Play album in Library Get the free Amazon Music app for iOS or Android to listen on the go.
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
$30.55 + $3.99 shipping
Only 3 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by the_music_store.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Songs from St. Louis Blues/Looking Back Single

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Single, November 6, 2007
"Please retry"
$20.00 $11.41
$30.55 + $3.99 shipping Only 3 left in stock. Ships from and sold by the_music_store.

Editorial Reviews

In 1958, Nat played legendary composer W.C. Handy in the film St. Louis Blues and, Songs from St. Louis Blues was the album that accompanied its release. However, these performances of Handy tunes are NOT the versions from the soundtrack (which is maybe a good thing if you ve seen this lifelessly-scripted movie), but fresh creations courtesy of Cole and Nelson Riddle that combine the composer s blues sensibility with an updated, late- 50s big band sound. Similarly, our reissue here of Looking Back , the posthumously-released 1965 collection of singles and rarities, eliminates the after-the-fact rhythm tracks that Dave Cavanaugh added in order to make the material sound more contemporary in favor of the unvarnished sound of Nat King Cole (though three of these songs are stereo re-records Nat made in 1961 for The Nat King Cole Story ). Aside from those, this reissue of Looking Back marks the first time these songs have been heard in their original, pure form since they were initially issued on singles and EPs.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Overture (Introducing 'Love Theme' And 'Hesitating Blues')
  2. Harlem Blues
  3. Chantez Les Bas
  4. Friendless Blues
  5. Stay
  6. Joe Turner's Blues
  7. Beale Street Blues
  8. Careless Love
  9. Morning Star
  10. Memphis Blues
  11. Yellow Dog Blues
  12. St. Louis Blues
  13. Time And the River
  14. The World In My Arms
  15. Again
  16. Looking Back
  17. Midnight Flyer
  18. I Must Be Dreaming
  19. Is It Better To Have Loved And Lost
  20. Send For Me
  21. Just As Much As Ever
  22. If I May
  23. Sweet Bird Of Youth
  24. When You Belong To Me

Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 6, 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Single
  • Label: Collector's Choice
  • ASIN: B000TIO4SW
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #38,392 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Nat King Cole Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: MP3 Music Verified Purchase
“He is gone where the Southern cross the Yellow Dog”- "Yellow Dog Blues" by W. C. Handy and Bessie Smith

Hall of Fame innovative singer & jazz pianist Nat King Cole was a distinctive vocalist whose smooth baritone stylings generated his big-selling career popular music success for Capitol records: the distinctive Capitols records building in Hollywood is know as the ‘building Nat Cole built’ through his many hits. But it was as a jazz and soul song stylist that Cole created his early success with songs such as “Get Your Kicks on Route 66”. On Cole’s acting debut as legendary blues man W. C. Handy in the movie “St. Louis Blues”, he also joins forces with arranger/conductor Nelson Riddle and his orchestra to produce these winsome tunes based on the music from the soundtrack.

The 'best of the best' begins with a lovely, soaring “Overture (Medley) Love Theme” which is a beautiful brass & reed-driven, string-laden theme that gives way to Cole singing the lovely, “Hesitating Blues” with great lyrics, all wrapped within the same track. Songs from St Louis Blues contains some marvelous blues and popular music that could have been lost in time, but have made the jump to MP3 as a tribute to W. C. Handy based on the musical prowess of Nat King Cole, Nelson Riddle, and a bevy of talented musicians in the orchestra with strings. Cole’s persuasive, gentle “Stay” pleads for someone who is leaving. “Memphis Blues”, the awesome 'song within a song' “Yellow Dog Blues”, and the famous “St. Louis Blues” are outstanding examples of Cole’s smooth blues 'with an edge' delivery. My Highest Recommendation. Five EASY-RIDER Stars! (12 tracks. Time-28:49)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: collectors choice singles cd