4. The first two discs are the gem of the set though in my opinion. The acoustic medley on disc two is numbing and the first disc showcases his talents at a young age. I was fortunate to have bought the set back in 92 when it was originally released and came with a booklet of song descriptions as well as a brief history of Marley. Although this set does not contain the book it is still a must have for the music content alone. Wether you're an avid fan or a casual listener this cd is a must have. It is over 4 hours of great music. I guarantee that anyone who buys this album will fall in love with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this for the Acoustic Medley Alone!, April 10, 2000
By 
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
I'm a hypcorite because I haven't shelled out the $xx that it costs, but I ahve borrowed it before (disk 2)for the acoustic medley, which is absoloutely amazing. It is not just some little outtake that they found to try and put on as marketing blah blah, it is just bob and his guitar, wailing out songs that flow into one another like a single song to serenade a child or a love. Besides that, the set is pretty complete, though I guess everyone has their own favorite Bob stuff. Also, please give me a helpful vote as it helps me feel good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, December 21, 1999
By 
Bobby (Tuzla AB, Bosnia-Herzegovina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
A great dedication to one of, if not the most, inspirational singer of all time. Bob Marley...the original ska and reggae master. His box set, a collection of amazingly magical music, is perfect for just about any mood you are in. It makes you happy. It relaxes you. It's great with a beer. It's very hard to dislike. I feel chills when any of these songs are played. Many artists do not have that power with their listeners, but Bob Marley did, and still does, many years after passing away. A collectors item at the same time, this box set is perfect because you can hear Bob's earlier sound, as it developed into the sound he was last heard playing in the early 80's....and never did he lose the reggae or the power. He took the music, and put Jamaica on the map forever. The music in this very box set. A MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect selection of Bob's music, December 29, 2001
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
This is by far the best box set I own. It showcases Marley's talents from beginning to end and even gives you a beautiful acoustic medely of some of Bob's wonderful music. The songs are pretty much done in chronological order from the early days of ska, with Bunny Wailer and Peter Tosh backing Marley, on through the rock steady era and finally into the era of reggae mystically and magically laid out in a way only Bob could do it.
Please don't be fooled by all the Marley 3-cd sets and false box sets out there. You WILL be disappointed when you buy most of these sets (much of the songs were stolen then pirated and ended up victim to some very VERY bad production not to mention some aren't even Bob Marley at all).
This box, Songs of Freedom, however, will NOT disappoint you. Even if you aren't into the old ska sound all that much you will soon find that, after a few plays, you will enjoy the ska and that disc one (ska/rock-steady) will become a favorite among the four. I actually enjoy disc two the best due to the acoustic medley, but even Screwface, Lick Samba, the alternate Trenchtown Rock, etc...make this a great collection.
If you are just starting out with Bob Marley then I recommend starting with Songs of Freedom. Again, stick to THIS box set and if you want more Marley then move onto the original Bob Marley album releases, Legend and Natural Mystic. These are all a bit more pricey, but you get quality.
Finally and again...stay away from all other Marley box sets even if they are [amt] for 5 cd's. You will get 5 cd's chock full of garbage. Believe me this set is worth the money you pay.
(Check out Peter Tosh Box set and individual album releases also and Bunny Wailer Blackheart Man and Rootsman Skanking. I haven't seen too many bootlegs by these two performers that were all that bad, but if you don't know for sure then stick to the recommendations.)
One Love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply, the Purest songs for life, March 4, 2001
By 
Jason A. Robinson (Jamaica (presently in TX)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
First of all, this box set, should NEVER have gone out of print!!! Many people have passed on and missed it due to this fact. Please I beg the fans, let us not allow it to happen again - for the sake of humanity.
In 1997 I got a chance to listen a sample of the box set from a friend who dubbed it to cassette. There not much words to really truly describe Bob and his music, but he more than a musician. The man is an inspiration, a prophet, God sent, a lover of mankind and a revolutionist. His music was his weapon. This Box set manages to capture all this. You will never be the same after you get this, and you will eventually.
I could hardly afford it, but no amount of money could keep me from being in that very special group of people in the world to own their own Bob Marley, Songs of Freedom Box Set. I bought it in Feb 2001, and now I'm able to truly listen the album, my CD player is always decked out with three of the four CDs.
Many of the songs on the first two Cds, surprisingly were new to me. I got a feel of the journey of Bob Marley. Disk three and four speaks volumes of the Bob we come to know - Hitting out against political and social injustices not just in Jamaica, the Caribbean and Africa, but the world. At the same time he speaks of love and peace. I have spoken enough, as Bob would say - 'Dig this', Bob died in 1981 and today 2001 his music is as strong as ever, a professor of mine didn't even know Bob Marley was dead. He asked if it was possible for Bob Marley to put on a concert for the college ( I attended College in the States ). I explained to him that Bob died in '81 as we think of death, but in other forms he is very much alive.
You need get no other CD ever, except if it's other Bob's albums ofcourse.
If Bob is a legend then the word legend should be reserved for Bob Marley ONLY. Otherwise make up a new word for the man.
One Love all.
Go buy the set, you never know they may stop printing it again. If they do that we'll just have to 'Chase dem crazy ballheads out of town'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best compilation ever, August 13, 2003
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
I bought this collection wondering if it was possible for all 75+ songs to be good. i was right, all are not good. every sigle song on this collection is Superb. Its music at the highest degree, absolute class. Despite this having four Cd's it could have had even more marley songs on it to prove how great Bob is.
CD 1 is the older, more Raw marely stlye from the rude boy era and the collection develops into the more modern Marley ending with his live performance of Redemption Song in Pittsburgh is his last concert ever.
I can lsiten to this every day and not get fed up of it.Plus the recording quality of these CD's are top notch and the book is superb also.
This surely is the greatest compilation ever and well worth the money for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Songs of Freedom
Songs of Freedom by Bob Marley (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.